Pennsylvania Homeschoolers

AP* Online Classes

Now I can open up the Washington Post and actually understand an article on the science behind new cancer treatments, or estimate how much of a seed’s energy eventually reaches a hawk. 

AP Class Reviews

AP U.S. History taught by Lisa Hawkins

by Students and Parents

One of My Favorite Classes posted by Mason Stempel on July 27 2018 at 19:35:42

This class was amazing! I took APUSH during my sophomore year in high school, and it was definitely my most challenging course. But that is what made it the most rewarding! 

Mrs. Hawkins did a fantastic at making sure the workload of the class would prepare us enough for the exam. The work was rigorous sometimes, but that just helped me grow and made me more prepared for the equally as rigourous exam! I got a 5 on my APUSH exam, so I would like to say this class prepared me extensively for it. :) 

Being my most challenging class this past school year, I did spend most of my time on this class. A large chunk of my day was dedicated to APUSH, but that is not a con--it is a pro. You need to spend an adequate amount of time on this subject in order to understand all of the complexities of it. The CTAPs especially require a good amount of time to work on, but that is all for the betterment of the student's ability to write APUSH exam essays!

I have always had a fondness for the histories and humanities, but this class enhanced my love of history tenfold. The different resources (videos, essays) available to students, and the various discussions really allow the student to learn under many different perspectives. I loved the communication aspect of the class. This class is not just turning an assignment in to the teacher, but it is interacting with your fellow classmates to achieve a deeper understanding of the subject. The discussion questions and student forums really enhanced my learning experience.

Any student who is willing to go the extra mile and put their best work forward will excel in this class. Hard work is the key, and the more effort you put into this class, the more value you get out. I recommend this class 100%! It was one of my favorite classes this year and I am so thankful I had the opportunity to take it. Take this class!!! :)))


Amazing Class! posted by Madeline on July 15 2018 at 12:59:18

First of all: this is definitely one of the best classes I have ever taken. I highly reccomend it to everybody--I have never been much interested in US History and never realized how much I was missing out on. I now feel enormously informed and understanding about our country, its history, and why it is where it is now compared to a year ago, and feel a much better, more engaged, citizen of the world. It also inspired me more about taking action in our country to work for improvement in ways I had never thought of before. Thank you Mrs. Hawkins! I feel that I have received an essential, wonderful, and inspiring part of my education I never realized I was missing before.

Now to answer the questions:

Did you feel this course prepared you for the AP exam? Absolutely. I got a 5--you have to work hard, but Mrs. Hawkins sets you up wonderfully.

How many hours of work per day/week did you generally put in? You know I don't really know, but I can tell you it was the most time-consuming of all my classes last year. There were assignements every day, lots of reading and writing every week, many lectures, etc. The workload, while manageable, is not trivial. I felt that doing it every day was essential to it being manageable for me.

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable? Every week you had to post on a discussion board, and on the second week of every month (rank the blank) you had the option to do this as a specific historical character. So fun! I giggled maniacally while I penned these--they didn't feel like an assignment at all. Especially fun was responding in character to other people's :)

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject? Absolutely. Now, being armed with more knowledge, I am always interested in American History stuff because I know the background and I'm into it now--like my mom wanted to take a field trip to Greensboro to see the Civil Rights museum there, and before I would've gone because it sounded cool and interesting, but now I was super excited and nerding out because I'd learned about it, knew its history and importance in the Civil Rights Movement, etc.

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable? Yes. This was secondary for me, as academically I am more a lone wolf and just like interacting with the teacher, but, especially on many of the more complicated topics she asked us to take a stand on, discuss, etc. on the discussion boards, it was really interesting to, after having grappled with it myself, see how other people had thought about it.

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to ther students (if they are willing to work hard!)? A student who is commited to getting up every day and doing the work again, to managing their time and being disciplined, would do well in this course. It has a lot to offer but only if you have the self-discipline to get it done, even though sometimes the reading is boring and long, or you think if you do another academic writing assignment you'll die. But it's definitely worth it. I would certainly recommend this course to other students (I am trying to get my little brother to take it in a couple of years).

 


APUSH Review posted by Camille Eastin on May 17 2018 at 13:37:33

I really enjoyed Mrs. Hawkins class. Of course, the material was a challenge but she does I nice job of guiding you through the reading and will always provide a video lecture on the most important topics. One of the best things about the class for me was how helpful and collaborative Mrs. Hawkins was when I was going to miss a deadline due to dance or other conflicts. The work load is significant and will require your time AND attention, but it is by no means unmanagable. I took the APUSH exam this past Friday and felt pretty good! I knew the stucture of the essays and was able to remember some of the class tips. One thing I would change about the class is the format of the test. As of right now, they are all MCQ's. I think I could have done better if I could gain a couple points from a short answer question at the end of the test (maybe even just as extra credit!) That being said, the dreaded MCQ tests helped prepare me for the 55 MCQ's on the exam... Overall, I learned a lot from APUSH and would recommend any hard-working student or history enthusiast to take this class. 


