Pennsylvania Homeschoolers

AP* Online Classes

The best experiences I had in this class with regards to interaction with other students were the Dinner Parties...in which students assume the characters of major historical figures and discuss and debate the issues of the day.

AP Class Reviews

AP U.S. Government and Politics taught by Julia Reed

by Students and Parents

AMAZING AP Government and Politics Course! posted by Kaeleigh D on May 19 2018 at 18:53:32

Where do I begin? This was an amazing course that I can truly say I enjoyed throughout the entire year. I never thought that I would come to love studying government and politics so much. Even now, after the course is over, I’m continuing to keep up on current events and political news. I’m so glad that I had the opportunity to gain a deeper understanding of our government under such a wonderful teacher.

I absolutely felt like this course prepared me for the AP exam. I walked into the testing room on test day with confidence, knowing that I had learned everything that I would possibly need to know for the exam. When I read a question on the AP test, I didn’t just give it my best guess, my head flooded with information that we had covered throughout the year on that very topic, which helped me feel sure that I was selecting the right answers. I could not have felt more prepared.

I’d say that I put in between 10 and 20 hours a week. I think I spent most of my time reading through the textbook, reviewing what I had read, and going over flashcards I made up to prepare me for each chapter test. I definitely picked up the time I spent studying during the last few weeks before the AP test, but that was just to make sure I was 100% ready.

I loved the videos that Mrs. Reed would assign, especially the ones of Reagan’s speeches. I also really loved our Media presentation, in which we had to investigate different media sources and present a short speech on our findings, and our E-Congress assignment, in which we all got to create our own bills, amend them, and vote on them.

This course definitely enhanced my interest in U.S. government and politics. If you are unsure about taking this course because you don’t know if you’ll like studying about government, don’t let that stop you! You don’t have to want to become a politician or to plan to major in anything related to government or history in college for you to benefit tremendously from taking this course. It’s all about becoming a citizen who cares about our nation and the principles that it stands for, and you can’t truly appreciate it unless you know what our country was founded for and the principles that lie behind our form of government.

I found my communications with other students to be very valuable. Mrs. Reed assigned us discussion questions almost every week, in which we would respond to a prompt and to another student’s comment. I loved this because it helped me understand the point of view that each person was coming from, helped me develop better arguments, and got me prepared for the FRQs on the AP exam.

I think all students should take this course as long as they are willing to learn and work hard. Mrs. Reed is an amazing teacher who knows a vast amount of information about our country. I am so glad I was given the opportunity to have her as my instructor. She was always willing to answer my questions and help me when I was struggling through difficult concepts, and when she lectured, it was always fun and intriguing.

Thank you, Mrs. Reed, for making this such an enjoyable year!


INCREDIBLE AP Chemistry Course posted by Kael D on May 19 2018 at 01:17:49

If you are looking for an AP Chemistry course that has fun learning, in-depth curriculum, an amazing teacher, and prep beyond what you can imagine to get you ready for the AP Chem exam, then this is the course for you!

When I started the course, I was overwhelmed by all of the foreign material that I had to dissect and memorize. Although I hadn't done much chemistry before this course, I had never considered it one of my favorite subjects. If I had been in any other AP Chemistry class, I probably would have never gained as much knowledge on the subject as I have now.

Mr. Moskaluk answered every single one of my questions and always took the time to help me understand a difficult concept I was struggling through. There was NEVER a time when I felt like something was too hard to tackle and never a time that I settled for not understanding something, because Mr. Moskaluk made sure that I understood everything. I asked a LOT of questions this year (and I mean a lot), but Mr. Moskaluk and the TAs never made me feel like I was asking a silly question. 

I definitely can say that I walked into the AP exam feeling 100% prepared for the test. Mr. Moskaluk kept encouraging us that we knew all the material and that we were among the most prepared students for the test in the world! 

