Pennsylvania Homeschoolers

AP* Online Classes

Put simply, I walked into that AP test room with a 110% assurance that I knew the material.  And by “knew” I don’t mean memorized or something paltry like that.  I mean “knew” as in I understood it, could apply it and could absolutely, positively ace the exam. 

AP Class Reviews

AP Physics 1 and 2 taught by Dr. Jack Kernion

by Students and Parents

If you're NOT A PHYSICS PERSON, this review is for you. posted by Hoyoun L. on July 06 2022 at 24:16:38

Hi there,

 

If you're reading this review, you're probably looking to take AP Physics 1 with Dr. Kernion! I also assume you don't consider yourself to be a physics person. Keep reading to find out if a. you are ready for this course and b. if you have what it takes to do well!

 

a. prerequisites:

I personally had up to pre-calc for math when taking this course, but did not have any issues with the mathematical aspect of this course. If you are up to algebra II, really, the math should not be a problem.

 

b. how to succeed:

This course, compared to other AP science courses, is really a practice problem-centered course. Understanding the concepts are important, but in physics, there are so many variations of problems that stem from one concept or set of concepts, so you should definitely prioritize having a wide range of problems under your belt over "going deep" on each concept.

 

Further information:

1. How well did the course prepare you for the AP Exam? 

Much better than the course offered at my local high school. Dr. Kernion's course is very well structured and his explanations are always very helpful.

2. Time spent each week?

I spent about 4-5 hours each week give or take. Near the end, throughout the month before the exam, I spent 10-12 hours per week.

3. Did I become more interested in Physics? 

Dr. Kernion's course has made me appreciate how neatly physics describes our world, and has made me less scared when approaching the topic of physics. I will definitely continue to explore the subject in college.

4. How was the student forum?

It was generally helpful. As I said, physics is very problem-based, so having the forum gave me a chance to hear the problem solving processes of other students. Near the end of the course, I particularly found the forum helpful (Kernion's responses were all very prompt).

5.  Who should take this course?

I never took regular physics so I don't know how it is there, but if you are deciding on taking AP Physics 1, my best advice is take it if you are prepared to be challenged, not just because of the difficulty, but physics is a new way for you to understand the world around you, and that means you need to put in the effort of changing how you already perceive physical phenomena and absorb concepts and principles that may not make sense immediately. If you are willing to really grind throughout the year, you will definitely reap good results.  

 

Best of luck with AP Physics 1, remember to enjoy the journey!

 


AP Physics 1 and 2 posted by Mary Margaret Lewis on June 27 2022 at 15:15:29

Last tip! Buy the lab kits! I thought I had all the materials already for the Physics 2 labs but actually got a few weeks behind because I couldn't find materials for a particular lab. Just buy the lab kits at the beginning of the semesters and save yourself the trouble. :)


AP Physics 1/2 Review posted by Shreya Chandragiri on June 13 2022 at 17:55:28

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?

I felt that this course fully prepared me for the AP Physics 1 and 2 exams. Throughout the year, Dr. Kernion equipped us with all the tools we needed to succeed. Although it seemed a little bit daunting at first to take on both courses in one year, Dr. Kernion helped us tackle the assignments in our Student workflow in an organized manner by providing in-depth pacing guides and continuous support whenever we needed his guidance. Furthermore, I found the detailed lectures and comprehensive study materials to be extremely valuable in building a solid conceptual foundation for myself and fostering retention for more difficult topics. In this way, all of the assigned practice problem sets (and complete explanations provided) served as another layer for my understanding that only boosted my confidence in approaching all Physics problems with a logical, systematic strategy in mind.

 

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

I generally put in between 6-8 hours per week working through assignments in the Student workflow. Throughout the year, I found all of my homework and extra study material to be very advantageous for my prep and for further cementing newly-learned concepts.

 

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

I found our assigned lab activities in this course to be most helpful in developing my experimental design skills for the actual exams and also extremely enjoyable! :) The carefully-constructed activities allowed me to use my critical thinking skills in a way that fostered long-term understanding for myself.


Great course! posted by Louisa Macaire on June 06 2022 at 08:13:07

This course was definitely quite challenging but I feel like it prepared me very well for the AP Physics 1 exam. I loved how the course included many labs including both virtual and traditional hands on. These labs were usually student designed, which I think is a great way to get to understand some of the difficult concepts in the course. I usually put several hours of work a day into this course but I found these hours very enjoyable and I loved learning about all of the concepts taught in this course. Overall I was very happy with this course and I would definitely recommend it to other students who are interested in physics and are willing to work hard. 


Excellent AP Physics 1 Course posted by Brittan on May 21 2022 at 20:33:28

After taking the course, I felt confident that I could answer all AP questions using the comprehensive understanding I gained from the class. Dr. Kernion answered all of my questions thoroughly and was very responsive. This course was well-planned, including the syllabus, lectures, and assignments. Dr. Kernion's classes are highly engaging because he fosters a supportive and inclusive learning environment, and he clearly loves the subject of physics. The course website is easy to use and makes learning the material and completing assignments very straightforward. My favorite part of this course was the hands-on lab experiments. During Dr. Kernion's instructions, he explained exactly how to conduct the experiments and what would happen each week. The labs helped me to gain a deeper understanding of the material. 


AP Physics 1 Review posted by Jemella Piersol-Freedman on May 20 2022 at 17:01:05

Science and math are generally not my best subjects, so I was unsure what to expect going into Dr. Kernion's AP Physics 1 course. Despite this, I had an amazing experience with the course and the instructor! The course is well-organized, with plenty of videos, practice problems, labs, etc. to ensure students thoroughly understand the material. Dr. Kernion also held very helpful sessions every two weeks to go over the material and complete practice problems. All the practice problems are modeled after AP exam questions, so that by the end of the year I did not have to do as much review to prepare for the exam as I did for other AP classes I've taken. This being an AP class (and a physics class), the material is difficult, and students can expect to put in about 8-10 hours of work a week watching instructional videos, completing lab activities, and solving practice problems. However, as long as you are willing to do the work, Dr. Kernion is a great teacher and will give you a deep and thorough understanding of the concepts. I cannot recommend this course highly enough to hard-working and motivated students, even if like me they don't have a natural passion or aptitude for science and math topics. It prepared me very well for the exam, which I felt more confident taking than I would ever have expected.


