Pennsylvania Homeschoolers

AP* Online Classes

As a parent who has reviewed over 5 AP courses, I can highly recommend Mrs. Smith’s AP World History! It was the perfect balance of learning history with creative assignments while doing the work to prepare for the exam. Mrs. Smith was quick to reply to emails and willing to work around travel plans.

AP Class Reviews

AP Physics 1 and 2 taught by Jack Kernion

by Students and Parents

AP Physics 1 posted by Megan Kolbe on July 14 2017 at 15:47:01

THroughout this course, Mr. Kernion provided a variety of homework assignments, lab activities, and assessments to help each student learn in his or her own way.  I felt compeltely prepared for each quiz and test and was able to enjoy the rigorous course as well.  Expect to spend around 90 minutes per day (on average, depepnding on the day's work) working on the course material.  After taking this course, I am interested in physics and excited to further my understanding of the subject.


posted by Leo B on June 12 2017 at 13:23:12

Parent's review

Mr Kernion's course was very good and my son felt well prepared for the AP exam. As other students have reported, the actual exam is less challenging than the work covered by Mr Kernion. That is a good thing to remember as you go through the course. I suggest getting a practice book and lookng through it as you go; it should give you confidence that you have mastered what is needed.

The hours varied. Initially trying to do all the practice problems in the text book took hours and hours in addition to the course work. We eventually realized that a few questions of each type is enough. The course work took 6 to 12 hours a week. Usually it was the lab sessions that could take up a lot of time. My son is an athelete, and often needed to work ahead to clear time for his travel schedule. This course was excellent from that point of view. The work is all there ready to do, so you can make the timing work for you. 

I'd say the labs were pretty good.  I acted as a lab partner and I don't think my son missed out at all on being in standard high school class. It is impressive how the principles of physics can be illustrated so well with (mostly) basic household materials. 

This was my son's first physics course. He found the it challenging and sometimes grueling, but when he revisited the material during the review period, it all seemed much more straight forward and things he had struggled with first time around were no problem at all. By exam day, he had a kind of "I've got this" attitude to Physics 1 and he will be continuing with Mr Kernion this coming year.

 Athletic commitments meant that joining any study groups wasn't really practical.

We would definitley recommend this course.

Aside from accomodating athletic commitments, my son has dyslexia and a couple of related issues, so as a homeschool parent, I needed quite a bit of advice.   I felt we had Mr Kernion's wholehearted support making Physics 1 work for us. Mr Kernion was also very responsive to frequent questions from my son about the course material. He seemed so willing to help, we never felt reluctant to ask. 

 


AP Physics 1 Review posted by Stephen Wolf on May 15 2017 at 13:54:59

This course did a really good job focusing on the material for the AP exam and preparing me for success on the exam.  Personally, I wish there would have been more review during the school year, because I was really rusty on the earlier units when it came time for AP Exam review in April.  

I spent a good 15-16 hours a week on AP Physics.  This was probably the one class that took up most of my time every week.  It's not necessarily that the material is hard to understand, but that there is just so much material to cover.  However, what material we did cover, we covered thoroughly and Mr. Kernion helped us to understand it really well.  

A student who is willing to spend a lot of time on this course really trying to understand the material will do very well.  I would certainly recommend this course to anyone who is thinking about Physics because I know that Mr. Kernion does a great job teaching it.  


AP Physics 1 is Well Worth the FdcosŤ! posted by Kendall M. on May 14 2017 at 21:45:28

I had a wonderful experience taking AP Physics 1 with Mr. Kernion this past year. Mr. Kernion is an expert at explaining physics concepts in a clear and engaging way, and his detailed presentations, coupled with an arsenal of example problems, made understanding each topic straightforward and incredibly fun. I tended to spend an average of about three hours per day and fifteen hours per week studying for this course (though a good majority of that time I spent furiously copying notes while the presentations were paused, since few people are slower writers than me). Since the work for this class is due in large chunks, I highly recommend this class particularly to students comfortable with managing their own pace. After preparing with this course’s rigorously engaging curriculum over the past year, I felt thoroughly confident going into the AP exam that I’d already seen and worked through almost every possibly type of AP question more than once.

This was my first time ever enrolling in a physics course, and it was within the first week of taking Mr. Kernion's class that I decided I loved the field; physics is such a cool science in that it combines conceptual mathematics and real world applications in the most fascinating way, as I’ve recently discovered. Mr. Kernion is an exceptional teacher, and I am so grateful to have received such a compelling introduction to the world of physics.


AP Physics 1 Full Year Course posted by Maia Machiela on May 14 2017 at 02:10:58

This was definitely a challenging course for me, so if you're looking for an easy A, this is not the class for you. But, if you're willing to put in the work, I think you would enjoy it. Overrall, I probably spent around 9-12 hours a week on this class—sometimes more depending on the concepts. As to the presentation of material, Mr. Kernion does a great job of teaching the material and giving you so many and varied opportunities for practice. Due to this, I felt prepared going into the AP Exam. Mr. Kernion had actually suggested participating in a peer-to-peer study group and I ended up leading one of the groups which I found extremely helpful because I was able to talk about the topics with people at the same learning level as me.

