Pennsylvania Homeschoolers

AP* Online Classes

I didn’t take Mrs. Green’s class—my son took it, and I had the pleasure of watching him enjoy learning about literature, being a part of a community of dedicated and hard-working learners, and growing as a reader and writer over the course of the year. 

AP Class Reviews

AP Computer Science Principles taught by Rebekah Lang

by Students and Parents

AP Computer Science Principles--2019-2020 posted by Reagan Waggoner on May 21 2020 at 15:10:13

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?!

I did! I reallly enjoyed the prep we had for the AP exam and we looked over many samples of performance tasks that both met and did not meet the guidelines. We were tasked with evaluating sample tasks, discussing them, and determining what points the tasks would receive. We were assigned many assignments which proved helpful in the final examination tasks. I do not belief lack of exam prep will be a problem in this class. I felt very prepared, as did many of my classmates as far as I know. 

 

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

The amount of time put in during a week varied with the week, since, of course, the assignments due were different each week. On the average week, I averaged about 3 hours a week. Some weeks, the count was as low as 30 minutes to an hour; for other weeks, I spent upwards of 5 hours. The busiest week for me was the week the Create Performance Task was due; debugging took a good portion of time and I believe that week I spent 6-7 hours on this class. I will say that I work very fast, so this should be taken into consideration when considering these numbers..

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

There were so many assignments in this class that I loved! In particular, I loved the coding projects. We were tasked with creating a scene as a group, and that was a blast. It wasn't an easy assignment, but it was very rewarding. We collaborated, discussed ideas, divided up parts, debugged, and finished together. It was a blast. I also loved doing the Create PT task. Coding in general in this class was lots of fun! We started very simple and built up to writing hundreds of lines of code before we even noticed we had. It was awesome, taught very well, and was in great stepping stones so as to not be overwhelming. The coding segments were overall the most rewarding and valuable to me. 

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

It did! I entered the year moderately interested in computer science, without any real coding experience. 9 months later, I'm considering computer science as a major, and am taking AP CSA next year! Mrs. Lang is so great, the course is run well, and I believe that this course is likely to enhance most people's interest in the subject. 

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable?

I did! I really really enjoyed them. There were not too many collaborative projects or too few; it was a great mix. I loved interacting with classmates from across the world and working on projects together! Mrs. Lang was super helpful in ensuring participation, and the communication was very interesting and valuable. We exchanged ideas, discussed the course, and even just life in general!

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!

Any student with any moderate interest in the subject matter of computer science should take this course. If they want familiarity with computers, want an computer credit, or want to look into it as a possible career field, this is a great intro course. I would say it is on the easier side of AP courses but very rewarding. Any student who can work independently will thrive in this course. 

 

 


Excellent class and excellent teacher! posted by Katie Hall on May 13 2020 at 16:13:26

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam? 

I felt extremely well prepared! By the end of the course, I knew exactly what I needed to do in my Explore and Create Tasks to get a good score. Ms. Lang provided so many great assignments and helped us analyze past work, so I really understood what each part of the rubric required. Note: Due to Covid -19, I took the abbreviated exam which didn't include a  multiple choice part, so we didn't do any test prep. Despite this, I think that had there been a multiple choice exam, I would be very well prepared. We did summary tests every unit, and Ms. Lang prepared us so well for the Explore and Create tasks, so I have not doubt that the test prep would have been great. 

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

Usually, I put between 2-6 hours per week depending on the amount of work for the week. I do think that the coding portion of the class required more time than learning about internet and computing innovations, but I think the latter was conceptually harder. Regardless of what we were learning about, the assignments were almost always interesting, and informative.

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

We did many, small, research projects to prepare us for Explore Task, which I found very helpful and interesting. Practicing the skills we would need for the Explore Task made me very confident, and helped me understand exactly what was expected. It was also fun to explore smaller topics like the types of cyber attacks and file format. Another assignment I enjoyed was all of the code.org work. Code.org provided short videos and tutorials that made coding really intuitive and fun. I always looked forward to it!