Great course! posted by Caleb Alles on May 17 2022 at 12:34:05

This course definitely prepped me well for the test!  Not only through the content but also through the clear structure and the helpful tips from the teacher, I felt ready for the test.  There were many enjoyable labs online and simulations which were fun and informative.  Further, I enjoyed how there were pacing guides to keep me on track.  The course took around 8-10 hours a week, depending on the assignments and was not too burdensome.  The course definitely enhanced my interest in physics and hope to learn more in the future!

Thank you Dr. Kernion for the great teaching and preparation, it is much appreciated. 
Caleb A.


Excellent course! Highly recommend to students struggling with physics concepts posted by Shawn Henly on May 15 2022 at 15:02:30

Dr. Kernion has made this course excellently and the delivery of this course is spot on! When I was doing the first 4 units of this course, I was struggling miserably and was about to fail the class. Dr. Kernion took the time to sit down with me and really guided me through the portions I was struggling with. Thanks to him and his patience, I have passed the class. I felt more confident and was able to answer the mcq questions on the ap exam more quickly and efficiently than I originally thought I would be able to write them. I would recommend this AP Physics 1 course to anyone who is willing to work hard and is determined to master the concepts. I assure you, with a teacher like Dr. Kernion, you will pass with flying colors.


Physics 1 and Physics 2 Review posted by Stephen Berg on May 15 2022 at 14:23:32

1.  This course prepared me extremely well for the physics 1 and 2 exams.  I highly doubt I could find a better course.  The content often goes deeper than the AP exam, and the method of teaching is very coherent and in depth, but still concise.  The structure of the course is outstanding, and the review for the AP exams is very resourceful and structured.  The resources for the course are wonderful.  A student will not run out of information.  There are all of the lecture videos, which will help prepare for lectures in college, and there is a whole online book, and extra fun facts and information.  

2.  The amount of time of work for me was sectioned into three parts.  The first was watching the video, plus some time for taking notes.  The second was practice problems, and the third was labs, quizzes, and tests.  I spend more time on the videos and notes than on labs, quizzes, and tests; and I spent more time on labs, quizzes and tests, than practice problems.  So in general, I would say that I put in about 3 times the length of the week's videos per week.  

3.  The most valuable assignment for me was the lab reports.  Before taking the course, I had very little experience with labs, and did not know how to tackle them. However, with the excellent explination and structure of each lab, I am now profiencent on lab reports.

4.  The course absolutely put me over the top on my interest in engineering.  I knew I liked math and science, but after taking this course, I know that this is what I want to do for my life.  The struggle is which type of engineering as each section of the course peaked a slightly different interest.  This course grabs the attention and interesting and if the student has even a slight interest in physics, the student will find that interest increasing.  

5.  I would say that the communications with other students was probably the weakest part of the course, but it is for homeschoolers all over the country, so it must be online.  The communication between students is still alive, however, because of the question forum, all students can see the questions of other students and pose answers, and the live sessions hosted biweekly by Dr. Kernion.

6.  I would say that for a student to do well in the course they have to have a couple of things.  The first obviously is a great work ethic.  Secondly, I think that the student must have at least an inkling of an interest in physics before taking the course.  If somebody is taking the course just to get a physics credit, then the content is too deep and the student will not be able to keep going if they dislike physics.  Thirdly, I think the student must be above average on in intellect in physics, even if they have a great work ethic.  Also, the student must be able to study from videos, as Dr. Kernion conveys the information through videos.  It is not just a videos, though, it is a power point as well, and the power point slides are excellent, they are not to basic or simple and they are not to distracting.  The power point aids greatly in learning the content.  

This is an amazing course!  Hope you can take it!

Stephen


Highly Recommend!! A wonderful experience posted by Caroline Ormond on May 16 2022 at 23:40:21

This year, I took Physics I and Physics II, each as a semester class from Dr. Kernion. For both classes, the topics were very well explained, and I never had much trouble understanding any of the concepts. If I ever did have any questions, Dr. Kernion explained the answers very well. Both courses were also well-paced, so they didn't feel like too much material. Both courses, but especially Physics II, enhanced my interest in engineering, which I am excited to start studying this fall. I also felt prepared for both of the AP exams. I highly recommend both the Physics I and Physics II courses to anyone interested!


Excellent course! Highly recommend to students struggling with physics concepts posted by Shawn Henly on May 15 2022 at 15:02:30

Dr. Kernion has made this course excellently and the delivery of this course is spot on! When I was doing the first 4 units of this course, I was struggling miserably and was about to fail the class. Dr. Kernion took the time to sit down with me and really guided me through the portions I was struggling with. Thanks to him and his patience, I have passed the class. I felt more confident and was able to answer the mcq questions on the ap exam more quickly and efficiently than I originally thought I would be able to write them. I would recommend this AP Physics 1 course to anyone who is willing to work hard and is determined to master the concepts. I assure you, with a teacher like Dr. Kernion, you will pass with flying colors.


Physics 1 and Physics 2 Review posted by Stephen Berg on May 15 2022 at 14:23:32

1.  This course prepared me extremely well for the physics 1 and 2 exams.  I highly doubt I could find a better course.  The content often goes deeper than the AP exam, and the method of teaching is very coherent and in depth, but still concise.  The structure of the course is outstanding, and the review for the AP exams is very resourceful and structured.  The resources for the course are wonderful.  A student will not run out of information.  There are all of the lecture videos, which will help prepare for lectures in college, and there is a whole online book, and extra fun facts and information.  