APUSH Class Review posted by Yesun Kim on May 07 2018 at 17:13:22

This class thoroughly prepareed me for the AP exam. The teacher herself is an actual AP grader and she assigned us various projects and assignments that helped us develop historial thinking skills and analytical insights, which not only prepared us for the exam, but also become better thinkers and writers. On average, I put about 7-10 hours per week on this course, and my favorite assignment was CTAP essays. Though it required a lot of thinking, effort and time, I was able to really grow in my historical thinking skills through this, and the feedback the teacher gave was very helpful. The course definitely enhanced my interest in the subject; in the beginning, I was not really interested in learning U.S. History at all, but as she explained many dynamics, controversies and patterns in the U.S. history, I became more interested in the subject. I also found my communications with other students very valuable; we had weekly discussions and we were required to provide feedback to at least two other students' posts, and it was really interesting and enlightening to see other classmates' perspectives on a particular historical issue. I believe that any student who is ready to work hard and challenge himself/herself to go deeper in learning the subject (not merely preparing for the exam) would do perfectly well in this class, and I would strongly recommend this class to anyone who is planning on taking the AP U.S. course.


AP US History with Lisa Hawkins posted by Sydney DeVore on May 07 2018 at 16:47:06

Excellent teacher feedback and engaging course materials. The teacher works for the college board and  is a grader for the APUSH exam, so her feecdback was extremely valued. Plenty of time to prepare for APUSH exam, and test prep is an integral part of the course. 


Parent Review posted by Leo B on June 12 2017 at 20:27:00

This was an excellent course. My daughter who has just graduated with a bachelors in History was intrigued and somewhat envious of her brother's AP course. My son is a athlete who travels frequently. He has dyslexia and related issues, and from Ms Hawkins' first reply to my tentative email asking if he might succeed on her course, she was very supportive, and offered a lot of helpful information and advice.

The material and assignments are interesting. Since reading and writing aren't the easiest thing for my son, a course has to hold his attention for him to feel it is worth the struggle, and he really did enjoy this one. Ms Hawkins helped us make it work for him, with insight and suggestions. Somehow she could tell the difference between when he knew his material and was struggling with the writing, and when he hadn't grasped the concepts. I was surprised when his first graded essay was extensively marked up with comments, and Ms Hawkins continued to give substantial feedback on many assignments throughout the course. My son received far more guidance than when he was in a standard high school. We really are grateful to Ms Hawkins for a very successful education in history.

This could have been the least flexible of my son's online APs as it had the most fixed due dates, but we made it work. He was able to work ahead to accommodate his travel and Ms Hawkins put up some assignments early so that he could get everything done ahead of his longer trips. Discussion posts needed to be done in real time. The students seemed to really enjoy the discussions, and when time was at a premium for us, writing his posts was an engaging enough activity for my son to get it done on a long journey or during hours spent on the team bus at venues. The units are 4 weeks long and follow a regular pattern, so you know what kinds of activities will be in each of the 4 weeks. That means we knew for each coming week approximately what the workload would be, which we found very helpful.

The tests at the end of each unit are multiple choice. My son studied for them by using a combination of the chapter summaries and the online outline of the text book. It was an effective combination for him. We used printed versions on the outline as a framework for note taking.  

We would definitely recommend this course

 

 

 


Challenging course posted by Isabelle Alessi on May 16 2017 at 22:53:15

This course thoroughly prepared me for the AP US History Exam.  It also was one of the hardest courses I have ever taken.  I spent about 8-10 hours a week on homework.  Be mentally prepared for a lot of work!  I wrote copious amounts of essays and discussions for this course, and my writing and analytical skills have improved because of all of the writing assignments.  Mrs. Hawkins gave helpful feedback.  Students should be self driven if they want to excel in this course.  It was stressful, but I am glad I took the class. 


Great Class, Great Teacher posted by Joanna Kim on May 08 2017 at 15:25:12

Personally, I've always loved history and, prior to taking this class, I had already taken AP European history, but this class has definitely reached the top of my list of classes as one of the most informative, engaging, and helpful classes I have ever taken. 

From the outset, I was impressed by how well-designed the course was in and of itself. Each unit was designed in the same way, allowing for me to schedule and plan accordingly ahead of time for each week (especially because the workload varies week to week). The textbook in this class reads like a book and is thus very interesting to go through and easy to learn from. All of the lectures (both from Mrs.Hawkins and from the Teaching Company or the Annenberg Lectures) are extremely informative and to-the-point, cutting out the unnecessary fluff and delving into the meat of history that is going to be tested on the exam. The discussions were thought-provoking and eye-opening as I interacted with my diverse set of classmates, who each contributed their own worldview and opinion in a respectful, interesting manner on the forums. 