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

Yes! I already had some interest in coding, but this course also showed me other parts of computer science like how the internet works, security issues, analyzing computing innovations, and much more. 

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable?

Definitely. We did many discussion boards regarding texts that we read, or samples that we looked over. I always looked forward to the discussions, because everyone posted such great insights, and asked great questions which helped me better understand the topics.

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)?

I think that any student who wants to learn about our rapidly growing, digital world should take this class, not just for students who want to code. I have learned so much about the basics of how technology functions, and how to be a better internet user. 

 

Overall this class was interesting, well structured, and extremely informative. The assignments were easy to follow, and really built up the knowledge necessary for the exam. The best part of the class, however, was the teacher! Ms. Lang was always so helpful when I was confused, or needed help. She always wanted us to understand the material, and was really fun too. Thanks to her I have had a great semester, and learned so much. :)

 

 

 


AP Computer Science P posted by Grace Park on May 08 2020 at 18:45:34

I actually decided to not take the AP exam due to the circumstances with COVID-19 and the fact that I have already been accepted to college, so I don't think I can fully answer this question. However, this was my 11th AP class that I have taken and I think Ms. Lang does a really good job of preparing her students for the exam.  

I would say that I spent about 2-3 hours a week on work. This varied depending on the work for the week. If we had our Performance tasks to work on than this increased by a lot. 

I don't think I have a particularly favorite assignment from this year but I enjoyed researching for the explore task. 

I think this course did enhance my interest. I didn't have too much interest in computer science before and this course helped me to understand a little more what computer science is about. 

I did find communication with other students valuable. I honestly didn't feel like I interacted too much with other students. We did have quite a few discussion and a few group projects but besides that I did a lot of work on my own and personally work better that way. 

I think this is a good class for students of all grades and experience. I had absolutely no experience and did fine in this class so that isn't a concern. Compared to my other AP classes I would say this is lower on the rigor scale, so that also isn't too big of a problem and I would recommend this as a good introduction to AP classes in general!


Great class with an amazing teacher :) posted by Lydia on April 29 2020 at 12:32:26

Yes! Due to COVID-19, there was no multiple choice exam in 2020, but if there had been, I felt absolutely prepared! She provided so much material that if you just put in the effort to understand it, it isn't hard to get the hang of it. If you're ever confused about something, she welcomes questions and is always open to help. She doesn't make you feel bad about asking any questions and genuinely wants you to succeed. The Code.org course provides a great foundation for coding and definitely prepares you for the Create Performance Task. The several research projects helped by allowing her to give us feedback before we started the Explore Task. Besides just the tasks, this class helps you gain a deep understanding of how the internet works.

I put in an average of 5-6 hours per week. Some weeks had bigger projects, and so they required more time. Generally, the work wasn't bad at all - the right balance between really understanding the material and not spending unnecessary time on it.

The coding projects were definitely a highlight. They allowed you to see how much you've learned and what you can do with it. It also helped you get comfortable with the coding process - debugging, problem-solving, etc.  It's also a lot of fun to share your projects in class and see what everyone has done!

For sure! In the beginning, I thought that the deeper I get into computer science, the more I'll lose interest - but this course definitely shows that the more you know about computer science, the more you want to know! I've always had an interest in this subject, and this class got me started in what I hope will be a part of my career path.

Yes! The students in this class are very driven and dilligent. The other students challenge you in the discussion boards, encourage you during class, and work with you for group projects.

Any focused student that's willing to work hard would do well. This course is tailored for any driven student. Even if they're unfamiliar with coding and even know nothing at all, this course eases you in and helps you to grasp the basics. All the material can be overwhelming at first, but this course teaches it in bite-sized pieces, and at the end of the year, you'll be so amazed at how much you learned. 