2.  The amount of time of work for me was sectioned into three parts.  The first was watching the video, plus some time for taking notes.  The second was practice problems, and the third was labs, quizzes, and tests.  I spend more time on the videos and notes than on labs, quizzes, and tests; and I spent more time on labs, quizzes and tests, than practice problems.  So in general, I would say that I put in about 3 times the length of the week's videos per week.  

3.  The most valuable assignment for me was the lab reports.  Before taking the course, I had very little experience with labs, and did not know how to tackle them. However, with the excellent explination and structure of each lab, I am now profiencent on lab reports.

4.  The course absolutely put me over the top on my interest in engineering.  I knew I liked math and science, but after taking this course, I know that this is what I want to do for my life.  The struggle is which type of engineering as each section of the course peaked a slightly different interest.  This course grabs the attention and interesting and if the student has even a slight interest in physics, the student will find that interest increasing.  

5.  I would say that the communications with other students was probably the weakest part of the course, but it is for homeschoolers all over the country, so it must be online.  The communication between students is still alive, however, because of the question forum, all students can see the questions of other students and pose answers, and the live sessions hosted biweekly by Dr. Kernion.

6.  I would say that for a student to do well in the course they have to have a couple of things.  The first obviously is a great work ethic.  Secondly, I think that the student must have at least an inkling of an interest in physics before taking the course.  If somebody is taking the course just to get a physics credit, then the content is too deep and the student will not be able to keep going if they dislike physics.  Thirdly, I think the student must be above average on in intellect in physics, even if they have a great work ethic.  Also, the student must be able to study from videos, as Dr. Kernion conveys the information through videos.  It is not just a videos, though, it is a power point as well, and the power point slides are excellent, they are not to basic or simple and they are not to distracting.  The power point aids greatly in learning the content.  

This is an amazing course!  Hope you can take it!

Stephen


Parent review - A+ teacher posted by Nicki Piersol-Freedman on May 14 2022 at 15:31:58

Dr. Kernion is everything you would want in a teacher: lively, engaging, and always interesting, coupled with his VAST knowledge of the subject matter, my daughter went from slightly anxious about physics to become really excited about the subject, continually announcing "I am really getting it!" thanks to Dr. Kernion's expertise and fine teaching methods. Highest recommendation!


Physics 1 and Physics 2 Review posted by Stephen Berg on May 14 2022 at 01:40:58


AP Physics 1 with Dr. Kernion posted by Mackenzie on July 14 2021 at 12:27:51

I would definitely recommend this class to anyone who is willing  to work hard in this rigorous science course. I found it difficult, but I really learned a lot and am very glad I took the course. I especially enjoyed the lab assignments, which were fun and a good way to understand new concepts by having to think through how different components fit together. 

Dr. Kernion was a great teacher who was very supportive. He was really patient and helped me when I struggled with the work. He answered all my questions, helping me to become better in the course. 


Excellent Physics Class posted by Liam on June 09 2021 at 16:25:14

I took the full-year version of AP Physics 1 with Dr. Kernion, and it was overall a great experience. I learned a lot, and felt very prepared for the AP exam. I usually put between 3-7 hours of work into the course per week, so the workload was generally not bad. The course got me interested in many physics topics, and Dr. Kernion was a very knowledgeable, understanding and helpful teacher. The other students and the message board were helpful as well. I would definitely recommend this course to other students who want a rigorous and challenging physics course that will prepare them very well for the AP exam.


As a mother of a student in Mr. Kernion's class posted by Tamar Herzog on June 06 2021 at 20:43:24

As a mother of a student in Mr. Kernion’s class I wanted to express my gratitude and admiration. My son Alexander is an A student and always had been, but he rarely enjoyed studying, and not often did he appreciate his teachers or held them in high regard. Yet, he found studying with Mr. Kernion a true joy, he thought classes were extremely well prepared and explained – they actually made sense, he remarked habitually—and his exchanges with Mr. Kernion were both extremely pleasant and incredibly interesting. Mr. Kernion answers queries quickly, he engaged fully with what is being asked or remarked, and he responds accordingly. He is by far the best high school teacher we have come across as a family. This is where admiration comes in but also gratitude: for after having studied with Mr. Kernion my son will never think about Physics, or for that matter of fact, science, the same way.


Fantastic Course with an Amazing Instructor posted by Joshua Schiller on May 17 2021 at 21:19:20

I have not taken the exam yet, as mine is scheduled for June. However, I feel that this course has fully prepared me for the AP exam and beyond. 

I put in an average of 10 hours per week, or 2 hours per weekday.

Yes, I found the lab assignments to be particularly helpful in understanding both the conceptual and technical side of the material. Working with real-life objects to apply what I learned has solidified my knowledge.

Absolutely. I have never been a huge fan of the sciences, but this course has simply been outstanding. Dr. Kernion's instruction has led me to be enthusiastic for learning more about physics.

Yes, communications with other students was immensely valuable. Having a study group to ask questions whenever they popped was always useful, and I appreciate the feedback and help that other students have afforded.

I believe any student who is willing to work hard and broaden their horizons would do well in this course. If you are a technically-oriented individual, that is a bonus!


Awesome class! posted by Leon Rapoport on May 09 2021 at 19:55:52

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?

Definitely. This course does an excellent job of covering all of the content that you will need on the AP Exam. Even better than that, the course has a very lengthy review period, and, honestly, if you follow the review schedule, it is really hard to not get a 4 or a 5 on the AP Exam just because the review completely and thoroughly covers all the material you will need for the AP Exam.
How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course?

So, before I say how many hours I spent on this class, a small disclaimer: I am naturally terrible at physics (and science in general). So, in order to get the grade that I wanted, I needed to work more hours. As the class went on, however, Dr. Kernion's teaching style proved to be very effective and I started to spend much less time on physics per day.

