Pennsylvania Homeschoolers

AP* Online Classes

In the weeks leading up to the exam, Mrs. Walker led the class in an AP Boot Camp, where we focused exclusively on the exam. My scores on both the multiple choice and essay sections improved significantly during this period, and, by the time the exam came around, I felt confident and prepared.

AP Class Reviews

AP U.S. History taught by Daniel Burns

by Students and Parents

Excellent, fun APUSH course posted by Bethany F on May 23 2019 at 13:56:22

Mr. Burns' AP US History class is actually extrememly enjoyable. I found myself becoming increasingly fascinated with American history and really enjoying the discussions with other students. In addition, I felt really well prepared for the AP exam.

This course has a heavy workload. Every week we read a chapter out of the book which took a whole day of work for me. It usually took me about 2-4 hours to read the chapter and take notes on it. Adding the other work (writing essays, watching videos, reading PSDs, writing on the discussion board) I probably spent around 10 hours a week on this class. On test weeks, I probably spent even more time on this class. Of course, that would vary from student to student.

I loved the assigned discussions we were given each week. It was super fun to research a topic, develop an opinion, read others' arguments, and participate in the discussion. The other students were engaging but the discussion board conversation was almost entirely history-based. There wasn't much asking technical questions about the course which I found a little unusual. But Mr. Burns was very prompt and helpful on email if I had any of those questions.

I would definitely recommend this course to anyone wanting to do well on the APUSH exam or even just interested in American history! 

 


THIS CLASS WAS WAS AWESOME!! posted by Faith Willis on May 15 2019 at 19:50:48

Mr. Burn's class was the best and most challenging class I have ever taken. It took me about 5-7 hours a week in homework, but I evenly spread it among days as much as possible. The essays in the course were exremely helpful, and the group projects were tons of fun! I love all history, so this class, of course, enhanced my love of it even more!!! I think this class was beyond helpful, since on test day I was the calmest and most prepared I have ever been!

Overall, interactions with other students were great! I was prepared very thoroughly. When it comes to the students who should do the course, I would suggest you be hardworking and willing to devote your time to reading, writing, and class participation. If you aren't going to devote youself and your best work, the class will be far to challenging and stressful. And for all you would be students in this class, here is a piece of advice. This class is worth it, be prepared to do your best, and understand that at first it may be a bit of a load, but you will get the hang of it!!

AP I am outta here!!!

 


APUSH class review posted by Katherine Hatcher on May 13 2019 at 15:28:55

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?

Yes, I felt very prepared and confident before, during, and after the exam.

 

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

Normally, about seven to nine. This varied depending on the writing assignment each week, but was generally in this range. 

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

In particular, I found the discussions very useful and interesting. It was really fun to decide on my own opinion on a subject and get to see what other students thought about it, especially when someone disagreed with me. However, I enjoyed (or at least thought valuable) almost all, if not all, of the assignments. There was almost no busywork.

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject? 

Yes. I definitely learned a lot about US history.

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard)?

Students need to be fairly independent. Mr. Burns gave us our assignments for each week, all of which were due on Friday, but didn't tell us when to do them. At first, I found it easy to not do much work from Monday to Thursday, and then have to scramble to get it all done on Friday. Also, most of the assignments involve either reading or writing, so someone who hates reading and writing might not enjoy the class very much.  I would definitely recommend this course to others. There is a lot of flexibility in terms of how deep you want to go into the material, with Mr. Burns providing optional worksheets and other optional activities. Even if you don't do many of the optional assignments, however, the main part of the class still prepares you strongly for the AP exam.

 


Amazing! posted by Genevieve Calvino on May 13 2019 at 13:04:44

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?

Yes. I felt about as prepared as I could be.

 

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

Well, I definitely required time. The time I put in really depended on the week and the assignment due. I would say maybe 10 hours a week, but that is adjustable for what the assignment was.

 

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

The discussions were really goo. You got to formulate your opinion and express it while learning new angles from other students. The primary sources that we read were also really good in helping with the understanding of history. You were able to get into the personal lives of the people living at the time.

 

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

Yes, I would definitely say so. Honestly, I don't feel like I had a real history course until this. In fact, it was so good that I am thinking of taking AP Euro, gov, or economics next year even though I don't know that they will actually be needed for my degree.

 

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable?

Yes! As I said, the discussions were really good. The review chats were also good to refresh your mind on the material in the chapter (especially if you had read the chapter on Monday and it had been a few days since you read it like me:) However, I did not appreciate the group papers as much as the other group activites.

 

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)?

Well, I would say someone who likes to read. There is lots of reading especially with unlimited psds. Even if you don't love history and only have a mild interest in it, this class is great! I feel like I have learned so much. That being said, it is improtant that you are willing to work hard. Usually you have to read a chapter (which can take a while), watch videos, participate in at least one discussion, write a paper, and read some psds. In addition are the optional, but highly recommended review chats, additional psds and discussions, worksheets, and extra vidoes. It is a course that really calls you to go beyond the required and take initiative to do a little on your own.

 

It was so good, I am actually sad its over!


Mr. Burn's APUSH Class Review posted by Ethan Dahlby on August 02 2018 at 16:42:48

Did I feel that this course prepared me for the AP exam?

     Yes. As long as you complete the assignments and give yourself time to review past material, you should do fine on the APUSH exam.

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

     APUSH is a challenging class, and the workload isn't particularly light. I think I usually worked about 10-12 hours a week, but the time some tasks take varies from person to person.

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

     One of my favorite assignments was the discussions, because you got the chance to articulate your point of view on a historical issue, like whether the South had the right to secede or if the US should've used the atomic bomb. It's interesting to see what everyone else thinks on the topic, and where you agree and disagree.

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other student (if they are willing to work hard!)?

     AP US History is a challenging course, not because it is hard to understand, but because there is a lot of work to do. However, if you are prepared to put in the effort, then you'll do fine. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who likes American history and want to learn more about it. To do well in this course, you should have the discipline to do the occasional tough assignment, motivation to do more than the bare minimum, and an interest in learning about American history.


A great APUSH experience posted by Evan Dunn on July 11 2018 at 19:23:33

Daniel Burns's AP United States history class was the first AP course that I took, and I am glad to say that it was an excellent first experience overall. Mr. Burns himself did a thorough job preparing us for the exam, with weekly assignments that improved my skills on each portion of the AP test. The weekly discussions were insightful, and the occasional group projects were a great help in building my abilities to work with groups of students from all over the world. Additionally, Mr. Burns's suggestion to read at least 8 PSDs a week was a good one, as I was able to recognize many of them on the AP exam. I also felt as if this class improved my writing skills to a great degree, as there is a great deal of writing to be done in the class, with approximately one essay per week being required. Overall, I had a fantastic experience with the course, as Mr. Burns is a great instructor and was always willing to fix problems when they presented themselves.


posted by Emily Harnish on June 08 2018 at 12:45:20

The AP US History course I took with PA Homeschoolers prepared me well for the exam. I felt very confident going in on test day and the test went smoothly. I spent about two hours each day working on the assignments and studying. Overall, every assignment that we had prepared me for the exam; writing practice essays within the time limit was hard for me at first, but because I practiced throughout the year, it wasn't as hard on the test. This course demands a lot, but the payoff is worth it. I had a lot of fun interacting with other students and this is definately a class I would recommend to others. 