AP CSP Review 2019-2020 posted by Luke Bleyer on April 23 2020 at 17:10:58

AP CSP was a very enjoyable experience for me. I had no coding background at all, but I was still able to complete most of the coursework without too much confusion. On most weeks I worked around 6 hours, but on some weeks when a project was due, I worked up to 10-12 hours. I found most of the coding oriented assignments very fun, because they reminded me of logic puzzles. I think the course adequately prepared me for other coding or computer courses I may take in the future. Mrs. Lang was super understanding whenever a difficulty or confusion came up, and anytime I collaborated with other students on coursework, they were always enthusiastic and willing to help. I would recommend this course to anyone who is interested in computers but does not have that much experience with coding.


I had an amazing time because of Ms. Lang! posted by Cat on April 22 2020 at 18:36:44

Disclaimer: I took this class during the 2019-20 year, meaning that the exams were re-adjusted for COVID-19. The exam only consisted of turning in the Create and Explore PT for me. 

Absolutely! During the entire school year, Ms. Lang was always there to answer any questions I'd have. If I ever got confused or struggled, she'd give extra resources (if I asked) and worked with me, even allowing late work. She made sure as a student, I actually understood the material vs. getting things done because there was a deadline attached (don't make this a bad habit, though!). Once it got closer to exam time, she released a bunch of study materials which covered everything needed to be best prepared for the exam. If the multiple choice portion were still a part of the exam, I'd feel very confident in passing despite being a bad test taker. 

It depended on the week and/or semester. For the fall semester, it was coding focused while in the spring it was more reading comprehension focused. I didn't have much of a coding background, so I struggled a lot in the fall. I'd typically spend 1 - 2 hours each day, 5 hours if I understood the work decently while 10 hours if I didn't understand it decently. Spring semester, I was better at since I was better at comprehending reading, so I'd spend about an hour if not less, each day, total of 5 or less hours per week. 

I found a lot of the coding projects to be very fun and valuable despite struggling quite a bit. They made coding more fun as you were essentially creating a game. It also allowed me to connect the dots whenever I saw games online because I could then have a, I'd like to believe, decent idea of how they created that game. The best part, in my opinion, was when you got to show off your hard work during the live meetings. One of the projects required integrating sound, so I made a "guess the song" game and it was really fun to have everyone participate. 

For sure! In the beginning, I actually wanted to drop the class because I decided I didn't like computer science that much and that I didn't want to major in computer science. I'm glad I saw this class through as it became one of my favorite classes. There was so much I learned in this class that I could apply to real life and it's really cool when you connect the dots of what you learned in class.

Yes! There were the obvious communications in the discussion boards, the live meetings, and the group project, but students were allowed to talk outside of class, too. I made a friend and others I emailed whenever I had trouble/hoped for some advice and they were very sweet and gave solid help. You might have to initiate some of the contact, but that's okay! 

Anyone who is willing to try and is confident in asking for help when they get stuck. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone and everyone who wants to see what computer science is about. This is a fun introductory class, it gets you to understand the basics and a little bit more. You could still get by even if you don't completely understand everything, but I'd recommend trying to understand things the first time around. As long as the student puts forth the work and tries to meet the teacher half-way, they'll pass and as long as they study and understand the material, they'll get a 5 if not 4 on the exam. 

 

About the teacher: 

This is just an extra note I'll put in. Ms. Lang is an amazing teacher and one of the best I've had in a while. If you as the student are worried about taking this class because you don't have a computer science background, take the risk! Ms. Lang is so supportive and if you as the student are putting in effort, you'll for sure pass this class and the exam. She also made some of the studying fun with sites like Kahoot and Quizzes. Closer to the exam, I'd set up calls with her for extra practice and ask for tons of feedback, I'd email her asking her a lot of questions and she'd always answer them, and she's just overall very involved. 

