Pennsylvania Homeschoolers

AP* Online Classes

The teacher was great, the material was interesting, challenging, and helpful for the exam. The videos that we watched provided extra information on many political topics. The discussions with the other students were thought-provoking and a good exercise in expressing opinions on political matters.

AP Class Reviews

AP U.S. Government and Politics taught by Julia Reed

by Students and Parents

Awesome class and amazing teacher! posted by Jocelyn Koelb on May 17 2017 at 12:56:56

This class was my first time taking an AP class, and it was amazing! The material was all very interesting, I had no idea how much depth and detail there is to our government and political system. Mrs. Reed is a great teacher, she sincerely cares about each of her students, and goes above and beyond when anyone is struggling. The part of the course I most enjoyed was test prep, I really liked that Mrs. Reed held lots of optional study sessions and that we had so many practice exams. Those practice exams helped me to go into the actual exam feeling very well prepared. I also loved the E-Congress project we did in the spring! Finally, a few technical things, Canvas, the class platform was awesome, and I wish that every online class used it. I also liked the way Mrs. Reed set up the class, we had optional weekly classes, which I would 100% recommend attending. As well as weekly assignments like discussion questions, lectures, reading, watching videos, writing essays and making presentations, and I usually spent about one hour per weekday on them, as well as less or more time on the weekend. If you are a motivated student who is willing to put in the work each day, you will do well in the class. If you are even the slightest bit interested in our government or political system, take this class! You will not regret, Mrs. Reed is a great teacher and will prepare you very well for the exam!


Quality class posted by Christian Simpson on May 15 2017 at 06:57:08

Mrs. Reed is a really good teacher that can get into a lot of detail about government and politics but yet still make each lesson understandable without bogging down students with too much information. The classes, while optional, really help to engrain the material and to apply it to everyday lif, making it easier to remember and helping greatly on test day. 

Before this class, I knew almost nothing about how modern politics works and the reasoning behind certain laws, court cases, and government, but now I feel much more prepared to engage in a discussion about our government and the politics behind it.


Awesome! posted by Elizabeth Marlin on May 13 2017 at 12:42:52

I really enjoyed this class! I spent around one hour a day on the course material, which was always engaging and interesting. I never knew there was so much to learn about our political system! If you gain nothing else from this class, you will get a much deeper sense as your civic duty as an American citizen! Mrs. Reed is an excellent teacher who truly cares about each of her students and helps them to succeed as much as she can. I felt very prepared for the AP exam, and I would recommend this class to anyone who wants to learn more about the US political system and the very real implications it has for everyday life. 


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Jim Stewart on May 31 2016 at 11:13:59

I enjoyed it, I felt engaged and liked things like E-congress that brought us into the material. 


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Catie Shoemaker on May 31 2016 at 11:13:06

This class was intriguing and gave me a greater appreciation for the ingenuity of the founding fathers. Millennials tend to disregard the state of our nation in either apathy or cynicism, and it's easy to become caught up in that mindset.  This class furthered that there truly is no government set up for representation and equality like ours and that is something that we should never take for granted. 


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Rebecca Reynolds on May 31 2016 at 11:11:44

I enjoyed this class overall. I learned a lot and it was a great year to take this class, since the presidential election is coming up. I could really see the processes we discussed in class take place in real life. 


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Joseph Oleskey on May 31 2016 at 11:10:32

Overall I enjoyed the class and learned a great deal about United States Government.

 

I felt well prepared for the AP exam. I felt strong in a lot of areas. My weakest area would have to have been the bureaucracy or the courts.


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by William Koehnke on May 31 2016 at 11:08:51

I enjoyed the class. A lot of this material was actually really interesting and I learned a lot.

 

 


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Isaac Che on May 31 2016 at 11:07:46

Great class! The workload was very manageable, and I was definitely confident walking into that exam room. 

I felt well-prepared for the AP exam.  The study guide, past FRQs, online videos, class reviews, and practice tests were all super helpful! The Constitution and the founding of the US government were my strong points, while interest groups and the bureaucracy were probably my weakest points. But with all the review resources provided, I felt confident in all these areas before the exam. 


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Bridget Gallamore on May 31 2016 at 11:06:27

I liked this class a lot! However, I did not like E-Congress.


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Amaya Fehringer on May 31 2016 at 11:05:01

I had a great class experience! Mrs. Reed was very knowledgeable and helpful. My class experience was extremely enriched with forming a study-group with several of my classmates, in addition to attending the live classes. The assignments were challenging, but very achievable. My favorite assignment was the presentation on presidents, and the fun media project. The reading/video assignments were overall very interesting and enjoyable. 