Great APUSH Course! posted by Grace Schiefen on May 22 2018 at 12:46:04

This course prepared me very well for the exam. Throughout the year, we drilled the free response questions and took 2-3 practice APUSH tests, so I knew exactly what to expect on the exam and felt pretty confident in my knowledge of U.S. History.

I generally spent about 10 hours per week on this course. This was probably the most challenging AP course I took this year, but it was definitely worth it!

I found the weekly group chats to be helpful. Although I wasn't always able to attend, they engrained important parts of our weekly reading in my mind. The PSD reading was also EXTREMELY valuable. Because we read so many primary sources throughout the year, I recognized almost all of the documents on the exam, which was super helpful with the multiple choice and DBQ sections. 

This course did enhance my interest in American history. I've always enjoyed learning about history, so I really loved this course. While reading the textbook, it sometimes felt as if I was reading a drama or suspense novel; the topics were so interesting :). I also thought it was cool to be able to look at current situations and compare them to the historical events we learned about throughout the year.

I found my communications with other students to be helpful. As I already mentioned, the weekly chats were a fun way to learn about history. I also really enjoyed the group dialogues; they were a great way to get to know classmates and practice DBQs.

Any responsible, hard-working student with good time-management skills should do very well in this course!

Mr. Burns is an attentive, involved teacher. He is understanding and always willing to help his students. I would certainly recommend this class to other students, I thoroughly enjoyed it and felt it prepared me well for the exam! 


APUSH year review posted by Ryan Nicks on May 13 2018 at 21:15:52

- Very  well

- I usually put seven hours in a week to this course

- I thought that the dbq's were very useful

- Yes, I learned so much about our country and I am proud that I know the background of our great nation

- I thought that communication with the students on the discussion board was interesting and valuable, because other opinions opened my eyes to see different sides of many arguments, and that there might be more than 1 right answer to a question

- A student who plugs along and is diligent will do well. You cannot be afraid of information, you need to embrace it and be patient, knowledge takes time to accumulate. I would definitely recommend this course to all students interested in APUSH. I had a great year. 


A Class Well Worth the Cost posted by Joshua Anumolu on July 07 2017 at 13:19:21

The course definitely helped prepare me for the AP exam. Mr. Burns did an excellent job making sure we were aware of everything to expect on the exam and all about the practical tips and strategies to do well on the exam.

Throughout the school year, I put in around 8 hours a week; in the few weeks before the AP exam, I was putting in around 15 hours a week.

One of the things I liked most about the class was that Mr. Burns made sure to give the class the opportunity to see alternative viewpoints when analyzing historical developments. If you are not a fan of the standardized and politiczed approach College Board takes towards history (like me), you will enjoy this class.


APUSH Review posted by Ryan Myers on May 11 2017 at 14:45:24

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?

Yes. I felt very prepared for the exam after taking this class.

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

I would usually put in around 2 hours of work per day.

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

Yes. Prior to this course, I enjoyed learning about history, and this course helped me learn more about it.

 


APUSH Review posted by Ryan Myers on May 11 2017 at 14:45:22

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?

Yes. I felt very prepared for the exam after taking this class.

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

I would usually put in around 2 hours of work per day.

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

Yes. Prior to this course, I enjoyed learning about history, and this course helped me learn more about it.

 


Awesome Course! posted by Brandon Kuhl on May 08 2017 at 13:34:46

1. I felt that the course more than prepared me! I felt very ready for the test...

2. I usually spent about 2 hours per day or about 10 hours per week.

3. I really liked all of them except for the PSD Analysis. I didn't learn AS much from those.

4. YES YES YES! I love history SO much now as a result of this course...

5. Yes. I really enjoyed communicating with other students especially since I really enjoyed all the other students in the class. I felt like I was better connected with them and was able to talk about history with them.

6. I think someone who loved to write would do very well in this course! Oh yes! I will definitely be recommending this course to others...


A really rigorous but rewarding routine! posted by Anthony Calvino on May 08 2017 at 13:27:11

Suberb, this class was one of the best I have ever taken! The preperation was thorough allowing for me to enter the classroom confident, calm, and prepared. Having completed Mr. Burns course, I knew enough information to fill my essays with facts and could go over time if allowed! The mixture of assignments from document analysises to group projects, and ample practice at all the aspects of the exam gives a rounded course that teaches the skills of breaking down a document, applying information, making conclusions, and writing quick and thorough essays on an array of topics.

As the year progressed, my average time spent rounded out to about two hours a day. The course includes an array of different types of assignments but my favorite aspect was the class interaction. Although I probably spent more time than I should have on class discussions, they greatly increased my interest and comprehension of history! If you are willing to work hard and want to learn an influx of material that will be deep rooted and go beyond just a text book, Mr. Burns APUSH class is the one for you! Enter prepared to work and have a blast!


Good class to prepare one well for the AP exam. posted by Nina on May 07 2017 at 23:26:56

This course definitely prepared me for the AP exam. I was confident walking into the exam and the questions were relatively easy.

I probably put 5-7 hours a week into this course. An hour+ for videos (though I watched them on 1.5 times normal speed), an hour for the chapter and quiz, and roughly an hour (closer to two at the beginning of the year) for the essays, plus an hour for the chat and half an hour to an hour for PSDs. The rest of the time was spent discussing things with classmates. That said, I read really fast and the Group dialogue weeks always doubled the amount of time I spent on APUSH at the very least.

I found group dialogue weeks both very fun and very frustrating, despite the nice group I had. Coordinating a group of people isn't easy, but discussing what went into the essay resulted in a deeper, more lasting understanding of the topic for me. (The topics we did GD on were the ones I remembered best preparing for the exam)

No, this course did not enhance my interest in the subject. I wanted to learn US History, since I knew nothing about it, but it hasn't done anything other than convince me that history is reasonably interesting, if not exacltly fun. :)

My communications with other students were definitely interesting and valuable. Arguing discussing topics with other people was a lot of fun it definitely resulted in a deeper understanding of quite a few topics for me.

 I would recommend this course to other students, as long as they are good at self-guidance. The course is work, though it was likely my easiest course this year. Again, I am read fast and I think that is what made the course relatively easy and non-time-consuming for me. If you're willing to work hard, this course would be an excellent one to prepare for the AP exam.

(Note: If you take this class, start filling in the curriculum framework at the beginning of the year. I didn't realize I could and that made studying for the exam harder than it could've been.)


My Experience posted by Maya Martinez on May 06 2017 at 22:05:55

I felt very prepared for the AP exam. I spent at least half the day, every day with this course. It was tough work, but I know it's going to pay off. I enjoyed the live chats and the Group Dialogs. They were very valuable in practicing team work and leadership skills. 


AP US History Course Review posted by Devin Quinn on May 17 2016 at 14:31:58

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam? Absolutely. The structure of the course covered every aspect of the curriculum, and was thorough and detailed enough that I felt very confident on exam day.

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course? It varied based on the assignments of a particular week, but on average about 2 hours per day.

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable? The group dialogue essays were probably the most fun. Working together with other students to craft an argument helped me to think about historical topics from multiple angles.