When I think of the assignments which defined my APUSH experience, I think of the CTAPs and the Projects. The CTAPs contributed the most to the AP prep part of the course (in my opinion), because they forced me to learn to analyze tons of historical primary sources and docs and incorporate the knowledge from the docs into a cohesive historical argument. Seriously, the hard work and time you put into the CTAPs definitely pays off. After writing so many CTAPs (not to mention the end of the yeat DBQs and LEQs meant to prep specifically for the test), I felt very confident going into the free response portion of the test. This class definitely helped me refine and polish my historical writing skills, as Mrs. Hawkins' feedback smoothed out the rough spots in my writing style/argument development. Also, the Projects throughout the year left a lasting impression of how interesting and relevant history can be. I loved the variety of assigments which appeared throughout the year on the Projects, whether it be in watching lectures on the Gilder Lehrman website or researching concrete examples which examined the relationship between the three branches of government. Overall, the assignments were just the right mix of interesting, engaging, yet stimulating and work-requiring (basically, you have to put the time and work to keep up with the class, but the process is interesting and the end result is very rewarding!).

This class has greatly enhanced my interest in history and has given me a firm foundation from which I can confidently tackle other AP history classes in the future. The class did a great job of preparing me for the AP test, I did not have to do too much outside prep for the AP test and I felt very composed and prepared as I was taking the test (everything in the class works to prepare you for the test! All of the assignments, essays, even discussions contributed to improving some historical skill that was tested on the exam.

Anyone who is interested in history, is willing to put in the time and effort into keeping up with the assignments and reading, and desires to improve their historical writing skills will do well in this course! I highly recommmend this course to anyone who fits the description above! Mrs. Hawkins is a great teacher (and she KNOWS what she is doing) and I'm so thankful that I was able to form a relationship with my teacher even without having live classes!

 


One of the best classes I've ever taken posted by Alexander Deatrick on May 21 2015 at 18:25:00

APUSH with Mrs. Hawkins has been one of the most enjoyable and informative classes I've taken, period. I have learned so much about American history, but I was most impressed with how much my writing and thinking skills improved.

This is a time consuming class, there's no doubt about it. It's really important to pace yourself, because the reading will add up very quickly if you don't do a bit every weekday. What's more, there is always a substantial weekly assignment: practice AP multiple choice questions, essays, presentations, and the chapter tests are all examples. Luckily, Mrs. Hawkins provides a detailed daily schedule to help make sure it's easy to manage your APUSH time. I ended up spending about 2 hours a day on weekdays, with about an hour (or sometimes a lot more if I didn't have time to do an essay during the week) a day on the weekends.

To summarize, you will work hard in Mrs. Hawkins APUSH, but there's no busy work. It's all good material, and she presents it effectively. I'm very grateful for all the feedback I received on my writing, which I think has made me much more prepared for college. I would highly recommend this class to anyone who has a passion for learning both history and how to think better.


Possibly the Hardest (but Also Possibly the Best) APUSH Class Online posted by Sarah on May 12 2015 at 18:09:12

Most certainly.  I've heard APUSH is one of the hardest AP exams, but after taking this class I had plenty of practice and felt I had a good grasp of the information.  Anyone who survives this course should be one of the best prepared students in all of the world. :)     

I would say about one to two hours a day.  It's a time consuming class, and any students considering it should make sure they have enough time in their schedule.

Analyzing primary documents can be long and hard, but it really helped me prepare for the exam and gave me new insights in the study of history.  One of my favorite parts of this course was learning how to approach a document and analyze how the author's biases and motives affected him/her.   

I've always liked history, but I never knew very much about US history prior to taking this course.  My appreciation for US history has definitely grown.  I don't plan on becoming a history major at this point, but this class has helped me look forward to college level history classes I will take in the future.

Yes.  The students were very insightful and brought thought provoking questions and comments to the class discussions.  Of course not everyone had the same opinions, but everyone's ideas were treated with respect.  It was an honor to interact with such intellegent students, and they encouraged me to push myself to new levels.

When I first read reviews about this class, I had trouble believing it was really as hard as everyone said.  Well, it actually is.  Mrs. Hawkins is not kidding when she calls this a college level class.  If you don't enjoy reading or writing, then this probably isn't a good class for you, as this course is very heavy in those areas.

However, APUSH is well worth the work.  Mrs. Hawkins is an excellent teacher and she helped me grow in my analytical, historical, and writing skills.  Out of all the high school classes I've taken so far, I feel that this one prepared me the most for college.  This course is probably a lot harder than your average APUSH course, but I wouldn't trade this class for any other.  If you want a challenge and are willing to work hard, then I would reccomend this for you.


posted by Josephine Stockwell on June 13 2014 at 03:12:05

I thoroughly enjoyed having Mrs. Hawkins as my teacher for APUSH. The class prepared me well for the exam, although there was some modern information we did not cover as thoroughly as the rest of the material.

I loved having the discussion forums, to engage thoughtfully, with peers. Such conversation is very stimulating, although it does not come up in my day to day conversations all the time, so it was nice to relay on some good thinking time, a few times a week. The CTAPS were also great, because it brought more depth to certain topics, such that I remembered them better.

I created a study group with 2 classmates, and I found that very helpful. First, because it was nice to engage with other classmates live, in an otherwise online setting, and second, because we learned from each other about APUSH and about life.

The course definitely enhanced my interest in history and my understanding of American history and culture. I gained a lot of perspective and insight about current issues, through learning historical issues.

I would 1000% recommend this course to other students.