In the beginning of the year, I spent around 2 hours per day, possibly more if we had a tough assignment. However, a month or two in, the number started to go down, and for most of the year I only spent about 1-1.5 hours per day. Of course, for the review portion of the course, my number bounced back up to around 2 because of all the practice tests we need to take. 
Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

I would say that all of the labs and especially the inquiry-based labs were definitely very helpful and helped us prepare for the "experiment question" on the AP Exam. Other than that, all of the practice tests and other review material was super helpful as well.
Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

DEFINITELY. Like I said earlier, I naturally did not like science much, but after this course, honestly, I really like physics. I might even take some more advanced physics courses down the road. Dr. Kernion does an excellent job of making you interesting in physics.
Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable?

Yes, my classmates were generally very nice and interesting to talk to, especially during the live classes when we were separated into groups.
What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)?

I would highly recommend this course!! Remember that I was terrible at physics before this, and I was still able to get a very solid understanding of physics. If you are a determined and hardworking student, this class is for you. Even if you don't like physics, I bet you will fall in love with it by the end of the course. ;)

Some general notes:

Overall, I really enjoyed this course. Dr. Kernion is an excellent teacher who genuinely cares about both the success of the students and the actual subject at hand (aka physics). He has wrote out long and detailed solutions for me many, many times when I did not understand something and he would keep on explaining it until I finally understood it. Dr. Kernion also usually replies extremely quickly, no matter the time of day.

I would definitely recommend this course to anyone considering taking it. :)


Great physics course with incredible instructor! posted by Juliana Castillo on June 20 2020 at 21:53:38

This was an excellent, very thorough physics course. It was very intense, but does prepare you very well if you put in the work. Dr. Kernion is also one of the best instructors I've had on PAH (which is saying a lot because of the extremely high caliber of teaching here) - he puts so much work into the course and is always available to explain a concept until it makes sense to you.

I would warn anyone taking this course that it is A LOT of work. I've been able to keep up with all my other PAH AP classes (10) over three years of high school, including courses with very heavy workloads like AP Lang and AP Calc, but I found myself consistently falling behind in this course. It's definitely not impossible to stay on pace, but you have to be prepared to put in AT LEAST two hours of work daily. However, my struggle may not be universal - science has always been my weakest subject and I was taking several simultaneous classes in addition to preprofessional musical training. 

With that aside, the course is incredible. Dr. K created a custom website tailored to AP Physics that prepares students very thoroughly for the AP exam, but also imparts a thorough understanding of physics - both the how-to and the big ideas. The course is mostly video-centric, so if you're a visual or aural learner, this is great for you. If you learn best through books, you can purchase the companion OpenStax book - though it's very dense, it is helpful. The labs are great because they're generally conceptual, meaning you'll spend most of your time thinking and learning about physics rather than setting up equipment. 

There are also weekly class sessions - these are very useful, particularly if you have questions. Dr. K is excellent about providing helpful explanations and making sure you're secure in your understanding of the material. There's also no wasted time in these lab sessions - everything is very pertinent and topical. 

If you put in the work for this class, you will get a 4 or a 5 on the AP exam - however, simply completing all the work is extremely challenging, particularly if you struggle with the sciences. If you're taking this course, I'd recommend you allot a large chunk of time and not commit to several APs or challenging extracurriculars. However, learning the material is very rewarding - Dr. K ensures that everything you learn ties in to the real world and makes you a more educated, well-rounded person. He's also such an incredible teacher - he's supportive but not suffocating, and always puts in 100% to make sure every student succeeds if they put in the time and effort. 


Completely recommended posted by Tony Cole on June 10 2020 at 13:48:47

Two of my children have taken Jack's Physics I class (in different years) and I don't hesitate to say that he is an excellent teacher with a clear and well-organised course.  He also takes an admirably personal approach to his students, despite the online nature of the course, and was happy to do an individual session where it was needed, and got in touch with me when one of them seemed to be having trouble.  I don't hesitate to recommend Jack's courses to anyone looking at AP Physics.  He sets an excellent example for how online AP teaching should be done.


AP Physics 1 (Dr. Kernion) posted by Balaji Alagar on May 22 2020 at 24:55:15

The course prepared me very well for the AP exam.  Dr. Kernion is a great physics teacher, who teaches very well, and so I felt it very easy to prepare for the exam.  I put in around 2 hours of physics every day whether it be studying, doing labs, or doing tests/quizzes.  Most of the quizzes and tests were very fun to do as I was able to show how much work I put into each unit, and my grades represented that.  Before the course, I really did not know much about physics, but the course very much improved my understanding about the physics around us.  Although I did not participate in study groups with other students, it was enjoyable to collaborate with fellow students every live session on a physics problem.  Overall, communications with other students was very rewarding.  Students that want to understand the basics of physics and dip their toes into this field of science will do very well in this course.  I will absolutely recommend this course to others since Dr. Kernion is a great teacher with very good explanations for physics concepts.


Fabulous Physics Course posted by Laurel MacLeod on May 22 2020 at 14:15:52

Two of my children have taken AP Physics I with Jack Kernion - one in 2017-18 and one in 2019-20. They were extremely well-prepared for the AP exam and my oldest did so well in first semester college Physics that he was asked to considered a Physics major. Beyond their preparation for the exam, Dr. Kernion is a truly excellent instructor. He has developed an intuitive teaching method that works well for any organized and self-motivated student. You will not regret taking an AP class from Dr. Kernion.


Worth Every Penny! This is a Great Class! posted by Alan Dinerman on May 12 2020 at 22:05:52

Dr. Kernion is an amazing teacher! His engagement with his students is perfect; he skillfully balances a remarkable responsiveness with student latitude that encourages self - learning. He responds to both student and parent questions on any day of the week. My son participated in the year - long Physics I and II series. The course moves at a rapid pace and is challenging, but Dr. Kernion's patience, on-line sessions and course material very much ensure that the students are armed with the skills necessary to master the work and succeed on the AP exam. 

I absolutely recommend this class to any student that is willing to put in a little elbow grease.  