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject? Yes. I thought that I knew a lot about US history before, but after taking this course I have gained not only knowledge but interest in US history, especially the smaller, personal stories and lesser-known events.

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable? Yes, for the most part. Overall, I found the discussions on the class website to be fun and helpful. This being an election year, however, politics sometimes dominated the discussions, which was generally fine but sometimes distracting from assigned historical topics. But overall communicating and interacting with other students was enjoyable and thought-provoking.

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)? I would definitely recommend this course to other students. As long as they are self-motivated, diligent, and inquisitive, or at least two of those three, students will do well in this course.

 

 

 

 


The Best AP class this year posted by Christopher Kuo on May 09 2016 at 23:38:36

I highly recommend Mr. Burns's APUSH class.  I felt really prepared when I walked into the exam room.  He had us do lots of long essays and DBQs, so I was confident and knew how to write these essays really well.  Mr. Burns also gives a good amount of time to review, and he guides you in what to review and how.  

One aspect of the course that was challenging but enjoyable was the group research papers.  We were divided into groups of about 5 students, and throughout the year each group worked on writing research papers for various prompts.  I thought this was really interesting, because it involved finding your own primary source documents and writing an argument based on that.  Besides the group research papers, the online discussions were awesome! They helped me understand other people's perspectives on history and present events, and also clarified my own views.  

That said, this course is definitely not for the faint-hearted.  I probably spent 2 to 3 hours per day early in the year, but once I got used to writing the essays I spent less time.  Before the exam, I definitely had to spend a lot more time reviewing.  I would recommend this course to anyone willing to work hard.  It will be a challenge, but also an incredible experience!


Two Thumbs Up posted by Amanda Crockett on May 18 2015 at 19:50:23

This class was wonderful.  It prepared me very well for the AP exam.  I put in roughly 2 hours of work per day in the beginning, but that varied a little bit depending on the assignments.  Near the end of the course I put in roughly 3 hours of work and studying per day to prepare for the AP exam.  My favorite assignments that were very valuable would be the cartoon anaysis/interviews.  The interviews were a great way to learn history from someone who lived through it.  It was a fun and interesting way to learn more than you can read in a textbook.  Doing the cartoon analysis was helpful for the multiple choice and short answer questions, as well as occasionaly a document in the DBQ.  This course definitely enhanced my interest in US history because it proved that history is not boring, but rather a very interesting subject.  The type of student that would do well in this course would definitely be one willing to put in a lot of effort.  What you put in to this course definitely corresponds to what you get out of it.  You don't have to be a history enthusiast, as long as you have a craving for knowledge and a willingness to work hard.  I highly recommend this class!  Mr. Burns is a great teacher!


Favorite History Course Ever! 10 Out Of 10 Stars! posted by Joshua Crockett on May 18 2015 at 01:47:31

Not only did Mr. Burns' course help to enhance my interest in American history, it made me feel extremely prepared for the AP exam. The summer reading activity got me excited for the class, and the enjoyable, useful assignments helped me to stay engaged the whole year. All of the assignments Mr. Burns gave helped to prepare me for some portion of, or task needed for the test. My favorite assignments were the cartoon analyses and interviews. Interviewing people gave me the chance to see history first-hand and develop a better understanding of historical periods. The cartoon analyses were fun and greatly helped me to understand the historical thinking skills and how to analyze documents, which came in handy for the DBQ portion of the exam. I would certainly recommend this course to other students, whether they are fond of history or not, because it is extremely useful for preparing for the exam and for expanding a student's interests. I generally spent two to as much as three hours per day, depending upon the week. Of course, this workload became larger as the exam day approached and I began my review for the test. This class is great for several purposes, primarily preparing for the AP exam, ebhancing your interest in American history, interacting with other students, and learning valuable time-management skills. A dedicated student would do well in this course since it is hard work, and they would gain a new fascination for American history.


A Rewarding Class (Continued) posted by Emma Cesario on June 30 2014 at 18:51:11

(I accidentaly posted my first post before I was finished, so here is the rest.)

and even meet a World War II veteran!

This class allowed me to feel well prepared for the APUSH exam. With all the essays, class discussions, group projects, and more serving to reenforce what I was learning in the textbook, I feel that I was thoroughly prepared to do well on the exam, not to mention the extra exam prep and suggestions Mr. Burns provided.  

There is no doubt that I learned a ton about U.S. History this past year. Although I had to work very hard for many hours each week, I think that this class was worth the work required because not only did I learn so much about American History and feel well prepared for the exam, but I also got to experience what it is like to be in a college-level class complete with a challenging workload and interaction with my teacher and classmates.

I would reccomend this class to those who are willing to work very hard and think very hard, but who also love learning and American History.

 


A Rewarding Class posted by Emma Cesario on June 30 2014 at 18:20:40

This class was a lot of work, but it was such a worthwhile experience! I loved many parts about this class: the class discussions with my fellow classmates stretched me and made me think hard; the videos and power point slides allowed me to learn from  the Conservative/Christian perspective on American History;  the group projects taught me how to work with fellow students to get an assignment accomplished and also to learn their thoughts on the topic.; the research paper assignment allowed me to learn more in depth about an area of American History that interested me, while at the same time I learned how to manage a college-level paper, and the interviews gave me the opportunity to learn about my family's connection with history, and ev


Mr. Burns AP US History Class posted by JJ de Oliveira on May 20 2014 at 20:32:51

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP Exam?

Yes, this class is great preparation and I felt very comfortable going into my exam. Mr. Burns did a great job and this was one of the most enjoybale exams for me simply because I felt so well prepared.

How many hours of work per week did you generally put into the course?

I would usually put between 8 to 10 hours each weeks into assignments although this varied based on the assignment for the week.

Are there any particular assignments you found especially valuable?

The essays were definitely an important part of the preparation for the exam. Having feedback on your essays is very helpful not only for the US History exam but for writing in general. The interviews are also very effective and fun as you learn about history from someone else's point of view.

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

This course did increase my interest. I've always enjoyed American history, but this class expanded my knowledge greatly and gave me deeper knowledge about what I already had studied.

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable?

The students in this class were all very friendly and motivated, which resulted in valuable and fun communication.

What sort of student would do well in this course?

I think any student who is motivated and has a desire to learn can do well in this class. Even those without previous knowledge can probably learn the material well enough to do very well on the test due to the great set-up of the class. Writing is definitely a good skill to have as there are a lot of essays and reports.


AP United States History-Daniel Burns posted by Hope Harvey on May 16 2014 at 17:29:40

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam? Yes, everything Mr. Burns had us do throughout the year helped. The timed essays and practice tests he assigned toward the end were extremely beneficial and helped me be comfortable with the test, what would be on it, and how to take it. This was my first AP class, so all the advice was used.

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course? 7-10 hours per week were about what I put in. It flucuated with the assignments required.

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable? The essays, timed and untimed, were extremely beneficial for the test. Another assignment I found to be valuable was the interviews. I learned a lot about relatives and friends. It was fun and thought provoking to see history through their eyes.

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject? Yes. I had enjoyed learning about history, but this class opened the door and gave me a better grasp to what history, more specifically US history, fully ment.

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable? Yes. Debating, discussing, and learning from them opened different facets of history and non-history related subjects.