Looking for a great APUSH course?.....Look no further! posted by Annie R on June 12 2014 at 13:13:51

Looking for a great APUSH course?.....Look no further!  

Wondering what the workload is like? 

The workload was challenging, but enjoyable. I usually put in ten to twelve hours a week. Be prepared to work very hard if you want to do well in this class! The class was broken into units, each unit lasting a month. The first week, a summary of a chapter from a book called After the Fact was due; the second week, two essays based on documents from a book called Constructing the American Past were due; the third week, two more document essays from the same book and a project were due; and the last week was reserved for tests. Throughout the month, there were required textbook and primary source readings, lectures, and discussion questions, as well as many extra credit options.   

And the best things about this class? 

One of the best things was definitely listening to lectures, both the ones Mrs. Hawkins created and the Teaching Company lectures she provided for us. I had not listened to lectures in previous history courses, and in this class, I realized how beneficial it was. I learned a lot of useful, extra information in these lectures that really helped me on the AP exam. Another assignment that I loved was reading After the Fact chapters. It was so interesting to learn about different historical techniques, as well as different historians’ perspectives.  

What about preparing for the AP Exam? 

The final unit of this course, in the month of April, was devoted exclusively to AP exam prep. During this last four-week period, we wrote many APUSH-style essays (actual essays taken from the CollegeBoard) and took APUSH-style multiple choice exams.   

Waiting until the last month to write APUSH essays was something I had not done in previous history courses. In other courses, I was used to writing AP-style essays every two weeks or so from October onward, soon after reading the material on which the essays were based. I have to say that I really enjoyed and benefited from Mrs. Hawkins’ approach! That’s because, by the time April rolls around, you've accumulated and mastered the information, and this helps you to write very effective AP essays. 

What about Mrs. Hawkins herself? 

Mrs. Hawkins is an amazing teacher! She clearly loves the subject matter and is dedicated to giving constructive criticism and positive feedback, all with a terrific sense of humor. Next year the course will be restructured and the exam will be different; however, I am confident Mrs. Hawkins will make next year's class as excellent as this year's, and probably even better! She is very hands-on and always responded quickly to my emails. Mrs. Hawkins also happens to be an APUSH essay grader. This is enormously helpful. When she graded my AP essays in April, she did so in the same way that she would have on a real exam and I got a good idea of where I stood on the essays and felt super prepared for the exam in May. 

I hope you choose to take this course. If you are willing to work hard, it may be one of the most memorable AP classes you'll ever take!


APUSH with Lisa Hawkins posted by Nicole Halverson on June 09 2014 at 15:31:50

I would like to reccommend Ms. Hawkins for the APUSH course because I felt very well prepared for the AP Exam this past May.  The course schedule was easy to follow and consistent on the amount of homework assigned each day.  Although some aspects of the course were difficult at the start, i.e. ctap essays and module exams, Ms. Hawkins was always there to help and provide useful tips on how to significantly improve.  She uploaded specific instructions on each assignment which were helpful when I needed guidance.  The assignments per unit are spaced out well with respect the amount of time required everyday.  Generally, I spent 1-2 hours on the homework and an extra hour or so of daily study prep for the module tests.  I found that the writing assignments were challanging, but without them, I might not have been as well-prepared for the APUSH exam.  This was a comprehensive course on United States History and I felt the curriculum and presentations were interesting.  Nevertheless, this course was challanging and pushed me to do my best.  Sometimes I had to work extremely hard.  Ms. Hawkins provided a well-structured course and because of that, I was able to succeeed.  


Review of Mrs. Hawkins' AP US History course posted by Barret Ham on June 09 2014 at 15:25:52

This class was both challenging and rewarding.  Not only did I feel well prepared for the APUSH exam, but also I gained an increased understanding of how to think about history.  The multitudes of writing assignments continually required me to consider events from a historian's perspective, examining motives and actions for new and more insightful interpretations.  Mrs. Hawkins provided us with a variety of sources and lectures from acclaimed professors which gave us increased understanding of the subjects at hand.  I did spend a significant amount of time completing this class's large workload.  I worked harder for the grade I received than I have in any other class, and I spent an average of 12-15 hours a week on the material, though this amount tended to vary from one week to another.  I would certainly recommend this course to any student who wishes to enhance his or her understanding of history and who is willing to put in the required work. 


U.S. History plus so much more! posted by Kim M. on June 08 2014 at 18:37:41

We were looking for a class that would prepare our daughter for the AP US History exam as well as prepare her for what college classes would be like.  This class was a perfect fit for us.  

 
Mrs. Hawkin's approach to US History and the class requirements are very similar to what a student might expect in a college classroom setting.  Mrs. Hawkin's lectures are informative and concise.  They are not simply a recitation of the facts or a spoon feeding material on the test.  She encourages students to think beyond the simple timelines of history.  Students are challenged to consider why events occurred, how social, politic, and cultural events weave together and effect decisions and movements.  Mrs. Hawkins was very present and approachable throughout this class.  She responded quickly and helped guide students when they had questions. Her class requirements are very clear and her grading was consistent and fair.  In the end, our daughter walked into the AP exam confident in her knowledge and ability to take the test.
  