 

Thank you, Ms. Lang, for everything that you did, I had an amazing year! :) 


A Phenomenal Class posted by Sophie on August 13 2019 at 18:53:27

AP Computer Science Principles from Ms. Lang was hands down one of my favorite courses I've ever taken. This course prepared me exceptionally well for the AP exam. Throughout the year, we mainly focused on extensive code.org work to build up our foundation in CS, and then the discussion posts (focused on readings from Blown to Bits) helped you think about what you're learning and solidify it; I especially loved how it helped us understand how what we are learning applies to everyday life. We also did group projects which included aspects of the Create PT responses and did research projects which prepared us for the Explore PT. When the AP test date was approaching, we had enough time to focus on our Explore/Create PTs thoroughly, and Ms. Lang provided an extensive amount of resources/tests that significantly helped me score a 5 on the exam. Though, I have to mention that the addition of the interactive live meetings was one of my favorite parts of the class--we both interacted with our peers and learned the material through games/quizzes, activities, and lectures. The meetings were also recorded for people who couldn't attend. 

 

The amount of work you put in varies. On a regular week, I'd personally put in about 4 hours of work; however, they're many times where we have larger projects, and on those weeks I'd put in somewhere between 8-12 hours. I felt that every assignment was necessary to understand the subject further. In the beginning, I felt as if some of the work was slightly redundant, though as the course progressed, I realized that each assignment was explicitly chosen and enhanced my interest in what we were learning and the subject as a whole--I really appreciated that. 

 

One of the highlights of this course was the awesome peer community that was built. A student made a hangouts group chat, and that was very helpful: we asked and answered questions, studied for tests, helped debug code, and much more. And as I've said before, we also interacted with each other via the live meetings. However, the biggest highlight of AP CSP was having a fantastic teacher. Ms. Lang seemed to care about each student and wanted them to do well. She, of course, thought the subject very well, but she also was very responsive in answering any question you had. For example, I had a problem with registering for College Board (for the digital portfolio), and Ms. Lang communicated with me to make sure that the problem was solved. 

 

I came into this class with a little background in Python; however, it doesn't matter whether you have experience or no experience with coding. This class does a great job teaching the subject and preparing you for the AP test, so whether your goal is to spark an interest in CS, or just to get a good score on the AP exam, this class will fit your every need. The only thing you need for this class is a good mindset, and a willingness to work hard. 

 

Thank you, Ms. Lang, for a great year! 


Good class with a great teacher! posted by Dawn on May 23 2019 at 24:36:07

Yes! I felt very ready. Although I decided not to take the exam, I was very confident about how I would have done on it for both the create and explore PTs and the multiple choice!

I usually put in an hour or two a day, for a solid total of 5-10 hours a week. The very lightest weeks I dipped as low as two; the very highest were closer to 15.

I really loved using the book Blown To Bits - I learned so much from that text, and even though I grumbled and groaned about the discussion questions over it, they were really valuable to me! In addition the practical applications were great. There were two main coding units in the class, one in the mid-fall and one in the spring, and getting to use the principles we had learned all year was really great and helped cement a lot of concepts for me.

Yes, absolutely! Although I liked computers and computer things before I took this course, I've now decided to major in computer science this fall and pursue it as a career (in fact, this summer I'm doing an internship with a software company!). I had a great time in Mrs Lang's AP CSP class!

Sometimes. I came into the class with a pretty solid background in Javascript, so honestly most of the time in my study group I was helping answer other students' questions rather than the other way around - however, having those questions asked and those bugs in people's programs to find and solve was really great for me too and gave me a lot of extra chances to learn and apply what I had learned!!

 Yes, I would definitely recommend this course. Although it is pretty code.org-heavy, there were so many discussions and practice scorings and so forth that I'm glad I took the class. Also, having Mrs Lang there was GREAT! She's a super helpful teacher and was really good about answering my questions and helping me clear up things I was confused about both by email (she almost always responded really fast) and in the weekly live chats.