I'd say I put in 25+ hours every week. Some weeks required more studying than others, and I definitely picked it up the last few weeks before the AP exam.

 We completed many tests in the AP exam format throughout the year, and although that might seem taxing, I am very glad we did. It helped me feel more comfortable when I took the actual AP exam. I knew exactly how the equation sheets were set up and even had the placement of some equations memorized. I also had a pacing clock built into my brain by the end of the year, because I knew just how long I should be spending on each question from doing it so many times.

Although I'm not planning on becoming a chemist, I have gained a new interest in chemistry that I had never thought possible. It has made me realize even more how much information is out there and how there are processes that happen every day of which we would be unaware if people hadn't studied hard to figure them out.

I definitely found my communications with students very helpful throughout the year. Some of the students even helped answer some of my questions. I really liked how we could look at each other’s questions on the discussion board so that we could see what everyone was asking.

In conclusion, I would definitely recommend this course to other students. If you are a hard worker who is willing to put in the time, you will do well. Don't think that there is too much material and give up. I am still amazed when I look back at what I knew at the beginning of the year compared to what I know now. I have learned so much! Just keep pressing forward and you'll do great. 

Thank you, Mr. Moskaluk, and all those who have helped me do the best I can in AP Chemistry!


posted by Wes B on May 14 2018 at 17:10:32

On exam day, I was able to walk in with confidence.  Especially after reviewing all the material with 5 Steps to a 5 and the prep websites Mrs. Reed provided, I felt over prepared!  Students who have a craving for knowledge and a desire to make connections in the big picture of this fascinating subject will do well in Mrs. Reed’s AP Gov course.  

I put in 8 hours per week, sometimes more or less.  Each week, there were readings, videos, discussions, and lectures.  This course has a relatively light workload, but Mrs. Reed expects her students to work hard.  Although I already had a strong foundation in American History and the great minds behind the Enlightenment, the required readings in this course gave me an even deeper understanding.  Out of all the assignments, I enjoyed E-Congress the most. We researched and drafted bills individually, worked together as “committees” to revise the bills, and voted yea or nay on the final drafts as if we were members of the House of Representatives.  Another helpful facet of this course (and most of the other PAH classes) was the flexible schedule, which allowed the curriculum to be personal.

Since this course provides the material needed to get a 5 on the AP exam, success is completely dependent on the student’s willingness to work.  While reviewing helped me build a working memory of the material, studying the text and videos throughout the year formed an essential foundation.  I highly recommend studying the textbook carefully and taking notes so that final review is easier.

Like Mrs. Reed explains in her course website, the textbook is biased toward liberals.  I was frustrated by how often the authors derided Republicans instead of giving a fair representation from both sides.  However, since politics usually involves controversy, I now understand the nooks and crannies of the liberal perspective, which enhances my more conservative beliefs.  Besides, the videos and supplemental material balanced out the curriculum.

In short, Mrs. Reed’s course prepared me for success on the AP exam.  More importantly, it prepared me to be a conscious, active member of American society.  


One of my favorite AP classes posted by Christopher Kuo on May 13 2018 at 21:06:39

This course prepared me incredibly well for the AP exam! There were very few unfamiliar topics on the exam, and I was able to complete the MCQ portion in about 15 minutes.  I really don't think I could have been any more prepared for the test.

I probably spent about 8-10 hours of work per week, with the major assignments being the textbook reading and the tests for each chapter.  I really enjoyed the discussions that we had. Usually each week, Mrs. Reed would post some discussion topic that would be related to the videos or textbook reading, and my classmates and I would give our perspectives.  My classmates were very engaged and passionate about the topics.

This course definitely enhanced my interest in U.S. politics--I'm considering being a political science major in college.  Mrs. Reed is a fantastic teacher: she's so knowledgeable and excited about what she teaches and always so willing to answer questions.  I would highly recommend this course to students who are interested in learning about the nuts and bolts of American constitutionalism and government.    