Great Class, Great Teacher posted by Sam Sooter on May 12 2020 at 21:30:55

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam?

This course definitely prepared me for the AP Physics 1 exam. There was an extensive, month-long course review at the end of the year that helped to firmly fix all of the content in my mind. 

How many hours of work per day or week did you generally put into this course?

I spent about 2 hours a day on this course (only on weekdays). The normal assignment sequence for each topic consisted of a pre-recorded video presentation, ungraded practice problems with worked out solutions, and one (or more) lab activities.

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable?

I enjoyed all of the assignments, but I especially enjoyed the challenge problems scattered throughout every unit and the false claim rebuttals at the end of each unit.

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject?

Yes, absolutely. I am now considering a physics major and will be taking AP Physics C through Dr. Kernion next year.

Did you find your communications with other students interesting or valuable?

Yes. I enjoyed all of the interaction with my fellow students through the discussion board and the live sessions.

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)?

A student that is driven and intellectually curious will do well in this course. If you are willing to put in the work, AP Physics through Dr. Kernion will prove very rewarding. I would recommend this course to other students. 


AP Physics 1 posted by Susan Davis on May 12 2020 at 21:06:32

This class was quite professional! It was set up in such a way that the students were able to be independent, while working through difficult material. The teacher was available and quite helpful for my student. She feels completely prepared going into the AP exam this week. She is consistently getting a five on all of her practice exams. I highly recommend this class! It was worth every penny!


INCREDIBLE AP Physics Courses posted by Kaeleigh D on July 10 2019 at 17:33:04

Taking on two AP physics courses in one year may seem like a very daunting task, but Mr. Kernion has set up these classes in a way that makes the learning straightforward, fun, and engaging. Throughout the year, I was always 100% confident that Mr. Kernion was teaching us everything we would need to know for the AP exam, and I was continually amazed at how much time and effort he was willing to put into the course. Along with recording all of the lectures and video labs ( that included AMAZING visuals to help us retain the information ), Mr. Kernion always answered all of my questions ( and I had a lot ) thoroughly and in a timely manor. He also set up a detailed schedule for us to review all of the material before the AP exam which was very helpful in keeping on track at a time of the year when it is easy to get burned out. I felt very prepared walking into both the AP Physics 1 and the AP physics 2 exams!

I probably put in an average of 6 to 7 hours a day. You should expect to have to put in a lot of time for review at the end of the year too.

I really liked some of the labs that we did, especially at the beginning of the year. Even though the recording of information sometimes took a while, I found that after I was finished the lab, an often very difficult concept had been burned into my memory, making it all worth while. I also really liked the unit on Nuclear and Atomic Physics. 

This is an incredible class, and I would absolutely recommend taking it! You definitely have to be willing to put in the time and ask questions, but if you love to learn, I'm sure you will thrive! Mr. Kernion is an amazing teacher, and he will help you out in any way to make sure that you understand the concepts. I can definitely say that I'm glad I took this course! 


Mr. Kernion was one of the best teachers I've had, and his class among my favorites. posted by Owen Johnson on June 17 2019 at 16:03:17

I thought I had a pretty good understanding of physics before I started this class. Thankfully, I had a lot to learn, and Mr. Kernion was an amazing teacher to learn from. His live classes were very helpful, allowing my classmates and myself to ask any questions about the material, while he explained and clairified all the more challenging concepts and problems from the previous and upcoming units. The class had a very good structure and pace, allowing us to learn all we needed before the AP exam. The pre-recorded videos on his website were all very informative, yet still being concise. I did put in more time for the class than I had done in previous classes I did at home, but everything made very good sense when I put in the work and used the resources Mr. Kernion made avaliable to us, such as the videos, live sessions, class discussion forum, study groups, and email. All in all, I would highly reccomend Mr. Kernion's AP Physics 1 class to any physics loving student!!


Perseverance, determination, and grit does pay off! posted by Katie on May 25 2019 at 03:04:32

I didn't understand all of what the word physics meant when I began this course last year. Now, I often find myself wondering what the force that is acting on a falling pinecone outside my window, or how fast the car I'm riding in is accelerating, among many other things!

This class was by far the hardest and most challenging feat that I have ever undertaken, as a student and person. I really struggled in the beginning of the year, and I deeply appreciated Mr. Kernion's kind and helpful support as I persevered through the material. Physics didn't begin to 'click' for me until about a third of the way through Unit 4, which came around for me in about December. Because I was having such difficulty understanding the material, I was behind for most of the first semester, and had to work my way back to where the rest of the class was. It was super tough for me to spend 3-4 hours a day trying to figure out concepts that weren't always clear to me, but I can say now that it was all worth it! This class instructed me so much about kinematics, Newton's Laws, conservation, momentum, waves, electricity, and much more, but it also taught me things like perseverance, grit, and not giving up when the odds seem to be all against you. Mr. Kernion suggested a tutor to help me, and that was one of the best things that came of this course! Because of her, physics became something that I no longer dreaded, but something I often looked forward to.

I would recommend this course to any hardworking student who has a love of learning, diligence to understand advanced concepts, and perseverance to push through adversity. Coming from a student who went from a D to an A over the course of the year, this class is worth it, and I am forever grateful for Mr. Kernion's kindness and support this year! My classmates and tutor were also amazing, and what I have learned from this class will last me for the rest of my life.


Incredible learning experience posted by Serene on May 15 2019 at 19:56:36

Yes! I would recommend putting in a lot of time during the review period, which is in April. But the review came super easily because Mr. Kernion did an amazing job emphasizing the key concepts throughout the year.

I think around 6-9 hours per week. The labs are the most time consuming (~1.5-2 hours each), next to the unit exams (which is expected).

The labs were always meaningful, and I loved learning from them and seeing physics concepts come to life.

Yes! It was really hard for me at the start of the year as I was not used to thinking in 3D (I struggled with inclines and even the difference between velocity and acceleration), but the course got easier as the year went on and I was able to pick up concepts faster.