Excellent course! posted by Alaina on May 14 2019 at 20:42:18

I did not take the AP exam, but this course prepared me extremely well to take the test if I had decided to. Many review materials were provided for the multiple choice exam, and we were given detailed instructions on how to complete the portfolio successfully. (Completing the portfolio was required even for those not taking the exam, serving as a valuable learning experience as well as a method of testing.)



I usually put about 5 hours of work a week into the course, but I had a fair amount of experience with computers and coding before the course. I also tend to code quickly. 10 hours might be more accurate for someone who was not as familiar with computers before starting the course. During weeks with a lot of coding or work on the portfolio, expect to put in 10 or more hours.

 

My favorite assignment was the Create PT task for the portfolio. Each student got the opportunity to use what they had learned in the class to make an app of their own which they would submit as part of their exam if they were taking the exam. Another favorite assignment of mine was reading Blown To Bits, an online book which we read parts of for the class. I also enjoyed the coding lessons which we did through Code.org.



The course enhanced my interest in the subject. I was already planning to pursue a career in computers at the start of the year, but this course helped me to appreciate different fields that I had not thought about as much previously. We learned a wide range of different coding and computer skills, which gave me a glimpse into different possible careers and a better grasp of computers as a whole.

 

There were several discussion boards and group activities throughout the year, which I enjoyed. The teacher did an exceptional job of managing groups so that work was fairly distributed and there were no “coasting” team members.

 

I think most students who are willing to work hard would do well in this course. I recommend this course to everyone, even those who might not consider computers their favorite things--this course makes computers fun and simple, and a working knowledge of computers is an asset in almost any job or career. I also recommend the course to students who already know a great deal about computers--if nothing else, it is a good review to solidify concepts you already understand and will prepare you to get a 5 on the exam.


The workload and time required to succeed will be vastly different between someone who does not know much about computers and someone who already knows a good amount, but I believe that any hardworking and dedicated student would be capable of succeeding in this class.


Great Course! posted by Mary on May 13 2019 at 16:13:52

I had a blast in AP CS P with Mrs. Lang. She made the course enjoyable and prepared us well for the exam. The work load was pretty light for me but the homework was always a joy to complete (maybe because I enjoy coding). This is a great intro course for those who might be interested in computer science or just want to try it out. 


An amazing course! posted by Jessica on May 12 2019 at 10:21:30

First of all, this course was absolutely amazing. I loved interacting with my classmates, and Mrs. Lang is a phenomenal teacher! It was a lot of fun, but I also learned a lot. I think the curriculum definitely prepared us well for the exam, since we learned everything in a methodical way and thoroughly covered all the topics on the exam. Mrs. Lang also supplied us with a ton of resources for studying, and by the end of it, I felt well-prepared. I would definitely recommend this course to motivated and hardworking students who wish to further their knowledge. Thank you Mrs. Lang for an amazing year!


Amazing CSP class!!! posted by AnaXue M on May 11 2019 at 16:30:56

Absolutely! Mrs. Lang provided LOTS of review material and sources that sudents can use. During our live lectures, we also played some games as review tools. Of course, you can't rely on just those sources to feel prepared. You also need to study on your own but if I had any questions while studying, Mrs. Lang was very quick to respond!

Hmm, about 1-4 hours? If we had projects it was on the longer side. 

Probably the coding projects. For those, we would treat them as if they were the Create tasks and so we would practice writing the written responses.

Yes. Before the year started, I didn't know much about coding. Now that the year is over, I know so much more and find it super interesting.

Yes. We were in a chat where we could ask questions or communicate with group members if we were working on a group project. 

Anyone who is willing to put the work into this class. If you have a big interest or small interest in this class, are willing to work hard, and get somehting out of it, this class would be awesome. 