Great class! posted by Nina G. on May 11 2018 at 22:53:20

This course prepared me very well for the AP exam. I think the tests are harder than the actual AP exam, and the weeks of review at the end (and multiple practice tests) very much improved my confidence. I put four to seven hours a week into this course. However, I a) read fast and b) found ways to listen to the videos on double normal speed while reading the captions, so this probably isn't an accurate predictor of the average amount of time someone spent on this class. Approximate breakdown of my time: One hour on the lecture, one hour on the textbook, half an hour to an hour on videos, and half an hour to an hour on discussion questions. Then, I might have an extra half hour to an hour of work, depending on how much Mrs. Reed assigned on any given week.

 

Assignments I particularly enjoyed were E-Congress and current events discussions. E-Congress I appreciated because I like to learn by doing, and that was a nice, hands-on way to learn how bills become law.

This course did enhance my interest in the subject.

I did find my communications with other students to be valuable, and I'd highly recommend this course! Mrs. Reed is a great teacher.


Now I Know How It is SUPPOSED to Work posted by Faith Hefner on May 11 2018 at 14:20:15

1. I feel like this course prepared me pretty well for the exam. I knew plenty of material and the test given in class were much harder than the actual exam.

2. In general, I spent 8ish hours a week on the class.

3. I really enjoyed the news media comparison poject. It was super fun see all the different bias, framing, priming, and other techniques used.

4. I definitely have a better understanding, but I am not sure it really enhanced my interest.

5. I had very little contact with the other students outside of discussions.

 


AP US Government & Politics Review posted by Paul Wolf on May 11 2018 at 14:05:38

I really really enjoyed the class. As a first AP class for me, if all other classes are like this that I take in the future, then I will have a very good time with AP in the future. This class had me very well prepared for the AP exam, that mainly being the review work she would go over in class and the exam prep outside of class she would have us do. I have had several online classes and this was by far my favorite

Paul


AP US Government and Politics Review posted by Mary on May 11 2018 at 13:01:10

I felt generally prepared for the AP exam. When I took the exam it was easier than I expected. I spent about 5 hours a week on this class on average. Through this course I got to really understand the US government system. This really helped improve my knowledge as an American citizen.


Awesome class! posted by Stephen Wolf on May 11 2018 at 12:26:59

I really enjoyed Mrs. Reed's class and felt that it prepared me well for the AP Exam!  

Between reading the textbook, watching videos online, answering discussion questions, and taking tests I probably spent about 10-12 hours a week on Gov. 

Probably my favorite of these assignments was the discussion questions because I had a lot of fun discussing my opinions on political issues with classmates.  

If you're going to take this class, be prepared to spend at least a couple hours reading the textbook each week, and make sure that you study from the AP prep book during the final April-May stretch.  I would suggest knowing the key Supreme Court cases and all the Amendments before walking into the exam ;)


Awesome class and amazing teacher! posted by Jocelyn Koelb on May 17 2017 at 12:56:56

This class was my first time taking an AP class, and it was amazing! The material was all very interesting, I had no idea how much depth and detail there is to our government and political system. Mrs. Reed is a great teacher, she sincerely cares about each of her students, and goes above and beyond when anyone is struggling. The part of the course I most enjoyed was test prep, I really liked that Mrs. Reed held lots of optional study sessions and that we had so many practice exams. Those practice exams helped me to go into the actual exam feeling very well prepared. I also loved the E-Congress project we did in the spring! Finally, a few technical things, Canvas, the class platform was awesome, and I wish that every online class used it. I also liked the way Mrs. Reed set up the class, we had optional weekly classes, which I would 100% recommend attending. As well as weekly assignments like discussion questions, lectures, reading, watching videos, writing essays and making presentations, and I usually spent about one hour per weekday on them, as well as less or more time on the weekend. If you are a motivated student who is willing to put in the work each day, you will do well in the class. If you are even the slightest bit interested in our government or political system, take this class! You will not regret, Mrs. Reed is a great teacher and will prepare you very well for the exam!