This course had other added benefits beyond simply preparing my daughter for the AP exam.  
 
Suddenly my daughter's view of current events changed dramatically.  By Christmas she began reading the newspaper at breakfast every morning and discussing world events with us.  She wanted to understand why conflicts occurred and what situations led to local and national laws being passed.  Through the group discussions she was challenged to debate issues with students from around the globe with varying belief systems and views.  This taught her to be open minded about others views and to carefully communicate her own views in a way that was respectful.  
 
We found through this class our daughter improved her planning and organizational skills.  She couldn't just do the assignment the night before the due date or cram for the exam and get the grade she wanted.   This class requires daily practice and study.  This is not your average high school course, in terms of workload.  She would spend an average of 12-15 hours of work on this class per week.
 
Lastly, this class taught her how to write a college level essay.  Mrs. Hawkins spent the entire last unit of the class coaching the students on how to write an essay.  After this unit my daughter took the SAT and ACT plus writing exams with confidence and received very high marks.  She attributes this to the preparation Mrs. Hawkins gave in her class.  She is now confident in writing college entrance essays.
 
If we had to do it over again we would enroll in this class.  The benefits she received extend far beyond simply US History.


Understanding the Narrative of American History posted by Morgan D. on June 07 2014 at 19:35:14

I. loved. this. class.

I have loved History for as long as I could remember, however, I have a strong distaste for the Ancient and Medieval eras. Therefore, I opted for US History instead of World, and I am SO thankful that I did. I am also so thankful that God directed me to Mrs. Hawkins. She was an absolutely amazing teacher and somehow she was able to make me laugh while handing me the long list full of the Unit's assignments. She understands us High Schoolers and how we think, she is prompt to respond to questions, and she is eager to help whenever an SOS is thrown her way.

I would highly recommend this class to someone and as a matter of fact I already have!! While this class is not for the faint of heart, anyone who is willing to work hard is sure to exceed. There is so much room for extra credit learning and "fun" assignments. You do have to eat the dreaded broccoli (in this case, CTAP assignments), but the dessert (the fun unit projects like movie reviews, evaluations, and documentary assignments) were always there too. The work load was heavy, but I did not find it unreasonable. The AP prep unit (boot camp) was also very helpful! I would highly suggest that all students take advantage of the extra credit work as it helped me feel so much more prepared for the exam.

Another thing to note is the great deal of writing required. In fact, there was more writing in APUSH than English Lang. and Comp., so being at least semi-confident in writing is a great thing. However, either way this course will help stimulate growth in that area.

My father is in the military so my family and I are stationed overseas in the Former Soviet Union. This was actually great in many ways (like living in a live museum), but there were also some hard things about it. The time zone was definitely one of them, but Mrs. Hawkins was understanding. So, military kids in the US and overseas who can't seem to stay put very long, this course could definitely work for you! The same applies for other foreign students wishing to take AP exams. You may have to fly to another country to take the test (ugmm, yes I did have to do that…), but the knowledge and (Lord willing) the college credit obtained along the way are well worth it!

Out of the three exams that I took, I felt the most confident about the APUSH. In fact, the MC section seemed even easier than the ones we practiced on!  Furthermore, the class taught me great study habits and tips that will be priceless for my college years.

Thank you Mrs. Hawkins for everything!!!! I wish I could stay in school and take another course of yours!


Amazing Class– You Will Not Regret It!!! posted by Madeleine Davison on June 06 2014 at 14:11:21

Did you feel the course prepared you for the AP exam? Absolutely. I walked into that testing room in May feeling like I had done everything I could to prepare for the exam. I felt confident that my score was going to reflect all of the hard work I did over the year, and on the actual exam there were only a few questions that I even had to stop and think about. The essays, which were the most intimidating part of the APUSH exam, came naturally after all of the hours of practice we put in throughout the year.

How many hours of work per day or per week did you generally put into the course? It totally depended on the time of week. The course was organized into a 4-week cycle, with the tests at the end of the 4th week, so I generally spent a lot more time on APUSH at the end of the month as opposed to the beginning, as I had to study for the test. However, in general, I would say I spent 10-12 hours a week working on required materials and another couple of hours on extra credit. This is definitely not the class to take if you are not confident in your ability to stay on top of assignments; if you get behind in this class, it will be hard to catch up due to the sheer workload.

Are there any particularly favorite assignments that you found especially valuable? I thought that each assignment had a clear purpose in terms of either preparing us for the exam in May, or expanding our general understanding of history and the historical process, so to speak. I thought Mrs. Hawkins' Unit Projects were really interesting and fun (for example, we got to make our own mini-lectures and review historical movies) and they definitely increased the depth of my knowledge in specific areas. I also very much enjoyed her audiovisual lectures; they were accessible and made it easy to take great notes!

Did the course enhance your interest in the subject? Without a doubt. I went into this without any background in history, hoping I didn't get left behind and swamped in new information. While the latter sometimes felt true, I came out of this class with a new appreciation for American history and politics, and taking this class even inspired me to sign up for AP Euro next year!