I loved the "construct a experiment" and "describe an activity in physics terms" activities. Those really made me think and most students participated too. The Discussion board isn't the most active, but if you do ask a question it will certainly get answered promptly and completely either by Mr. Kernion or a fellow student. 

I'd recommend this to anyone who wants a solid introduction to physics! You must be willing to take on a challenge and grapple with unfamiliar concepts. That is how real learning is done! Mr. Kernion is an attentive and encouraging physics teacher who shared his extensive physics knowledge and I had a wonderful year of learning in his class!


An Amazing Teacher and a Career-Impacting Class posted by Josiah Brinson on May 13 2019 at 14:39:20

Having just completed Mr. Kernion's AP Physics I Full-Year course, I can sincerely say that it is the most amazing online course I have ever taken (and I've been taking online for six years). This entire year I have felt the strong and constant support of Mr. Kernion. He really does care for the education and well-being of his students, and he strives to help them succeed. He is also very quick to respond to emails and provides thorough and clear responses. I would highly recommend him as a teacher for his character and communication alone.

His course structure is also very helpful. He has divided the Physics I course into 7 units, and in each one, students watch presentations given by Mr. Kernion about a wide variety of topics, do virtual and hands-on labs, write scientific arguments, and take quizzes and tests. The presentations in particular are truly remarkable, and they accomplish so much more than a textbook ever could. I find Mr. Kernion's presentation approach to teaching concepts to be far more effective than if the material came from a textbook. Mr. Kernion also strongly emphasizes the Big Ideas (fundamental ideas that encapsulate all the material taught in the course) and he taught me how to approach complex problems. Due to all of this, I felt very, very confident about the AP exam.

If you're a student considering taking this course, you'll need to consider several things. First of all, this course will require you to work hard. I probably spent 8-10 hours per week on average doing homework and taking quizzes and tests. Mr. Kernion provides a pacing guide with a suggested amount of work for each day. You'll need to be dilligent and motivated in order to stay on pace. The course also takes perseverance. Many of these Physics problems can be quite challenging. But if you're willing to put in the effort, you will do perectly fine, and you will learn so, so much in the process. Mr. Kernion provides clear solutions to all the problems, and he's always ready to answer any questions you might have. When I took this course, I was able to get into a routine very quickly, and since everything is laid out in the pacing guides, the course work is very predictable.

Whether you are interested in Physics, or whether you have no idea if you like it or not, or whether you strongly dislike it, this course will absolutely make an impact on you if you take advantage of all the opportunities provided to you. I consider Mr. Kernion as a personal mentor, and I have loved this past year so much that I am self-teaching myself AP Physics 2 over 12 weeks this summer using his pre-recorded presentations, labs, and tests. I'm also taking Physics C Mechanics and E&M with him this fall. I hope to continue my studies in Physics in college an am strongly considering a career in Physics or Engineering.

I do hope you consider taking a class from Mr. Kernion. You will not regret it.


Best. Physics. Ever. (AP Physics 1) posted by Sandra Brickell on May 11 2019 at 22:13:45

This was a superb course.  It was an excellent fit for my son, who is very hands-on in his approach to learning, but who also likes to understand the theory behind his hands-on work.  By the end of the course he was making off-hand comments about the physics behind various everyday phenomena;  it was clear he had learned to "think in physics" the way one might learn to think in a new language.  Though he was somewhat interested in physics before he took the course, I think his interest was greatly enhanced by the practical, hands-on activities, and I was pleasantly surprised that he plans to take AP Physics 2 next year.  Things I particularly appreciated:

My son hadn't taken a previous physics course but still did well.  He is very strong in math, enjoys problem-solving, and is willing to work hard, and I think this helped as the course is quite demanding.  

Many thanks to Mr. Kernion and his staff.  This was a great blessing for my son.

 


A great course with great teacher! posted by Sean Lim on June 10 2018 at 16:00:39

The AP Physics exams are known to be amongst the most challenging of AP exams. This course is naturally challenging as well. But it is also extremely thorough, interesting, and can be unexpectedly enjoyable. Mr Kernion explains difficult concepts with great clarity in his presentations, and also includes helpful and engaging visuals in his slides. Also the many virtual labs and labs help students to understand the concepts in a more "hands-on" way. Mr Kernion is also always ready to answer physics questions, and he answers thoroughly and promptly. All in all, a great course to take for any students planning to take the AP Physics 1 and 2 exams!


Physics 2 posted by Indra Alagar on May 31 2018 at 16:24:51

I learned so much in Mr. Kernion's AP Physics 2 course! I found many of the topics challenging at first but very intriguing and applicable to the real-world. Although this course was definitely my hardest class this school year, I am very grateful I took it. Mr. K is an excellent lecturer, and he really explains the topics very thoroughly in a step-by-step fashion. I recommend viewing the lecture once to take it all in, and then going back to take notes. Also, for studying for tests and quizzes, I highly recommend going back to the lectures and pausing right after the practice problem is shown, in order to solve it by yourself. 

It may be helpful for students to have taken a chemistry course beforehand, because many of the concepts in the Thermodynamics and Nuclear Physics units deal with chemistry concepts. 

My favorite unit was Unit 2, Magnetism. Ironically, I also found this unit to be the most challenging! Concepts such as "Torque on a Loop," "Motion of a Charged Particle in a B-Field," and "Magnetic Force on a Current-Carrying Conductor" personally took me a lot of time to understand, especially with all the visuospatial skills involved. Howeover, I found learning these concepts to be very rewarding once they "clicked." 

I appreciated the emphasis on problem-solving in this course, as well as the knowledge I gained about the history of physics from the context of various physicists' experiments. 

Overall I felt very prepared for the AP Exam, especially because of the realistic FRQ assignments after final exam in each unit. A hardworking, driven, and curious student would succeed in this course. 