 

I felt over-prepared for the test! The material throughout the course, and the 3 weeks of review that is scheduled in at the end made me feel confident and very knowledgeable. Overall, I felt extremely prepared for the Multiple choice section of the test, and had plenty of real-world, sometimes even personal examples that Mrs. Reed shared to draw upon. It's really hard to pick an area that I felt weakest on since this course is so well-rounded. If anything, I was weakest on the differing Supreme Court eras and their effects.


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Anne Dye on May 31 2016 at 11:03:47

I really enjoyed the class. Government isn't my favorite subject and this was definitely hard and required a lot of work. To be honest, sometimes I wanted to be lazy and not do the work, but I really want the college credit from taking the AP test, so I put in the time. I also took APUSH and econ this year, which was helpful because the subjects tied in together quite nicely.


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Paige Cohen on May 31 2016 at 11:02:49

I thought the class was very solid and well-organized.  At times it did seem dry, because of memorization-heavy it was, but I think that's kind of the nature of AP Gov.I felt very well-prepared for the AP exam in all areas.


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Owen Child on May 31 2016 at 11:01:39

My overall class experience was great, it prepared me well for the AP while also teaching the subject in a way that didn't focus entirely on the testing.


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Dylan Brady on May 31 2016 at 11:00:50

Class Experience:  Pretty good. I don't feel like there was any unnecessary busywork.

 

Exam Readiness:I felt unprepared prior the exam, but as soon as I started it I felt very confident and I think I did very well on the test. I felt a little weak on the important supreme court cases, but I studied them hard the days before and think I did okay with them.


2015-16 US Government and Politics posted by Andrew Bonney on May 31 2016 at 10:59:10

Some of the class material was harder to wade through than others, I feel that this was simply because of my personal interests and goals. For example, I found the economics chapter much more interesting than the social policy chapter because I found economics more applicable to understanding news articles and current events. If you want an understanding of the government and a capacity to deeply understand different political issues, this class will help you obtain those.

 

Test Readiness:  I felt extremely prepared for the AP exam. I was tentative, as I expected difficult and complex questions (relative to the class material), but instead I felt over-prepared during the exam, which is a fantastic feeling to have!


AP US Government 2014-15 posted by Caroline Graham on May 14 2015 at 18:22:28

As this was my first AP course, it was probably the hardest class I have ever taken.  However, I feel like I am just swimming in information about the government and that I have learned SO MUCH this year, which is absolutely fantastic.  I felt that the text book went a bit too in depth, but that I have really gained a wonderful understanding of government and politics.  I thought that at times it got a bit too overwhelming and that the work load could have been lighter, but that's just how life goes, I guess.  I also quite enjoyed how we would sometimes get breaks, like in the winter when we did that media project, and the spring break.  In addition, I found it SO HELPFUL that we got a full three weeks to study for the exam.  I have friends who go to public school who took this class, and barely got any time at all to study, and stayed up most of Monday night studying.


AP US Gov 2014-15 posted by John Lowry on May 14 2015 at 13:34:23

I really enjoyed this class! It was one of my favorite classes in school, and for sure the one that I will apply most often and for the longest in my life (Even more than calculus, and I am going into engineering. Lol). US Government and Politics is everywhere, and I didn't realize how little I knew about it until I learned about it. The class was definitely challenging. It wasn't like a math or science class, which to me are almost perfectly natural. It took effort to understand all of the topics and there were more things that simply needed to be memorized than many classes. There were also quite a few tests. But like I mentioned when I wrote about the difference between this class and AP Comp Gov, there aren't as many smaller assignments as some classes, so the tests make more sense. I also think you did a very good job as the teacher of this class. You were always good about responding to questions and were very helpful and easy to work with when we needed it. Also, I really like your teaching personality as well as hearing your views on the topics presented (especially when the textbook would present two different ways of thinking about something).

 


AP US Gov 2014-15 posted by Elena K on May 14 2015 at 13:31:58

I liked the class and I'm glad I took it because I now know so much more about American Politics which will serve me well later in life. I just wish I hadn't had so many other things going on at the same time so I could have enjoyed it a bit more than I did. I learned the hard way that 8 classes in a year is too many when half are college level. 


AP US Gov 2014-15 posted by Justin Lowry on May 14 2015 at 13:29:54

My experience in this class was very positive. The teacher was great, the material was interesting, challenging, and helpful for the exam. The videos that we watched provided extra information on many political topics. The discussions with the other students were thought-provoking and a good exercise in expressing opinions on political matters.


Return to the class description
Return to the AP Online Test Preparation Classes Home Page