Quality class posted by Christian Simpson on May 15 2017 at 06:57:08

Mrs. Reed is a really good teacher that can get into a lot of detail about government and politics but yet still make each lesson understandable without bogging down students with too much information. The classes, while optional, really help to engrain the material and to apply it to everyday lif, making it easier to remember and helping greatly on test day. 

Before this class, I knew almost nothing about how modern politics works and the reasoning behind certain laws, court cases, and government, but now I feel much more prepared to engage in a discussion about our government and the politics behind it.


Awesome! posted by Elizabeth Marlin on May 13 2017 at 12:42:52

I really enjoyed this class! I spent around one hour a day on the course material, which was always engaging and interesting. I never knew there was so much to learn about our political system! If you gain nothing else from this class, you will get a much deeper sense as your civic duty as an American citizen! Mrs. Reed is an excellent teacher who truly cares about each of her students and helps them to succeed as much as she can. I felt very prepared for the AP exam, and I would recommend this class to anyone who wants to learn more about the US political system and the very real implications it has for everyday life. 


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Jim Stewart on May 31 2016 at 11:13:59

I enjoyed it, I felt engaged and liked things like E-congress that brought us into the material. 


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Catie Shoemaker on May 31 2016 at 11:13:06

This class was intriguing and gave me a greater appreciation for the ingenuity of the founding fathers. Millennials tend to disregard the state of our nation in either apathy or cynicism, and it's easy to become caught up in that mindset.  This class furthered that there truly is no government set up for representation and equality like ours and that is something that we should never take for granted. 


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Rebecca Reynolds on May 31 2016 at 11:11:44

I enjoyed this class overall. I learned a lot and it was a great year to take this class, since the presidential election is coming up. I could really see the processes we discussed in class take place in real life. 


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Joseph Oleskey on May 31 2016 at 11:10:32

Overall I enjoyed the class and learned a great deal about United States Government.

 

I felt well prepared for the AP exam. I felt strong in a lot of areas. My weakest area would have to have been the bureaucracy or the courts.


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by William Koehnke on May 31 2016 at 11:08:51

I enjoyed the class. A lot of this material was actually really interesting and I learned a lot.

 

 


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Isaac Che on May 31 2016 at 11:07:46

Great class! The workload was very manageable, and I was definitely confident walking into that exam room. 

I felt well-prepared for the AP exam.  The study guide, past FRQs, online videos, class reviews, and practice tests were all super helpful! The Constitution and the founding of the US government were my strong points, while interest groups and the bureaucracy were probably my weakest points. But with all the review resources provided, I felt confident in all these areas before the exam. 


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Bridget Gallamore on May 31 2016 at 11:06:27

I liked this class a lot! However, I did not like E-Congress.


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Amaya Fehringer on May 31 2016 at 11:05:01

I had a great class experience! Mrs. Reed was very knowledgeable and helpful. My class experience was extremely enriched with forming a study-group with several of my classmates, in addition to attending the live classes. The assignments were challenging, but very achievable. My favorite assignment was the presentation on presidents, and the fun media project. The reading/video assignments were overall very interesting and enjoyable. 

 

I felt over-prepared for the test! The material throughout the course, and the 3 weeks of review that is scheduled in at the end made me feel confident and very knowledgeable. Overall, I felt extremely prepared for the Multiple choice section of the test, and had plenty of real-world, sometimes even personal examples that Mrs. Reed shared to draw upon. It's really hard to pick an area that I felt weakest on since this course is so well-rounded. If anything, I was weakest on the differing Supreme Court eras and their effects.


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Anne Dye on May 31 2016 at 11:03:47

I really enjoyed the class. Government isn't my favorite subject and this was definitely hard and required a lot of work. To be honest, sometimes I wanted to be lazy and not do the work, but I really want the college credit from taking the AP test, so I put in the time. I also took APUSH and econ this year, which was helpful because the subjects tied in together quite nicely.