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)? Anyone who is willing to work hard, be determined, be studious, commit effort, and learn can do well. I would highly recommend it. Mr. Burns is an excellent teacher! He gave us all the tool for success on the test. I really enjoyed learning from him. It was an amazing course!

 


The best class I had this year posted by Joshua Harvey on May 16 2014 at 01:16:56

These are the answers to the above questions.

1. This course perfectly prepared me for the exam. The only way I could have been prepared more would be if I had taken more innitiative to study.

2. I generally put about 5-7 hours a week into the course.

3. I found the practice tests to be extremely valuable.

4. The course did enhance in a small way my interest in American History.

5. I did enjoy debating and conversing with the other students of the class.

6. I would deffinately recommend this course to other students.


Mr. Burns' APUSH Course posted by Emily Knudson on May 15 2014 at 22:27:02

My family started homeschooling for the 2013-2014 school year, and this was the first *official* class I took as a homeschooler, as well as my first AP course. I had been in public school for the previous years of my education, on an accelerated track (college-level classes beginning as a sophomore). I had no idea what to expect - but any expectations I did have were fulfilled above and beyond what I could have hoped for!! Mr. Burns is an excellent teacher; coming from someone who's had many teachers, he certainly is really high on the list of best teachers ever!

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam? Absolutely! I was, of course, a bit nervous, especially in the weeks leading up to it, but as exam day drew near, I realized that I really had nothing to worry about. Most of the essay questions and multiple choice questions that we practiced on were harder than the ones I found on the exam. Out of the four AP exams I took this year, this was definitley the most enjoyable one.

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course? When I was reading all of the reviews to sign up for this course, I was a little intimidated by the reviews saying "10-12 hours a week...". I did probably ended up spending about that much time. A couple of hours a day may seem like a lot, but it's not that bad. It was a flexible schedule, and I really liked having a list of weekly "to-dos" that I could develop my own schedule for.

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable? I enjoyed the group dialogues, where a group of about five people got together and all contributed to a group paper. It was really enjoyable to get to know some of my classmates better and learn how to make a paper written by five people flow! I also enjoyed reading primary source documents, which were required each week. They made me think a lot about how today's history will be handed down and helped me with research in general.

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject? Yes, to some extent. It gave me a much deeper appreciation for the United States, and it has also helped me think critically about modern history. I'd say it gave me perspective more than anything.

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable? Yes, especially in the group dialogues. One of the most enjoyable parts of this course was to be exposed to other students from all over the country - and even in different countries/territories! It was fascinating to hear different views on US History, and even current events.

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)? A student who is disciplined and willing to stick to a schedule will very easily succeeed in this course. Writing experience (in my opinion) is necessary - it will help you on the AP exam and your classmates in the group dialogue. Also, don't procrastinate! I would highly recommend this course. Mr. Burns does a great job!! And you don't have to like history to learn a ton in this class. I can confidentely say that I've learned the most truly useful information ever from APUSH!!

 


Awesome Course! posted by Tim Seida on May 16 2012 at 24:01:13

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?

This was my first AP test, and Mr. Burn’s course prepared me extremely well to handle the APUSH exam.

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

I probably put in around 9 or 10 hours a week from the beginning of class until April. From then on, my workload increased slightly as I began reviewing for the exam. One thing that was nice about Mr. Burn’s class was the fact that we had finished most material a month before the exam, so we had plenty of time to review.

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

The practice essays that we wrote throughout the year were tremendously helpful in becoming familiar with the format of the essays. When May rolled around, I felt comfortable with both the document-based question and the standard essay questions that are on the exam.

On a related note, the biographical and research papers are the two largest assignments of the year. I highly recommend starting to work on those projects AT LEAST a month in advance. I did not start my research paper until it was due in a week—not pleasant! :)

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

I had already liked U.S. History before this year, but Mr. Burn’s class was fun and interesting.

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable?

One of my favorite aspects of Mr. Burn’s class was the WWW Board, where the class could communicate with each other. It was fun discussing the material that we were learning and debating how it related to current events.

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students?

Any student that is willing to work hard will do well in this course. I would wholeheartedly recommend Mr. Burn’s APUSH class for any student that wants to master US History, do well on the AP exam, and have fun.


An Enjoyable Year posted by Charity Klicka on May 15 2012 at 13:32:06

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?

Yes, the course most certainly prepared me for the exam. What with all the review, essays, outlines, primary source documents, flash cards and MCQ's, I most certainly was prepared for the exam. One cannot be totally and completely prepared for the exam, but by learning with the APUSH course you can be certain that you will achieve great success and do your very best.

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

Up until the last weeks of review I had been putting in about an hour or so a day of history review, reading, writing, and studying. Weeks where an essay was due, the time went up a little bit. As I approched the last couple of months to weeks before the exam, I studied about two hours a day. And if I missed a day I would then study a little more on another day. 

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

Some of my absolute favorite assignments were the essays. Although I did not enjoy them at first, I began to enjoy them very much as time went on. The essays helped me to stretch my mind and to grasp different aspects of history that I had not noticed or realized before. I also enjoyed the extra credit activities such as finding the top 25 supreme court cases, top treaties of America, or analyzing the reform movements such as Progressives, Populists and the Jacksonian Democracy. 

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

Most certainly. I came to enjoy many parts of history that had not even piqued my interest before. History came alive to me through the assignments, studying, and most importantly the essays. 

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable?

Although I did not interect specifically with many of the students, I did enjoy the commenting and feedback we gave each other on our essays and research papers. 

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)?

I believe that any student who wishes to work hard to the best of their ability will do well in this course. I am not an exceptionally good student, but I have a passion and a desire to do well and work hard in my academic studies. And although I did not get the best score in the class, I learned so much that I could take into my other areas of study and into harder and more challenging courses of historical study. 


An Enjoyable Year posted by Charity Klicka on May 15 2012 at 13:28:16

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?

Yes, the course most certainly prepared me for the exam. What with all the review, essays, outlines, primary source documents, flash cards and MCQ's, I most certainly was prepared for the exam. One cannot be totally and completely prepared for the exam, but by learning with the APUSH course you can be certain that you wil achieve great success and work your very best.

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

Up until the last weeks of review I had been putting in about an hour or so a day of history review, reading, writing, and studying. Weeks where an essay was due, the time went up a little bit. As I approched the last couple of months to weeks before the exam, I studied about two hours a day. And if I missed a day I would then study a little more on another day. 

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

Some of my absolute favorite assignments were the essays. Although I did not enjoy them at first, I began to enjoy them very much as time went on. The essays helped you to stretch your mind and grasp different aspects of history that you might not have noticed or realized before. I also enjoyed the extra credit activities such as finding the top 25 supreme court cases, top treaties of America, or analyzing the reform movements such as Progressives, Populists and the Jacksonian Democracy. 

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

Most certainly. I came enjoy many parts of history that had not even piqued my interest before. History came alive to me through the assignments, studying, and most importantly the essays. 

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable?

Although I did not interect specifically with many of the students, I did enjoy the commenting and feedback we gave each other on our essays and research papers. 

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)?