AP Physics 1 posted by Meghna Gaddam on May 27 2018 at 02:51:52

The class structure is great and you will learn a lot! The lectures are thorough, every activity really helps re-emphasize concepts, and I felt very prepared for the AP exam. A student who is organized, hard working, and has the patience to learn difficults concepts will do very well. Mr.Kernion is a great teacher, and I couldn't have asked to learn physics a better way!


Physics 1 full year posted by Daniel Coile on May 26 2018 at 23:51:09

This class was great. I enjoyed the assignments, and I thought they were helpful for the AP exam.  The schedule was difficult, but the deadlines were easy to make (at the end of each unit there's a deadline for all the work to be submitted by, which is a week after the schedule suggests, so it's pretty easy to stay on task). I worked around 6 to 10 hours a week on this class, but in retrospect, I did not finish every one of the labs, although I completed most, and made sure I conceptualy understood the few I missed. I thought the class did the best job with the first several units about kinematics and newton's laws, but the other units were still great, I just felt like I ended up understanding kinematics and newton's laws the strongest after the class. Overall, this was a great year, and I would reccomend this class for anyone interested in Physics and, of course, is willing to work hard. 


Excellent Physics 1 & 2 Class! posted by Kyle Fang on May 24 2018 at 06:52:31

Students learn by reading the textbook and watching videos made by Mr. Kernion. Mr. Kernion is a great teacher who understands all the important things students need to know for the AP exams. In his videos, he utilizes many graphs, drawings, labs, and pictures to help explain difficult concepts.

The class is very organized, and the website instructions are very easy to follow. You learn each concept, complete some virtual activities, and practice questions provided by Mr. Kernion and from the textbook. I also appreciate the live sessions Mr. Kernion provides every other week. Even though the time conflicted with my math class, I was able to watch the recordings. Mr. Kernion is also very responsive to our questions and understanding when I occasionally need an extension. I enjoyed taking the class and learned a lot about Physics!

 

 


AP Physics 1 Review from a Grateful Student posted by Trevor A. Babb on May 14 2018 at 23:41:35

This course is very detailed and thorough, explaining each topic and its nuances.  I was a little concerned that I would not do well on the AP exam, but once I started taking it, I realized how well this course prepared me.  The questions Mr. Kernion asks us to answer are more difficult than the questions that appear on the AP exam.  There was not a single question on the AP exam that I could not confidently answer or at least make an educated guess on.

In order to complete this course, I spent approximately six hours weekly to fully cover the material.  This course has enhanced my interest in physics and I intend to take a harder physics course next year.  I would recommend this course to anyone willing to put the effort in.


AP Physics 1 posted by Megan Kolbe on July 14 2017 at 15:47:01

THroughout this course, Mr. Kernion provided a variety of homework assignments, lab activities, and assessments to help each student learn in his or her own way.  I felt compeltely prepared for each quiz and test and was able to enjoy the rigorous course as well.  Expect to spend around 90 minutes per day (on average, depepnding on the day's work) working on the course material.  After taking this course, I am interested in physics and excited to further my understanding of the subject.


posted by Leo B on June 12 2017 at 13:23:12

Parent's review

Mr Kernion's course was very good and my son felt well prepared for the AP exam. As other students have reported, the actual exam is less challenging than the work covered by Mr Kernion. That is a good thing to remember as you go through the course. I suggest getting a practice book and lookng through it as you go; it should give you confidence that you have mastered what is needed.

The hours varied. Initially trying to do all the practice problems in the text book took hours and hours in addition to the course work. We eventually realized that a few questions of each type is enough. The course work took 6 to 12 hours a week. Usually it was the lab sessions that could take up a lot of time. My son is an athelete, and often needed to work ahead to clear time for his travel schedule. This course was excellent from that point of view. The work is all there ready to do, so you can make the timing work for you. 

I'd say the labs were pretty good.  I acted as a lab partner and I don't think my son missed out at all on being in standard high school class. It is impressive how the principles of physics can be illustrated so well with (mostly) basic household materials. 

This was my son's first physics course. He found the it challenging and sometimes grueling, but when he revisited the material during the review period, it all seemed much more straight forward and things he had struggled with first time around were no problem at all. By exam day, he had a kind of "I've got this" attitude to Physics 1 and he will be continuing with Mr Kernion this coming year.

 Athletic commitments meant that joining any study groups wasn't really practical.

We would definitley recommend this course.

Aside from accomodating athletic commitments, my son has dyslexia and a couple of related issues, so as a homeschool parent, I needed quite a bit of advice.   I felt we had Mr Kernion's wholehearted support making Physics 1 work for us. Mr Kernion was also very responsive to frequent questions from my son about the course material. He seemed so willing to help, we never felt reluctant to ask. 

 


AP Physics 1 Review posted by Stephen Wolf on May 15 2017 at 13:54:59

This course did a really good job focusing on the material for the AP exam and preparing me for success on the exam.  Personally, I wish there would have been more review during the school year, because I was really rusty on the earlier units when it came time for AP Exam review in April.  

I spent a good 15-16 hours a week on AP Physics.  This was probably the one class that took up most of my time every week.  It's not necessarily that the material is hard to understand, but that there is just so much material to cover.  However, what material we did cover, we covered thoroughly and Mr. Kernion helped us to understand it really well.  

A student who is willing to spend a lot of time on this course really trying to understand the material will do very well.  I would certainly recommend this course to anyone who is thinking about Physics because I know that Mr. Kernion does a great job teaching it.  


AP Physics 1 is Well Worth the FdcosŤ! posted by Kendall M. on May 14 2017 at 21:45:28

I had a wonderful experience taking AP Physics 1 with Mr. Kernion this past year. Mr. Kernion is an expert at explaining physics concepts in a clear and engaging way, and his detailed presentations, coupled with an arsenal of example problems, made understanding each topic straightforward and incredibly fun. I tended to spend an average of about three hours per day and fifteen hours per week studying for this course (though a good majority of that time I spent furiously copying notes while the presentations were paused, since few people are slower writers than me). Since the work for this class is due in large chunks, I highly recommend this class particularly to students comfortable with managing their own pace. After preparing with this course’s rigorously engaging curriculum over the past year, I felt thoroughly confident going into the AP exam that I’d already seen and worked through almost every possibly type of AP question more than once.