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Paige Cohen on May 31 2016 at 11:02:49

I thought the class was very solid and well-organized.  At times it did seem dry, because of memorization-heavy it was, but I think that's kind of the nature of AP Gov.I felt very well-prepared for the AP exam in all areas.


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Owen Child on May 31 2016 at 11:01:39

My overall class experience was great, it prepared me well for the AP while also teaching the subject in a way that didn't focus entirely on the testing.


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Dylan Brady on May 31 2016 at 11:00:50

Class Experience:  Pretty good. I don't feel like there was any unnecessary busywork.

 

Exam Readiness:I felt unprepared prior the exam, but as soon as I started it I felt very confident and I think I did very well on the test. I felt a little weak on the important supreme court cases, but I studied them hard the days before and think I did okay with them.


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Andrew Bonney on May 31 2016 at 10:59:10

Some of the class material was harder to wade through than others, I feel that this was simply because of my personal interests and goals. For example, I found the economics chapter much more interesting than the social policy chapter because I found economics more applicable to understanding news articles and current events. If you want an understanding of the government and a capacity to deeply understand different political issues, this class will help you obtain those.

 

Test Readiness:  I felt extremely prepared for the AP exam. I was tentative, as I expected difficult and complex questions (relative to the class material), but instead I felt over-prepared during the exam, which is a fantastic feeling to have!


AP US Government 2014-15 posted by Caroline Graham on May 14 2015 at 18:22:28

As this was my first AP course, it was probably the hardest class I have ever taken.  However, I feel like I am just swimming in information about the government and that I have learned SO MUCH this year, which is absolutely fantastic.  I felt that the text book went a bit too in depth, but that I have really gained a wonderful understanding of government and politics.  I thought that at times it got a bit too overwhelming and that the work load could have been lighter, but that's just how life goes, I guess.  I also quite enjoyed how we would sometimes get breaks, like in the winter when we did that media project, and the spring break.  In addition, I found it SO HELPFUL that we got a full three weeks to study for the exam.  I have friends who go to public school who took this class, and barely got any time at all to study, and stayed up most of Monday night studying.


AP US Gov 2014-15 posted by John Lowry on May 14 2015 at 13:34:23

I really enjoyed this class! It was one of my favorite classes in school, and for sure the one that I will apply most often and for the longest in my life (Even more than calculus, and I am going into engineering. Lol). US Government and Politics is everywhere, and I didn't realize how little I knew about it until I learned about it. The class was definitely challenging. It wasn't like a math or science class, which to me are almost perfectly natural. It took effort to understand all of the topics and there were more things that simply needed to be memorized than many classes. There were also quite a few tests. But like I mentioned when I wrote about the difference between this class and AP Comp Gov, there aren't as many smaller assignments as some classes, so the tests make more sense. I also think you did a very good job as the teacher of this class. You were always good about responding to questions and were very helpful and easy to work with when we needed it. Also, I really like your teaching personality as well as hearing your views on the topics presented (especially when the textbook would present two different ways of thinking about something).

 


AP US Gov 2014-15 posted by Elena K on May 14 2015 at 13:31:58

I liked the class and I'm glad I took it because I now know so much more about American Politics which will serve me well later in life. I just wish I hadn't had so many other things going on at the same time so I could have enjoyed it a bit more than I did. I learned the hard way that 8 classes in a year is too many when half are college level. 


AP US Gov 2014-15 posted by Justin Lowry on May 14 2015 at 13:29:54

My experience in this class was very positive. The teacher was great, the material was interesting, challenging, and helpful for the exam. The videos that we watched provided extra information on many political topics. The discussions with the other students were thought-provoking and a good exercise in expressing opinions on political matters.


Return to the class description
Return to the AP Online Test Preparation Classes Home Page