AP CSP Class Review Form posted by Austin on May 07 2019 at 16:14:25


Excellent Class and an Excellent Teacher! posted by Zachary Beddingfield on May 07 2019 at 16:10:50

I really enjoyed taking this class this year! The workload was super easy for me, and I could generally complete all assignments for a week within 4-8 hours. At the same time, I felt completely prepared for the AP exam and after taking practice exams nothing really came up that I hadn't already been taught! Furthermore, the teacher is super nice, and when there was a problem with my school and registering me for the AP exam, she stayed in constant contact with me for almost a week, contacting both the College Board and school on my behalf, and solved the problem for me!


Excellent Class and an Excellent Teacher! posted by Zachary Beddingfield on May 07 2019 at 16:07:40


AP Computer Science Principles posted by Chloe O on July 19 2018 at 19:40:21

I feel that this course prepared me very well for the AP exam. The assignments were great practice for the Create and Explore PT portions of the exam, and we learned everything we needed to know for the multiple choice exam as well. The study guide and practice tests that Ms. Lang gave us were also very helpful in preparing for the exam.

The hours of work per week varied a lot depending on the assignments for the week. I spent anywhere from 5-15 hours/week on this class. The Explore and Create PT assignments required the most amount of work, but Ms. Lang scheduled plenty of time for us to finish these assignments and submit them to the College Board. Goal planning and timeline development were important assignments that Ms.Lang built into the schedule.

My favorite assignments were the coding ones. I enjoyed the hands-on aspect of those assignments.

The course sparked my interest in coding and I am planning to explore it further.

I have done many online classes and they always have a discussion/interaction aspect. Sometimes these feel like busy work, but Ms. Lang created useful and interactive communication assignments. I enjoyed working with other students doing group coding projects. Ms. Lang created discussion boards where we could put links to the projects we were working on to get feedback from others. I found this feedback very helpful. 

Anyone who is willing to work hard and put in the time would do well in this course. Although there were math and problem solving skills used during this course, it didn't require prior computer science experience. I would definitely recommend this course. Ms. Lang is one of the best online teachers that I have had.


AP CSP Class Review posted by Sarah Che (Parent of Rebekah Che) on July 11 2018 at 18:18:45

Mrs. Lang did a wonderful job with her inaugural class. She is one of the first teachers teaching this newly launched AP course nationwide. Without much outside resources nor any help from older siblings, my daughter was able to follow along and even excel with Mrs. Lang's guidance. We are very pleased with the learning that took place during the school year and the final AP score. Thank you!


Review, AP CS Principles, Rebekka Lang posted by Christine C Solomon on June 24 2018 at 09:23:29

Ms. Lang was an excellent teacher who was very responsive to any questions or concerns of my student. I highly recommend her as a teacher. I feel confident that any course she teaches will be very well done: she is knowledgeable about the subject mattter, responsive to the students, and genuinely want the student to learn the material and do well in both the class and on the AP class. Whatever the scale for ranking, I would give Ms. Lang the highest number of stars! Thank you for offering the calibre of teacher for which Ms. Lang is an terrific example. 

 

Sincerely, Christine Solomon for student Michael Solomon, 9th grader at time of the class


AP CSP 2017-18 Review posted by Rebekah Che on June 23 2018 at 01:00:16

Generally, yes. I have to say, a week before the AP exam or so, I was rather overwhelemed and didn't feel ready at all - there were just so many great review materials out there and I wasn't sure where to start or end! But by the time the exam rolled around, I had gone through Ms. Lang's list of review materials and was feeling relatively confident.

On average, I would say maybe around 8 hours per week? The workload varied, though.

Definitely the two portfolio tasks, Explore and Create! The Explore PT was a great learning experience, and helped hone not only my knowledge of computer innovations but also researching/writing skills. I struggled a lot with the Create because of a few coding disasters, but I learned a lot from the mistakes I made and it was so fun to be able to develop an app I could call my very own.