This was my first time ever enrolling in a physics course, and it was within the first week of taking Mr. Kernion's class that I decided I loved the field; physics is such a cool science in that it combines conceptual mathematics and real world applications in the most fascinating way, as I’ve recently discovered. Mr. Kernion is an exceptional teacher, and I am so grateful to have received such a compelling introduction to the world of physics.


AP Physics 1 Full Year Course posted by Maia Machiela on May 14 2017 at 02:10:58

This was definitely a challenging course for me, so if you're looking for an easy A, this is not the class for you. But, if you're willing to put in the work, I think you would enjoy it. Overrall, I probably spent around 9-12 hours a week on this class—sometimes more depending on the concepts. As to the presentation of material, Mr. Kernion does a great job of teaching the material and giving you so many and varied opportunities for practice. Due to this, I felt prepared going into the AP Exam. Mr. Kernion had actually suggested participating in a peer-to-peer study group and I ended up leading one of the groups which I found extremely helpful because I was able to talk about the topics with people at the same learning level as me.

I will be completely honest and tell you that I seriously considered dropping the class at the beginning of the year (around mid-October) but when I emailed Mr. Kernion about it, he encouraged me and provided support that ultimately made me decide to stick with the class. I'm so glad I did. Throughout the year, I felt completely comfortable asking Mr. Kernion anything pertaining to the class and he always responded in an easy-to-understand manner.  Mr. Kernion is passionate about teaching students and if you prove that you care and are willing to work, he will go above and beyond to make sure you understand the material. Overrall, I thoroughly enjoyed the class and I learned a lot which will definitely help me in college. 


AP Physics 1 Review posted by Arvinder Oswal on May 13 2017 at 20:57:28

The AP1 course was an introductory Physics course for my son as he had done some Physical Science earlier. This course thoroughly prepared my son for the AP Physics 1 exam. In fact, my son remarked that the review material for the class was harder than the actual exam.

My son generally worked for 2 hours every day (Mon-Fri). He liked most of the labs and the multiple choice questions. Younger students sometimes need to work harder at the FRQs. My son has always liked the Sciences. He now loves Physics and will continue on to AP Physics 2 in the near future.

I would recommend this course for students who are self driven as the course requires effective time management of deadlines. Also, the FRQs require a good understanding of the concepts behind the Physics.

In summary, Prof Kernion is an outstanding instructor. His response to our email questions was always less than a few minutes. He enjoys teaching and this is evident from the energy he brings to the bi-weekly, live group sessions.

 


AP Physics 1 Review posted by Megan K. on May 03 2017 at 13:39:42

This course was well structured and made it easy for me to gain an understanding of the concepts.  Adequate time was spent on each topic, and I feel the course was taught at a challenging but not oerwhelming pace.  Mr. Kernion's presentations are detailed and clear, and the virtual activities give visual representations of the concepts that are very helpful.  Any student who is willing to devote time to practice and extra practice will do well in this course, as I feel that the key to fully understanding the material is repetition.  Mr. Kernion is a wonderful and patient teacher and I feel his class helped prepare me for college level science courses.


Testimomials from former students. posted by Jack Kernion on February 18 2016 at 11:54:28

Since this is my first year on the faculty of PA Homeschoolers, I thought I might post a few testimonials from former students.

"Mr. Kernion is truly an amazing physics instructor! He makes usually difficult concepts seem very straightforward with many examples and practice problems."
-Former student, Lily Z., Harvard University

"Mr. Kernion promotes a deep comprehension of the subject material through his incredibly detailed lessons. His teachings gave me a genuine appreciation of physics as well as fives on both AP Physics C tests! He is a master teacher whose passion for physics has helped his students succeed on the AP tests for over a decade.
-Former student, Nick S., University of Pittsburgh

"Many physics instructors lose the big picture by getting tangled up in calculations, but Mr. Kernion maintains his focus on the important aspects that make physics so essential. I was lucky enough to have Mr. Kernion as a teacher, and his website conveys the same enthusiasm and insight that he brought to the classroom every day. The road to physics success is never totally frictionless, yet Physics Prep is an ideal way to undertake the journey."
-Former student, Tommy M., Yale University

"This course is a detailed and engaging instruction that provides the methodology for answering any AP Physics test question. Because of Mr. Kernion's extensive knowledge of physics and superb grasp on language and technology, the class left me with a deep, long-lasting understanding of the big ideas in physics so that no cramming was necessary to be successful on the AP test and that stayed with me in college classes."
Former student, Katie S., Penn State Honors

"We had Mr. Kernion for AP Physics C our senior year, and we can't imagine a better teacher! He made difficult concepts easy to understand with his clear explanations and interesting analogies. The way he organizes his lectures makes it so easy to take good notes that are easy to review during test time. What's also really nice is that Mr. Kernion has a genuine passion for physics, and he always manages to transfer that enthusiasm to his students. Tests are very fair, and his course prepared us very well for both the AP test and college physics courses. We were very lucky to have a physics teacher like Mr. Kernion!"
-Former students, Anjali P., CalTech and Carol W.,The University of Pennsylvania

"Mr. Kernion's ability to present difficult concepts in an accessible way gave me a very solid foundation in physics over my two years in his classes. He is able to instill deep understanding of topics through clear explanation, contextual information, and abundant examples. A large portion of the credit for my three AP 5's goes to Mr. Kernion's class."
Former student, Michael M., from Carnegie Mellon University

I really think that this course will be able to help a lot of students prepare for the AP Physics exams, whether they use it as the primary source for the course or as a supplement to traditional schooling.
-Former student, Mike B., from Penn State Honors

 


Return to the class description
Return to the AP Online Test Preparation Classes Home Page