Pennsylvania Homeschoolers

AP* Online Classes

I was very pleased with this course and surprised at the personal level of communication and involvement i had with my teacher and classmates. I was shocked to enjoy an online class so much. Great class!

AP Class Reviews

Admissions Essay Workshop taught by Maya Inspektor

by Students and Parents

Great Essay Workshop! posted by Kaeleigh D on July 11 2019 at 17:19:10

Going into this workshop, writing an application essay for college seemed like a very daunting task, but Mrs. Inspektor helped me learn how I could best let my voice come through in my essay. With detailed daily posts and assignments, Mrs. Inspektor helped me learn how to not just write a "good" essay, but also one that speaks to who I am. I really like how my essay turned out, and I feel that the college that reads my essay will understand a lot more about me after they read it. I would really recommend this workshop to anyone who is applying to college! 


Highly Recommended! (with Ms. Baert) posted by David Brodsky on July 04 2019 at 19:07:54

My college essay is done, and it's the end of June! Need I say more?

For me, writing a college essay was the most dreaded part of the college applications process, and I'm really happy with the essay I now have. In the three week workshop, there are relatively short daily assignments (especially in the first two weeks), and there is an essay draft due at the end of every week, to which you recieve extensive comments.

I think you need 5+ free hours a week for the workshop.


Fantastic Workshop posted by Riva Silver on June 09 2019 at 03:19:27

- This workshop helped me tackle the daunting task of writing a college essay in an approachable and yes, fun, way.

- Less than an hour a day, except for writing my first draft.

- I particularly enjoyed the "jam writing" which was a great exercise in lowering academic filters and writing a true rough draft.

- Yes. In fact, Mrs. Inspektor's advice will be valuable in the short stories I write for fun as well.

- Having the ability to collaberate with other students was a valuable addition to the workshop. I enjoyed reading everyone's incredible stories.

- Any student who needs (or wants) to write a knockout essay.


Concentrated & Beneficial posted by Hope Liu on June 07 2019 at 13:48:27

Mrs. Inspektor's College Admissions Essay Workshop has helped me so much. It has provided accountability for me to get started on the college admissions process and has helped me write an essay that I am very proud of. While this class is short and fast-paced, it is very concentrated with great information that is extremely helpful. After completing AP Lang with Mrs. I this past year, I was very grateful for another chance to work with her again. She is an amazing teacher! I encourage everyone to take any of her classes!


College Essay Class Review posted by Alaina R. on August 20 2018 at 14:07:23

Certainly. I had an almost completed essay by the end of the class that only needed a few minor changes before submission. I feel that it also prepared me to write with better precision and more accuracy for other similar essays (such as shorter college-specific ones).

I worked for about half an hour to an hour a day during the weekdays and about 3 or 4 hours for one day each weekend to do the majority of the work for that draft. I found that this system worked best for me, but the work each weekend could easily be spread out over the week if you prefer not to work on the weekends or for a long period at one sitting.

Actually writing the essay and being able to receive feedback on it specifically was invaluable. I feel much more confident in my application essay now that I’ve had comments and advice (and made changes based on that advice) from a writing teacher who has a lot of experience with this type of essay.

I recommend this class mostly to rising seniors because I feel that is the group that would benefit most from writing the essay during the class, but I also think that any student willing to take an intensive course during the summer would be a good fit!


Mrs Inspektor's College Admissions Essay Workshop Review posted by Ethan Dahlby on August 02 2018 at 16:41:44

Did I feel that this class prepared me for the application essay?

     After taking Mrs. Inspektor's class, I felt a whole lot more prepared for the application essay. When I first came into the class, I didn't know much about the essay or the whole application process, but this class helped me to get more comfortable with them. This course, particularly the Morning Messages, gives you plenty of examples of good application essays, and strategies you can use to improve your own.

How many hours of work per day or per week did I generally put into the class?

     There are daily Morning Messages, which vary in length. The shorter ones can take 30 minutes, while others call for revising portions of your essay, so that might take an hour or two. You will have to write three drafts of your application essay. However, the workload for this class isn't huge; it is certainly less than a "normal" class you would take over the school year.

Are there any favorite assignments that I found especially valuable?

     I found that my classmates' reviews on my essay drafts were particularly helpful, because it gave me several different opinions on my essay, and how I could improve. You will need to review some other people's essays, and I encourage you to give longer, more thought-out reviews.

What sort of student would do well in this class? Would you recommend this class to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)?

     I would definitely recommend this class to other students, especially if they are unfamiliar with the application essay or process. You will need the discipline to continually work on your essay, but the workload isn't particularly difficult, so most students would be able to do well in this class.


Admissions Essay Workshop recommendation posted by Chloe on August 01 2018 at 18:03:19

This class was a huge help with writing my college admissions essay.  It helped me understand what the essay was and how to go about writing it.  It also pushed me to get it done, so now I don’t have to worry about it.  I connected with other students who were very encouraging and had interesting stories to share.  This class is not easy, it requires a lot of thought and effort, but if you are willing to put in the work, you will be rewarded with a great essay.


9/9 posted by Samuel Jackson on August 01 2018 at 08:28:03

Mrs. Inspektor gives extensive and phenomenal feedback to write an effective college essay. Be prepared to answer tough questions about yourself and spend hours discovering who you are and who you are meant to be. If you do her exercises and commit to work hard for three weeks, you will have a great essay. 



Return to the class description
Return to the AP Online Test Preparation Classes Home Page