Did you find your communications with other students to be interesting or valuable? Yes. The class discussion boards were always full of fascinating discussions, debates, and disagreements. It was incredibly cool to interact with all sorts of different people from around the country and read their points of view on all types of historical and political questions. I also participated in a separate video "study group" with two other classmates, and while these meetings were admittedly 75% social, we did discuss assignments, approaches to studying, and the course in general in a way that I felt to be very valuable.

What sort of student would do well in this course? Would you recommend this course to other students (if they are willing to work hard!)? I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this course!!! This class is very challenging, however, and I think you do need certain qualities to succeed. It really helps to be a quick reader with good comprehension (think 1000-page textbook in 7-8 months). Writing skills are a definite prerequisite, although you don't need to be a master of grammar or anything like that. You just need to be able to efficiently express your ideas in a written format. You also need to be willing to work very hard to understand concepts, learn methods, and memorize information as it is thrown at you. I would really recommend learning to take notes in a way that helps you synthesize massive quantities of information before you take this class, because this class places great emphasis on learning content. If you have a decent grasp of these three skills–reading, writing, and studying–you will do well in this class, as long as you budget your time right and apply yourself. I cannot recommend this class (and this teacher!) highly enough. Mrs. Hawkins is extremely knowledgeable about the exam, and she will guide you both to a great score on the test and to a greater love for the history of our country! :)

 


HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!! posted by Heather Hunt on June 05 2014 at 23:32:30

We highly recommend Mrs. Hawkins for the AP U.S. History class.  As one can glean from her bio, she majored in history, teaches at the college level, and is actually one of the essay/dbq scorers for the AP exam.  She clearly knows her stuff when it comes to history!  AP US History is a challenging course that demands much of the students, which all pays off in the end.  Our twin daughters who took this course have most certainly grown in their understanding and appreciation of US History in terms of knowing "the facts" and understanding how to analyze and, like detectives, make sense of history through primary documents. 

If you ever have a question or concern, just email Mrs. Hawkins.  She has always been great about responding fairly quickly, and truly takes the time to respond to questions or concerns in full.  She has never been dismissive or short in her ways of communicating.  This is so important with an on-line class where it can be difficult to feel a sense of connection with the teacher. 

Mrs. Hawkins thoroughly prepared our girls for the AP exam.  While throughout the year they felt rather challenged and worried about whether or not they would be able to handle the AP test, when the day finally arrived they walked in feeling confident and came out feeling certain they got at least a 4 and possibly a 5 on the exam!  I can attest to Mrs. Hawkins being an excellent, though demanding, teacher for APUSH.  In this class, the harder you work, the more prepared you will be for the exam.  I highly recommend this class for those who are willing to put in the time (lots and lots of reading, writing, lecture watching, etc.) and effort to truly take advantage of all her course has to offer.


Mrs. Hawkins' APUSH class posted by Jan Campbell on June 05 2014 at 22:55:10

My son had his first experience with an AP class this year while taking Mrs. Hawkins' APUSH class.  At first, the class seemed overwhelming, but soon my son was able to figure out a routine for completing the work and things became much easier to manage.  While he struggled the first month or so, Mrs. Hawkins was encouraging and never gave up on him.  He ended up with a B+ in the class.  We're still waiting on the results of his AP exam but he felt pretty good about it.

I believe Mrs. Hawkins' class really prepared students for the AP exam.  The writing assignments she gave and the multiple choice test questions were very similar to the questions on the AP exam.  He knew exactly what to expect when he went into the exam. 

Even if my son does not earn college credits from the AP exam, I believe he gained so many skills that will prepare him for college.  He had to learn HOW to study and analyze, manage time, and predict the kinds of material that may be covered on test.  The class also demanded a large amount of information in a short amount of time in order to complete the material before the AP exam.  This is a great skill for college because college classes are done by semesters which many high school students haven't experienced.

In summary, I would say if you're thinking about taking APUSH, you should have great writing skills, 12-15 hrs. per week to dedicate to this class, a desire to learn and grow, and a willingness to ask for help when you need it.  Mrs. Hawkins is happy to help you and goes out of her way to give you opportunities to earn extra credit points which help not only your grade, but your understanding of the subject and prep for the APUSH exam.


The Most Inclusive and Educational Class I have ever taken posted by Justin Holiman on June 05 2014 at 22:20:17

Mrs. Hawkins' 2013-2014 AP United States History class was the first AP class I have ever taken.  As such, I went in with quite some apprehensions: would it be too hard?  Would I learn enough to adequately prepare for the AP exam? Was I capable of completing college-level work in addition to all my other subjects?  Nonetheless, I decided to apply and join the class. I have never regretted it since.

First off, it was A LOT of work.  No point in trying to sidestep that.  However, in the context of preparing for the APUSH exam, every single ounce of stress ended up being beneficial in the end.  When I first received my textbook, I was seriously freaked out by its size (I didn't think I would have to memorize the dictionary!!), but when I actually started reading it, I was hit by a realization.  For the first time in my life, I was enjoying school! Each chapter was not filled with hundreds of names and dates that I was expected to memorize (like my past history textbooks), but it told a story.  A very important story at that! The weekly chapters were long, but it never felt like a chore to read them.  Neither did the essays or monthly projects.  While I spent on average about 2 or 3 hours a day on the subject (I preferred not to work on the weekends), honestly, it was the REST of the schoolday that I dreaded. 