I believe that any student who wishes you work hard to the best of their ability will do wel in this course. I am not an exceptionally good study, but I have a passiona and desire to do well and work hard in my academic studies. And although I did not get the best score in the class, I learned so much that I can take into my other areas of study and into harder and more challenging course of history study. 


Excellent course! posted by Chris Evans on May 31 2011 at 18:21:13

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?

This was my first time taking an AP course and I think this course prepared me very well for the test. The multiple choice questions were extremely easy after all of the studying we did. I was a little crunched for time on my essays. But that wasn't unexpected because, in general, I'm not very good at timed essays. With that in mind, I think all of the course’s essay practice really boosted my essay writing skills. Without the help of the course and Mr. Burns, my essays would have been very poor.  

This course was well taught and well structured. It was a good contrast to my K12 AP Macro-economics class. That course was poorly managed by my teacher (she put me in the wrong class at the beginning of the year) and was also poorly structured.

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

It’s hard to put a number on it. I would say that I probably spent seven hours a week on the course in the fall. After Christmas, when we started writing timed essays, the workload went down to four or five hours a week. In the month and a half before the AP exam, things picked up again when I wrote my research paper and began to study for the exam. Realistically, I probably spent eleven hours a week on the course during this time.

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

I found the practice quizzes on the AHAP site extremely helpful. They were a great help in nailing down facts and preparing for the multiple choice section on the AP test.

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

I’m already a pretty big fan of history, but I think the course broadened this interest considerably by introducing me to events and movements in US history that I had never heard of before.

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable?

            There was a great atmosphere on the AP site. All of the students were very helpful and kind to each other. Sometimes I did find the online interaction assignments (like commenting on other student’s essays) to be a little redundant or unhelpful. But overall, I’d say the online interaction with my classmates was a boost to my AP test performance.

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)?

            I would recommend this course to any hardworking student who wants to do well on the AP US History exam.


APUSH- A Rewarding and Fun Course! posted by Hannah Kovscek on May 23 2011 at 15:21:20

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam? I felt very well prepared for the exam. Mr. Burns provided a lot of fun ways to review and prepare, such as with coming up with our own top 25 Supreme Court cases and listing why we thought those particular cases were important. We wrote several essays a month to prepare for the three essays on the exam, and also completed at least three quizzes each week, with usually one of those quizzes counting towards our class grade. Another thing that helped prepare us for the exam was reading at least 9 PSDs (Personal Source Documents) a week. This helped us to analyze speeches, letters, etc. better from the past. 

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course? I usually spent no less than an hour or two each day on the course, with 6-12 hours of total work each week. During the weeks leading up to the AP US History exam, I tried to spend a good three hours- sometimes more, sometimes less- each day reviewing.

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable? I really enjoyed the cartoon analysis and interviews we had to do. They were a lot of fun to write and conduct. I also really enjoyed writing the Bio essay and the research paper. Before this class, the largest paper I had ever written was not even 1,000 words long. I really went out of my comfort zone with this course and wrote two papers over that word count, plus wrote smaller papers almost every week. I really enjoy writing now. :)

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject? Definitely! I learned SO much, I can't help NOT being more interested in our country's history!

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable? Communicating with the other students is not face-to-face, as one would probably expect. We used the WWW board to mainly communicate and discuss amongst ourselves. Every other week, however, those who wanted to "met" at a designated time on Google Chat to discuss and debate on things ranging from the constitutionality of the national bank, to labor unions, and to things not relating to US history such as what type of pen we all used or the weather where we lived. However, to really become friends, you have to actually do so outside of the class. Me and another girl became really close friends when she reached out to me during the middle of the course. We're now planning to take another AP course through PA Homeschoolers together!

What sort of student would do well in this course? To do well in this course, you need to be a hard worker, a good writer, a good time manager, and a lover of US history. If this describes you, this course is meant for you!

Some tips that I would have liked to known before I went into this course-

1. Manage your time wisely! Try to evenly distribute each week's work so that you WON'T be up late, late, late Friday night trying to meet the midnight deadline. Also, only take 1 AP course if this is your first year taking college level courses. Although this was the only AP course I took this year, I greatly felt the work load that rested on my shoulders with taking this course.

2. Become friends with the other students early on in the course! Don't be afraid to reach out to the other students by sending them an email or chatting with them using Google chat. You will be SO glad that you did.

3. REVIEW! Reviewing is so, so important. Get in the habit to review each week's chapter and study guide before you take the ANH quiz each week. It will greatly improve your score (which will count toward your grade).

4. Begin reviewing for the APUSH exam no less than a month before the test! Trust me on this. :)

 

I hope I helped you make up your mind on whether or not you want to take this course! If you do take it, I know that you'll really enjoy it, and make new friends and obtain new information in the process. :)

 


Mr. Burn's Amazing APUSH posted by Philip Bonneville on May 12 2011 at 20:03:58

I felt very well prepared for the AP exam, as we finished studying the course material more than a month before the exam, giving us plenty of time to spend reviewing.

 

I am generally the sort of student who can succeed in a course despite spending significantly less than the recommended amount of time.  However, for APUSH I found myself needing to spend 10-14 hours a week (the higher end on essay weeks).  Don’t expect to get by reading, studying, and writing less than 8 hours a week for this course.

Some advice: plan on preparing for your biographical essay and research paper far in advance.  I started working on my biographical essay four weeks before it was due and ended up having to stay up late and rush to finish it on time.  I began reading books and consulting other sources slightly more than two months in advance for my research paper; this proved to be sufficient to keep the work load at a moderate pace.  It is true that I wrote more than was required for this assignment and that I like to spread out my research and writing, but avoid the temptation to think that, because Mr. Burns removes an essay requirement the week that each of these two major assignments are due, you can start and complete each one in a single week.

 

I really enjoyed the opportunity to write a research paper for this course.  It gave me an opportunity to improve my analytical and persuasive skills with respect to a larger assignment.  It was also fun to describe and analyze three historical cartoons over the course of the year.

As far as exam prep is concerned, the BG (regular) and DBQ (document based question) practice essays were exceedingly valuable.  To succeed on the AP exam, you can’t just know the material; you need to be able to effectively present it as you argue in support of your thesis – and do so in a timely manner.  This is why these assignments are so necessary.  I went from requiring about three hours to plan and write an essay, to being able to get one done in the 35-45 minutes allotted on the exam.

 

Yes, it definitely did.  While I still would not pursue history as college major (since I have a science/math bent), this course has dramatically augmented my interest in the subject.

 

Certainly!  We had a lot of fascinating discussions, debating topics from the legality of the South’s secession to possible connections between the just-begun Libyan War and Vietnam.  These conversations really helped to cement my understanding of the material and improve my analytical ability.

 

A student who is able to spend the required time, who is willing to work hard, and who has at least some experience with analytical and persuasive writing (although not necessarily a lot – Mr. Burns helps with it) will excel in this amazing course.  I definitely recommend it!


A Challenging but Beneficial course posted by Sam Baggenstos on May 09 2011 at 17:36:09

This course--plus a generous helping of hard work--is all I needed to do well on the Advance Placement United States History examination.  Daniel Burns is an excellent teacher, carefully guiding me and the other students from Columbus to Clinton.  With America: A Narrative History as the main textbook Mr. Burns supplements the readings with essays, special research projects, class discussions, and my favorite, primary source documents.  If you are self-motivated, and eager to learn but don't know how to tackle the enourmous breadth of US history--this is the class for you.  You will come out of this class not only knowing more about US history, but also being able to write excellent essays in a short amount of time.  I highly recommend this class.