I will be completely honest and tell you that I seriously considered dropping the class at the beginning of the year (around mid-October) but when I emailed Mr. Kernion about it, he encouraged me and provided support that ultimately made me decide to stick with the class. I'm so glad I did. Throughout the year, I felt completely comfortable asking Mr. Kernion anything pertaining to the class and he always responded in an easy-to-understand manner.  Mr. Kernion is passionate about teaching students and if you prove that you care and are willing to work, he will go above and beyond to make sure you understand the material. Overrall, I thoroughly enjoyed the class and I learned a lot which will definitely help me in college. 


AP Physics 1 Review posted by Arvinder Oswal on May 13 2017 at 20:57:28

The AP1 course was an introductory Physics course for my son as he had done some Physical Science earlier. This course thoroughly prepared my son for the AP Physics 1 exam. In fact, my son remarked that the review material for the class was harder than the actual exam.

My son generally worked for 2 hours every day (Mon-Fri). He liked most of the labs and the multiple choice questions. Younger students sometimes need to work harder at the FRQs. My son has always liked the Sciences. He now loves Physics and will continue on to AP Physics 2 in the near future.

I would recommend this course for students who are self driven as the course requires effective time management of deadlines. Also, the FRQs require a good understanding of the concepts behind the Physics.

In summary, Prof Kernion is an outstanding instructor. His response to our email questions was always less than a few minutes. He enjoys teaching and this is evident from the energy he brings to the bi-weekly, live group sessions.

 


AP Physics 1 Review posted by Megan K. on May 03 2017 at 13:39:42

This course was well structured and made it easy for me to gain an understanding of the concepts.  Adequate time was spent on each topic, and I feel the course was taught at a challenging but not oerwhelming pace.  Mr. Kernion's presentations are detailed and clear, and the virtual activities give visual representations of the concepts that are very helpful.  Any student who is willing to devote time to practice and extra practice will do well in this course, as I feel that the key to fully understanding the material is repetition.  Mr. Kernion is a wonderful and patient teacher and I feel his class helped prepare me for college level science courses.


Testimomials from former students. posted by Jack Kernion on February 18 2016 at 11:54:28

Since this is my first year on the faculty of PA Homeschoolers, I thought I might post a few testimonials from former students.

"Mr. Kernion is truly an amazing physics instructor! He makes usually difficult concepts seem very straightforward with many examples and practice problems."
-Former student, Lily Z., Harvard University

"Mr. Kernion promotes a deep comprehension of the subject material through his incredibly detailed lessons. His teachings gave me a genuine appreciation of physics as well as fives on both AP Physics C tests! He is a master teacher whose passion for physics has helped his students succeed on the AP tests for over a decade.
-Former student, Nick S., University of Pittsburgh

"Many physics instructors lose the big picture by getting tangled up in calculations, but Mr. Kernion maintains his focus on the important aspects that make physics so essential. I was lucky enough to have Mr. Kernion as a teacher, and his website conveys the same enthusiasm and insight that he brought to the classroom every day. The road to physics success is never totally frictionless, yet Physics Prep is an ideal way to undertake the journey."
-Former student, Tommy M., Yale University

"This course is a detailed and engaging instruction that provides the methodology for answering any AP Physics test question. Because of Mr. Kernion's extensive knowledge of physics and superb grasp on language and technology, the class left me with a deep, long-lasting understanding of the big ideas in physics so that no cramming was necessary to be successful on the AP test and that stayed with me in college classes."
Former student, Katie S., Penn State Honors

"We had Mr. Kernion for AP Physics C our senior year, and we can't imagine a better teacher! He made difficult concepts easy to understand with his clear explanations and interesting analogies. The way he organizes his lectures makes it so easy to take good notes that are easy to review during test time. What's also really nice is that Mr. Kernion has a genuine passion for physics, and he always manages to transfer that enthusiasm to his students. Tests are very fair, and his course prepared us very well for both the AP test and college physics courses. We were very lucky to have a physics teacher like Mr. Kernion!"
-Former students, Anjali P., CalTech and Carol W.,The University of Pennsylvania

"Mr. Kernion's ability to present difficult concepts in an accessible way gave me a very solid foundation in physics over my two years in his classes. He is able to instill deep understanding of topics through clear explanation, contextual information, and abundant examples. A large portion of the credit for my three AP 5's goes to Mr. Kernion's class."
Former student, Michael M., from Carnegie Mellon University

I really think that this course will be able to help a lot of students prepare for the AP Physics exams, whether they use it as the primary source for the course or as a supplement to traditional schooling.
-Former student, Mike B., from Penn State Honors

 


Return to the class description
Return to the AP Online Test Preparation Classes Home Page