The course consists of lots of reading, usually an essay a week, and various presentations and documents that only serve to increase one's understanding of the time period covered in that month.  However, what I enjoyed the most--and what I am forver grateful to Mrs. Hawkins for--was the weekly discussions among classmates about a particular subject.  Learning to effectively communicate with people my age proved invaluable to my speech and debate career as well.  Essentially, all of the work that I did for this class helped me not only to prepare for the exam (which I'll get to next), but it served to allow me to communicate with others more effectively and defend my beliefs using facts and past events, which I believe has proved truly invaluable.

The AP Exam was tough, not going to lie, but had I not been exposed to the level of in-depth work that Mrs. Hawkins required, I would have simply died on that exam.  I felt confident answering every single question, and although I don't have my score back yet, I know from past experience that as soon as doubt enters your mind on a test, it is hard to complete it.  That was not the case here.  Mrs. Hawkins' class completely prepared me to handle the rigors of intensive studying and impromptu essays throughout the year, and even if I didn't get a 5 on the exam, without this class, I probably would have gotten a 1.

In conclusion, Mrs. Hawkins' class was the best class I have ever taken.  I learned more about our nations' history than in all my past year's combined.  I learned to write informative essays about all manners of things such as civil rights, the Civil War, the Great Depression, and so on.  In addition, I learned that hard work pays off, and believe me this class is a lot of work, but as long as you give 100%, it will be the most rewarding class you will ever take.  Mrs. Hawkins was a very understanding--and INCREDIBLY nice--teacher, which only helped make the class that much better.  Do not hesitate to apply for her class in upcoming years, it will be worth every penny and every second on that long APUSH exam.


Learned how to write!! posted by Daniel A. on June 05 2014 at 21:31:37

I am able to write full essays in a short amount of time! Developing a thesis and defending it is really second nature after APUSH with Mrs. Hawkins.  The homework was 5 days of 2.5 hours.  Usually, I took Friday off and worked Saturday. The assignments were well explained and presented in an organized manner. I feel confident about tackling other courses with a heavy load because of the time management skills I applied to staying on task for this course. 

Next year, I will be entering a history course that will focus on 2 self directed research paper. I enjoy reading and I think that was a plus for this course given the required reading. 

My favorite part of the course was watching historical documentarles and taking notes, as well as identifyjng historical inaccuracies in contemporary films. I woud encourage those thinking if taking APUSH choose  this course. 


Deepened Understanding of American History posted by Alexandra Stockwell on June 05 2014 at 20:53:59

My daughter, Josephine, just completed Mrs. Hawkins' AP US History course and it was a fantastic experience for her.  It is among the best educational experiences she has ever had.  There is a comprehensiveness, and creativity, in Mrs. Hawkins approach that allowed Josephine to get into very specific details while also maintaining an overview of the broad strokes in history.  She especially loved reading original documents which conveys things never available in a paraphrased version found in a textbook.

I especially enjoyed when Josephine did her homework for this class shortly before dinner, as our whole family got to learn from her; she always knew things none of us had learned before.


Mrs. Hawkins APUSH Class Review posted by Zachary Reyes on May 12 2014 at 16:59:56

Hello everyone,

I was a part of Mrs. Hawkins 2012-2013 APUSH History Class. I must say, this was one of the best classes I have taken in high school! The lectures are informative, and the assignments are creative and involve significant evaluation. There was never a time that I thought a project was "busy work" or that I was wasting time with taking the class. Every assignment and topic not only prepared me for the AP US History Exam, but they also helped prepare me for future college classes.


As many of you have probably already seen from the previous reviews, Mrs. Hawkins' class demands a lot of time and effort. I worked many hours a week (around 10-15) to get every assignment completed on time. However, I always felt that this time was well spent and definitely worthwhile. In addition, practically all of the homework was fun in its own way. A particular favorite of mine were the presentations. I was able to create a presentation that was reviewed by my fellow classmates, while I got to review theirs. It was a really fun project to do.

As I stated before, Mrs. Hawkins' class also prepared me for my college classes. Presently I am a concurrently-enrolled student at my community college. This past school year I have taken English Comp 1 and 2, and US Government. I have to say that my experience with Mrs. Hawkins' class greatly prepared me for each of these classes. Her emphasis on detail and evaluation were of great benefit to me in my English classes, and helped me to excel in both of them. Additionally, thanks to her class I already knew a lot of the history that surrounded the US Government course. I completed each of these classes with an A, and even received an Honors Award from the college president. I believe that it was Mrs. Hawkins' class that helped me to succeed in these classes.

Overall, I would highly recommend Mrs. Hawkins' APUSH Class. It is an exceptional course that will prepare you for your AP exam, and provide a wealth of knowledge and skills that is invaluable. The more effort and time you put into Mrs. Hawkins' class, the more benefits you will reap. Do not get scared away from the course work, this class is wonderful and definitely worth your time.