Take this class, pure and simple! posted by Xavier Gurrola on May 06 2011 at 19:40:38

Ever wonder what George Washington actually did as President? How the Civil War happened? Or how the heck America got into the position as a world power after only 150 years of independence? This class will answer that and more.

To start off, I love history. Coming into this course, however, I was slightly afraid. This would be only my second AP course/exam, and I've always heard rumors that the history exams are usually the hardest. Rest assured, the content of this course is accessible and Mr. Burns is a fabulous teacher that provides almost anything you would need, from Study Guides for each textbook chapter to mindful critique of essays.

The workload for this class, if supplemented with note-taking and study guides for each chapter, is moderate. However, it gets you SO well prepared for the exam, and, if taking notes (like you should!), will save tons of time and your emotions once review time comes around!

All in all, I cannot find any faults with this course. It prepares you well, and I feel like I actually LEARNED something (other than just how to memorize a bunch of facts that will be forgotten right after the exam). So, if you are undecided about the quality of this course, rest assured it earns a resounding GREAT from me!


A.P. U.S. History - The Best Class Ever!!! posted by Porter Dickie on May 06 2011 at 18:23:25

This course was very good in preparing me for the AP exam. My teacher did a great job in making suggestions on review and encouraging us along the way! I usually put in a 12-15 hour work week for the class. As for assignments, I found the essays and multiple choice quizzes helpful in preparation for the exam, while discussions with my fellow classmates and the biography and research papers were extremely enjoyable. This class has helped me realize that I want to enter the history field when I graduate from college. Communicating with my fellow classmates was especially valuable as well as interesting. Debating with my peers on the constitutionality of the secession of the South or the Vietnam War was one of the class highlights for me. If someone is seriously considering this class, they need to be a hard worker because this is a college level class. They also need to be a strong writer and debater willing to discuss the subject matter in various ways. Overall, this was an amazing class, my favorite ever! 


AP US HIstory Review posted by Rebeka Rosales on May 14 2010 at 14:30:07

This course helped me so much in taking the US History exam. I walked into the testing area very confident in my knowledge. All the study materials really prepared me for the test and I fully recommend it. 

The working hours each week weren't bad either. Usually eight to ten hours of actually interesting work. Studying US history can be a very daunting task but this class made it fun and interesting and really made me love history all the more. 

The other students also helped me to look at some of the issues and subjects in different ways and helped in way to form my own opinions about certain subjects. If you love history, listening to other points of view, and are willing to work hard this class is certainly for you. 


Review of APUSH with Mr. Burns posted by Julia Wenger on May 14 2010 at 10:29:32


Much reading and writing--but quite educational and a good choice! posted by Daniel Luckenbaugh on May 11 2010 at 20:13:15

Dear prospective APUSH student,

If you are thinking about Daniel Burns’ class, then you are thinking about a fine class.  This class prepares you for the AP exam--but you have to review on your own, too, particularly for the essays.  I could have been more prepared for the essays than I was; I did not spend enough time reviewing specifically for the essay section of the AP exam.  However, I was prepared for the multiple-choice questions.

This course was the heaviest of my courses this year.  If you are planning to take more AP courses than just APUSH, then time is a heavy factor, maybe the deciding factor, in determining what courses and how many to take.  I took AP Lang (English Language), and both courses put together consumed a majority of my daily time spent on school most of the year.  I spent quite a few hours a day on APUSH; each week has special assignments, so that influenced how much time I spent daily.  Also, working on the biography in the first semester and on the research paper in the second semester required more time.  The number of hours I spent every day on the course varied depending on what the syllabus assigned for the week and how heavy each week's assignments were.  I think reading weeks (reading the Barron's Guide as well as the textbook) were heaviest.

The essay weeks required less time, unless I desired to spend a lot of time on my essay before we started writing timed essays.  The course generally was a four-week cycle, but the syllabus says, "Make sure you check the schedule of assignments regularly because there are some exceptions to this rotation at the beginning of the year, around holidays, and as we approach the exam date."

Interview/cartoon analysis weeks definitely required less time than reading weeks.  A good idea is to interview someone on a weekend or Christmas break.

I did enjoy researching for the biography and the research paper.  You may choose your own topic, so that allows you to enjoy the assignment.  Discussions on the board were my favorite part.  We had some awesome discussions on topics like government's job, government healthcare lol, the War on Terror, the causes of the Civil War--including slavery's role, politics, slavery (distinct from causing the Civil War), the honesty of the textbook in certain places :D, and what ifs (like what if the South had won the Civil War: would America have still become a world power?; what if Parliament had let the colonists elect representatives: would the Revolutionary War still have happened?; and what if European diseases had not effected the Indians: would the colonies still have been successful?).  The class was blessed to have a Constitution buff this year, and that livened up some discussions.  However, sometimes I was one of a few or the only one who wanted to discuss something.

I don't think one assignment was particularly valuable in preparing for the exam or learning about American history.  Primary source documents (PSDs) have to be the most valuable way to learn history, and we were required to read 9 a week for most of the year.  Our textbook (America, a Narrative History, 7th edition) had a companion anthology of PSDs.  And some students found websites with PSDs.  As far as valuable in terms of preparing for the exam, nothing really sticks out.  We were required to take three practice quizzes a week to practice with multiple-choice questions, though.

The course somewhat enhanced my interest in American history.  I got hooked on history when I was in elementary school and decided in about late junior high or early high school to major in it in college.  (I took this course as a junior, and I thought I would become a professor of history, but changed my mind partway through the year).  I was fairly surprised to find ANH (America, a Narrative History) as honest as it is and as broad as it is.  The 7th edition starts with some pre-Colombian cultures and finishes with Hurricane Katrina.  It also gives different views sometimes (for example, it mentions Charles Beard's thesis about the economic motives of the delegates to the Constitutional Convention).  In short, it is not boring.

Communicating with other students is a must! :).  Seriously, (and as mentioned above about discussions) one thing that made this class so enjoyable is that opportunities for discussion abounded throughout the year.  Communication with other students is indeed interesting and valuable.

What sort of student would do well in this course?  The sort which is willing to work hard--that is vital--discuss various historical topics (including controversies and topics which cross with history-related fields, like politics and economics), spend lots of time during the year--including many weekends--reading and/or writing, which has plenty of time for the course, and which enjoys American history.  (Well, that last one is a guarantee:)).  As alread mentioned, time is a huge factor.  I had to sacrifice a rather big chunk of my summer vacation to do APUSH, AP Lang, and a college course, but I was also finishing Eagle Scout.  So consider your plan for the school year--especially how many AP courses in addition to APUSH and/or college courses you may be planning to take--plus any extracurricular activities before deciding on this course.

If you do decide to take this course, you'll have a preparing teacher and classmates who want to learn about our country's history and gain college credit in the process, like you.  Good luck!  And thanks again to Mr. Burns for an enjoyable year.