Most definitely yes. Prior to taking the course, I knew little about computer science; all I knew was a little bit of coding and I really wasn't motivated to do anything with that knowledge. However, taking this course reignited my interest in computer science and made it into something completely new and wonderful.

Actually, the communications with other students were probably my favorite thing about this course! Ms. Lang provided a lot of opportunities for peer interaction and collaboration, and although I admit I was somewhat shy around my classmates at first, I soon found these communications to be insanely valuable and engaging.

I think literally any student who's willing to work hard could do well in this course. Although it does involve a lot of problem solving and reasoning, it's nothing that students can't learn to do. I was very skeptical of CSP at first, as I didn't think I had any hopes of doing well among all my genius classmates ;) but my mindset has changed since then. Ms. Lang was very supportive and quick to reply to any questions/concerns I would message her with; sometimes she'd reply within minutes, which I really appreciated.

This course was one of the most enjoyable ones I've ever taken, and I would totally recommend it to other students!


AP CSP 2017-18 posted by Nicole Kraker on June 22 2018 at 20:29:29

Nerves aside, I felt VERY prepared for the exam! 

The time I spent in a week varied... I spent 5 hours some weeks and (one week) a good deal more than 30 in others... 

I loved everything that I could put an artistic spin on, like the favicon and our group coding project.

I loved having all the material given to me instead of having to find it on my own...

Our communication as a class was interesting. I enjoyed getting to see what others thought.

Any dedicated student can do well in this course! I'm totally going to recommend it to others and look forward to doing more with my knowledge.


AP Computer Science Principles Review posted by Caroline Larsen on June 22 2018 at 17:45:13

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?: Yes, it prepared me well. Throughout the year, we covered the requirements for the performance tasks (done within class as part of the AP score) and reinforced the concepts we learned in tests and quizzes, so I felt confident both when we did the PTs and during the multiple choice exam.

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?: I generally put in four to seven hours per week, depending on the workload.

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?: I found the coding projects we did on Code.org valuable, because they helped me understand the concepts better and get practice with programming. The practice tests we took were also very helpful.

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?: The course enhanced my interest in many computing concepts, including representation of data, how the Internet works, and file compression techniques.

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable?: I didn't communicate a whole lot with other students, but many of the conversations in the discussion forums were valuable because they helped me understand assigments better and learn additional information about computing.

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)?: Students who enjoy interactive activities and are willing to put in the  time for various small projects (and a few larger ones) would do well in this course. I recommend it to anyone who wants to learn programming and gain a solid foundation in computer science.


Review for Rebekah Lang's Computer Science Principles Class posted by George Nielsen on June 22 2018 at 13:55:56

I recently completed Rebekah Lang's Computer Science Principles Class with PA Homeschoolers, and it was one of the biggest highlights of my school year.

Not only did this class prepare me well for the AP Exam, as well as the Performance Tasks, but I also feel that it gave me a much better understanding of the internet, computers, and many other things, as well as many of their uses.

The work load for this class is not extremely intense, but it definitely requires you to put in a fair amount of work every week, with occasional projects and quizzes that add more to some weeks.

These quizzes and projects helped immensely in learning all of the material and, as some of the projects were group projects, teamwork and collaboration skills. They helped to reinforce many of the concepts that we had learned over the past few weeks, and helped creating in learning, and remembering, all of the material.

This class also helped to give me a much better understanding of computer's, computer related technologies, and the internet, as well as many of their uses, and benefits, as well as the risks and concerns, and I feel that this has helped me to become a better user of these technologies, and a better citizen of the time we live in.

On a final note, I would like to say how much I enjoyed Mrs. Lang as a teacher, and all of the helpful advise and feedback she would give on homework, quizzes, projects, and any concerns I might send to her. She really helped me get through the class, and learn the material, and as this was my first AP, that really helped.

I would recommend this class to anyone, no matter what they are interested in, as I fell it has helped me to learn more about the world we live in.



Return to the class description
Return to the AP Online Test Preparation Classes Home Page