So happy and thankful my son took Lisa Hawkins's AP US History Course posted by Nannette Reyes on August 19 2013 at 19:06:35

Hello all,

I just wanted to write a quick review for the parents out there who are considering registering their child for Lisa Hawkin's AP US History Course. I want to let them know that she is just incredible and the course is more than worth the money-much more. My son learned US History so thoroughly and not just for the test. Besides that, he learned accountability, writing skills, communication with others, how to study, do presentations, etc. He was able to interact with the other students on writing assignments. Mrs. Hawkins was very understanding and any time he had a question, she would get back to him as soon as possible. Sometimes, even I had questions and she would get back to me in a timely fashion as well. 

The course is challenging which is what we expected it to be and wanted for our son. However, at one point, we were concerned that the course was just too much for him. He had some health issues and this was also his first AP course. However, Mrs. Hawkins was very understanding and helpful to him and kept on encouraging to him to keep trying. He did and we are very excited to share that he received a 4 on the AP US History exam!!! But besides that, we feel good because our son really knows US History now and shares what he has learned with us whenever we go to museums or a topic comes up about American History as it relates to events in our country and the world.

I would also like to encourage parents to listen to the lectures with your child. Sometimes we would listen to them in the car.  I learned so much that I was never taught in public school. It also gives you a chance to discuss the events that happened and share your perspectives with your child.

 

Well, I hope I have helped any parents out there who are on the fence about registering or not for Lisa Hawkin's AP US History Course.  As long as your child tries, he/she will learn so many skills that they will be able to take with them when they go to college. Mrs. Hawkin's has high expectations for her students and the willingness to help them reach their goals. She is very understanding and has a kind heart. When my son had to have a heart procedure done, she gave him an extension on several assisgnments while he recovered. Even more than that, she prayed for him and that meant so much to us. We will always be so grateful to Mrs. Hawkin's for all that she taught our son and her kindness. Thanks and Blessings, Nannette Reyes


An All-Around Great Course posted by Thomas on June 14 2012 at 16:18:20

Mrs. Hawkins' 2011-2012 APUSH class was excellent.  It involved plenty of hard work (between 10 and 15 hours/week for me), but all the reading and writing I did really helped me feel confident on exams, including the AP U.S. History Exam.  There was an interesting variety of assignments, which helped me see history from a number of different perspectives; the assignments also greatly improved my writing skills. But it wasn't just the assignments that made the course enjoyable; Mrs. Hawkins' knowledge and enthusiasm for the subject, along with her teaching style, made learning history fun.  Whenever I had questions or technical difficulties, Mrs. Hawkins was prompt and helpful in delivering feedback.  I felt that Mrs. Hawkins taught beyond what the AP Exam required; while I was thoroughly prepared for the exam, the unit projects and other assignments taught me to think like a historian and love the subject.  You don't need to be extensively knowledgeable about U.S. History beforehand to succeed in this class, but you need to be prepared to read a lot, write a lot, and keep in regular contact with the class.  I would definitely recommend this excellent course.


Hard, But Rewarding! posted by Katie on June 10 2012 at 24:50:13

Mrs. Hawkins’s APUSH was one of the best classes I’ve every taken. It was very challenging and time-consuming, but also very interesting. Although the textbook wasn’t really my favorite, it was supplemented with many enjoyable activities, where we might learn about an interesting viewpoint on a particular event or analyze historical documents to come to our own conclusions about the events. I also really enjoyed the projects we had each unit, which aimed at improving both our skills and our knowledge. All in all, I felt that everything we did increased my historical knowledge, and helped me prepare for the AP exam. Although I was very nervous about the exam, and kept second-guessing my abilities to do well on the test, I was very pleasantly surprised when I found out that everything we had done in class filled me with the knowledge and skills I needed. I would highly recommend this class to anyone with a love for history and a motivation to spend lots of time on homework (for me, 10+ hours a week).


Great Teacher and Class posted by Spencer J. on June 08 2012 at 23:13:36

I took Mrs. Hawkins AP US History class for the 2011-12 school year. I hoped to learn a lot about the history of America, and Mrs. Hawkins did not disappoint. I felt completely confident when I went to take the AP exam, thanks to her instruction. The class was a lot of work, more than I ever thought that I could do. I gained new confidence with each assignment I completed and, by the end, the assignments that were so daunting in the beginning became effortless. While I could tell that others taking the AP test around me were frightened by the essay section, I actually looked forward to it. Mrs. Hawkins assignments, and excellent feedback, allowed me to be unperturbed by a task that most students equated with torture. Mrs. Hawkins didn't just prepare her students for the AP test; she also refined student's skills in areas other than history. I could feel that my writing improved over the duration of the course, and I could complete assignments from other classes much more easily and successfully. Mrs. Hawkins is very knowledgeable about history, and can effectively teach the material to students in a way that builds their skills, knowledge, and confidence. In my opinion, that is what makes a great teacher. I highly recommend both Mrs. Hawkins and her AP US History course.


Return to the class description
Return to the AP Online Test Preparation Classes Home Page