Mr. Burns APUSH!!! :D posted by Emily Johnson on May 14 2009 at 18:06:06

I definately felt prepared for the AP exam. You have to put in the work--you can't expect to read the chapter and remember everything months later, but Mr. Burns' study guides were very helpful!

The class took a lot of time, on average between 10 to 15 hours. Most of it was spent reading PSDs--you need more than nine a week to get enough extra credit. But all the work was intereting, which makes it worth it.

Probably one of the funnest parts was having discussions on the WWW board. We would discuss history (of course) but generally with a philosophical twist. We had some very different opinions; it was very interesting to get other people's perspectives on things that seem obvious to me. :D

Overall, this was a very fun, very interesting, very informative class. It takes work, but if you have any interest in history, the work is fun!


Great class, very intense posted by Caroline Kjellberg on May 14 2009 at 15:39:54

I walked in to the exam room at 7:45 slightly nervous and walked out around noon completely relaxed. This course was great preparation for the AP exam. I was actually overprepared.

I put about 6-10 hours a week in to the course, depending on the weekly workload and my overall schedule. I'd say someone with an average reading speed would probably do fine spending 60-90 minutes a day on the assignments. I thought the weekly essays were a ton of fun since we often got to choose our own prompts and we really had to defend our positions. Mr Burns gave very fair grades and his comments were always really helpful.

I was already interested in American history before I joined the course but after having to take a serious survey course, my interests have expanded a lot. I'm looking forward to reading a few books about eras I got more interested in- namely the Jacksonian era and the turn of the 20th century. The discussion board was always pretty lively and always had something going on. I already had a friend in the class so I didn't really try to expand my social horizons here, but everyone was really friendly. Also, my friend and I were the only people from my state, so that would have complicated any potential social stuff :P

This class is definitely worth your while if you're ready for how intense it is. If you stay on top of the work you'll be fine, but if you fall behind it's very difficult to catch up. Stay in a daily routine for this class, even if you, like me, are not a daily routine kind of person. If Mr. Burns says you might want to do weekend reading or start some chapters in advance, he's giving you good advice. Actually, any advice Mr. Burns gives is good advice.

Lastly, if you have a minority opinion about something or you just disagree with the textbook, don't be afraid to talk about it. I took some fringe views in a few of my essays and was graded fairly on them. There's no penalty for disagreement, just for poor logic.

Definitely take this class. The test will be a joke and you'll actually learn cool stuff. Example: George Washington, John Adams, and Thomas Jefferson all really liked to collect and play...marbles. Yeah you have to learn names and dates but Mr. Burns makes it all interesting. What are you waiting for? Go sign up!


APUSH 08-09 posted by Olivia Cline on May 11 2009 at 12:10:57

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?

As much as is possible. APUSH is basically a monstrosity but we covered everything that was on the exam in class- anything I couldn't remember was simply a product of my own poor memory. How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

A lot honestly. This course takes a lot of work, and most of the time was spent reading and studying. At least twelve hours a week and sometimes quite a bit more.

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

Especially valuable, yes. Favorite? No. The DBQs helped so much with my knowledge of whatever subject we were covering, but they weren't fun by a long shot. =]

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

Yes actually. I went from someone with a mild interest in American history to someone who will now sit around and have an animated discussion about the Founding Fathers.

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable?

HOLY COW YES. I met one of my best friends through this class, and despite a 3-hour time difference and living on opposite sides of the country [I live in North Carolina, she lives in California] we're now "second-best" friends. ^_^ <3 Besides that [which would have been enough on this front just on its own], I've made several other valuable friendships and had some very animated discussions on various topics with people I never would have met otherwise. =]

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)?

Yes. You'll work your butt off, but you'll end up having a lot of fun and you'll be prepared for the exam as long as you put in the work.


Madeline Gillen's 08-09 APUSH Thoughts posted by Madeline Gillen on May 09 2009 at 01:05:38

Dear Mr. Burns,

Thank you very much for your teaching this year. I felt very prepared for the AP exam, and believe it was due to your skillful choice of course work. I think it was essential that you required and encouraged such a variety of learning sources. I would recommend this course to any friend or family member, but I would caution them that AP US History is a huge topic and one must not underestimate the work it will take.

Your class undoubtedly enhanced my interest in the subject. I know I mentioned in my introductory letter that my parents and older sister are all lovers of history, while I was for the most part was impartial. I can now say that I feel quite more than impartial and consider knowledge of history essential in one's education.

I think self motivation is key in this course. Also, the ability to recognize that while the year is a long haul, the work can be broken down and almost must be in order to be retained.

Thanks again, Madeline


APUSH by Daniel Burns (DB) posted by Connor Baer on May 27 2008 at 15:41:59

Did you fee like the course prepared you for the AP exam?

Most definitely. I actually felt like the exam didn't test us on our total knowledge well enough. It was very specific on certain things, so in that regard I almost felt over-prepared. (if that's possible)

How many hours per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

When I first looked at the course and saw all the hours that people had put into the work, it looked very intimidating. To be sure, this class is not a slouch class, but the hours really do slip away. I spent anywhere from 45 minutes to 3 hours a day, and probably around 9-11 hours a week. The reading takes most of the time, so be prepared to be spending time with a heavy book.

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

Yes. I found myself doing research on certain topics just because I was interested in them. The structure of the class makes the learning enjoyable and not a painful process.

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable?

Haha. We had many interesting and heated debates on the forums ranging on topics from the ideas of the Constitution to abortion to homosexuality to evolution to pretty much anything we could think of. I really enjoyed my classmates and I learned a ton from our discussions. For homeschoolers, this is a great way to stretch outside of the house and interact with other people.

Would you recommend this course to other students?

If anyone asked me if they should take the APUSH class by DB, I would say "yes" in a heartbeat. I've heard the class by Mrs. Richman is really good as well, but you can't go wrong with Mr. Burns. He makes the learning process enjoyable and acts more as a facilitator than a teacher which puts the responsibility on the student. This is a great class, and anyone who is willing to put the time and effort into the work should try it!


Review of APUSH posted by David Berghan on May 16 2008 at 22:02:18

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?

Yes. After the three weeks of review we got at the end of the course before the exam, I honestly feel as if the only thing that would have helped me more was the answer key for the exam. :)

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

1 1/2 to 3 hours a day, and about 9-11 hours a week. Mondays and Tuesdays use to be the hardest though because that was when I had the most assigned reading.

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

The main book we used as our "text book" is called "America, A Narrative History," or "ANH" as we call it. Honestly, my favorite part of the class, the most valueable part and the most fun part was reading ANH. It is a great book and I will keep my copy in very good condition after the class.

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

Learning about something in detail always makes it more interesting.

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable?

Yes, definately. It was especially interesting for me because I was the only non-Christian student in the entire class, except for one girl who wasn't Christian.


great class! posted by Mary Kate Hetzel on June 28 2007 at 23:20:58

*Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?

Yes i definetly feel like i was very well prepared for the exam. The studying and tips from other students really helped.

*Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

I loved the interviews and cartoon analysis. I had never done anything like this before and it brought history in a whole new light.

*Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

Definetly. Since the course ended i began to read Dont know Much About American History: Things you never Learned But Really Ought To Know. :]

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)?

A very disciplined student would thrive in this environment. Because there is room in this class to go above and beyond, anyone who has the drive could get so much out of this class. I would 100% recommend this class to anyone with a good work ethic. I learned so much and had a good time doing it.


APUSH Review posted by Lillian Otieno on May 22 2007 at 17:44:14

Dear Reader,

If you're reading this, you're probably strongly considering taking Mr. Burn's APUSH class, and you want to get the inside scoop from APUSH alumni like me. Before I answer the guided questions, I would just like to say: this is the best APUSH class in the world!! I learned so much and had so much fun. Mr. Burns is the best teacher in the world. He is patient and really wants you to succeed. The way he set up this class is brilliant! With that said, the guided questions:

1. Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?

Yes, this course definitely prepared me to take the AP exam. The various assignments prepared me for different aspects of the exam, especially the essays. I was able to finish both the multiple choice and the free-response sections with enough time to check over my responses. I did not feel unprepared for the exam--I was confident because I knew that we had covered all periods of U.S. History. A brief illustration: Because we had finished the entire textbook about five weeks before the exam, I knew I was prepared to write an essay on any topic in American History. It was interesting to listen to the conversations around me--most students were planning what they would write if they got a question on the Cold War (it appeared that they had not finished the book, and had not discussed the Cold War). The ideas ranged from "I'm going to write that the teacher is stupid, she didn't teach us this" to "I'm going to write a poem". I could help smiling, knowing what I would write if we got the Cold War. This just goes to show how prepared I felt because of the excellent layout of this course.

2. How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

I generally put about five hours per week into this course. It usually took me an hour to complete the assigned reading, about two hours for the bi-weekly essay, and about two hours reading primary source documents. However, I would say that a person could get an A out of the course if they put in only three and a half hours per week.

3. Are there any particulary favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

I really enjoyed all the essays, and I also enjoyed reading primary source documents (PSDs). These helped with recall of information, and I kept finding questions on the AP exam where I would say, "Oh, I know that answer! I wrote an essay [or read a PSD] on that!"

4. Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

Yes, it did! If you like politics, this course will give you a background on which to base many of your discussions! I strongly believe every American should take U.S. History so that we can understand the workings of our country. I know no better way to do that than to take an indepth course like this.

5. Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable?

Yes, I did! I was able to make a good friend, whom I talk to and email regularly, as well as several acquaintances. If you want to make a friend though, you must make the effort to contact the person outside of class and start communication. Friends don't just pop up in the class atmosphere. However, I am living proof that it is possible to make friends in this environment.

6. What student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)?

Any student who is disciplined will do well in this class. All the class requires is to do the assignments and make sure you have a grasp on the material. You needn't be a genius writer, or a good memorizer. You just need to be steady and disciplined. I would recommend this course to any student who meets the above criteria or who is willing to put sheer effort into it.

This is a great class! I would recommend it to anyone who loves history, who is disciplined, or even if you love to write (honestly, we wrote more in this class than in my Honors English 1 class!). If you're not sure, I would say go for it. I'm sure you'll enjoy it!

Best wishes,

Lillian Otieno


Jared's Review of Mr. Burns' Class by Jared Kephart, May 18 2005 at 06:31:06

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam? Yes, extremely well.

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course? Approx. 10 hours

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable? I really loved the debates.

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject? Yes, history is one of those things that the more you know the more you can learn.

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable? I loved having the different students and different opinions. They gave me loads of new ideas and different opinions.

What sort of student would do well in this course? A hard-working, hard-reading, history-loving, persistent student.

Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)? I would ONLY reccomend this class to someone who is willing to work hard, is honest, and reliable and has a love of history. If I did think that they were ready I would reccomend this class to them above all others.


w00t for the course! by Andrew Hou, May 18 2005 at 13:19:09

This course is extremely well put together, especially for a first year teacher. ;-) We all really enjoyed being in this class, and I, especially, have gained alot from it. Mr. Burns is an excellent teacher, and I'm almost sorry that this class is over.

The preparation for the AP Exam was very good, especially in the area of essays. The selected prep books were excellent, and essay subjects, outstanding. Although, it would've been nice if there was a bit more preparation for MCQs. All of MCQ quizzes were very well prepared, but I would've felt better prepared if there were even more. The Debates that we had between students were extremely helpful, too. They really encouraged us to think, and they were also great fun. Hopefully, Mr. Burns will be inclined to join in on the debates with his next class. ;-)

This course has definitely piqued my interest in history (as well as government, economics, and politics. :-) Mr. Burns is definitely a wellspring of all infomation pertaining to those subjects, having taken AP and college courses in all of them.). It has given me a greater understanding of what has lead to how our country is as it is today, which is invaluable infomation.

Interaction between students was also greatly encouraged and helpful. They were around so much that they almost "haunted" our Web Forum. Often, questions would be posted on the forum with another student answering them within half an hour. Even with the answer already given, many other students would add their own additions or comments to the answer, giving more infomation that was either in direct corrolatioin or simply pertaining to the subject.

Anybody with a strong work-ethic, a love of reading, and a love of history would do excellently in this course. This is a course that should not be missed. You meet alot of interesting people, all of which are at the utmost highest caliber of academics. And our teacher even more so. Viva le United States!


Need an excellent APUSH course? Look no further. by William Honaker, May 18 2005 at 16:38:45

If you want a five on the APUSH exam, this is the course to take. The cours load is no easy task (quite hard, even) so make sure you are really interested and really have the time for this. Sad is the student who is so eager, but cannot finish his work.

That said, you'll have a lot of fun with this course. The work is enough to please those who love a challenge: about 50-75 pages to study each week, two or more essays a month (it's actually slightly easier when you write them by hand, I found) and also interviews and analyses of political cartoons. And to keep you busy once you've finished the required work, there's a competitive extra credit race. Read primary documents, do quizes, participate in debates, and even band together as Burninites to defeat your APUSH rival class, the Richamnites!! Much fun, all of it.

The best part, once we got over all the extremely tough assignments, was the class camraderie. The best part was checking in on the website every day to catch up on all the latetest debates and discussions, and maybe gain some ground in the extra credit race. You'll make plenty of friends, and maybe you'll even get Mr. Burns to arrange another class trip tO DC!

Mr. Burns has done a very good job with the course this year. You'll be hard pressed to find a better teacher. (But give the guy a break if he's a little late grading your work. He's a really busy guy, with college and all). If you think you can meet the challenge, love history, and feell that you have too much free time, go ahead and apply. You won't regret it.


APUSH Burnite Review by Kylene Peroutky, May 19 2005 at 05:55:12

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam? Yeah, I was still kinda stressed because it was my first AP class, but I felt like I knew the material:-)

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course? 1 to 2 hours a day, usually about 8 hours a weeks

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable? I liked the debates and the chrono games, also, I enjoyed the bio essays

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject? Not really, I've always kinda liked American history, and this year I was just doing what I have liked before, only much more in depth:-)

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable? Yeah, especially when the 4 hard core students met at the end of the year:-)

What sort of student would do well in this course? I think someone who has already experienced a class where there is very little teaching done, motivated person, and (obviously) a history person:-)

Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)? Yes!!!! It was a lot of fun even though it was hard work.


Return to the class description
Return to the AP Online Test Preparation Classes Home Page